KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Goodman Masson

Is this your company?

Goodman Masson

Add a Review

Goodman Masson Employee Reviews about "commission structure"

Updated Feb 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Goodman Masson Chief Executive Officer Guy Hayward
Guy Hayward
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "Senior management team are great(in 23 reviews)

  • "Senior Management team are excellent(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "comes to mind(in 7 reviews)

  • "KPI's, Commission structure and retaining useless "talent"(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "commission structure"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Manager

      Mar 31, 2016 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Privately owned company, where the owners, CEO and SMT have a philosophy of "let's make this the best place to work" and we'll attract and retain the best staff, which is refreshing having worked previously for a plc where the spend and treatment of staff isn't anywhere near as good. The pay is competitive. You can do particularly well as an "Executive Consultant" under the commission structure. 3.30pm finishes on Fridays. Sports sponsored events (mixed netball team, golf trips) Lots of work sponsored events. Skiing trips (available to the whole company), Charity challenges (trips to exotic locations for interesting endurance challenges), Breakfast (a range of cereals and on Fridays hot breakfast food is provided for free all year) Friendly environment. Not an environment dominated by sales boards all around the office with financial targets External training programme for managers which carries an accreditation.

      Cons

      This is still a competitive recruitment environment and a high performance culture, where any below average performance will result in you feeling pressure (not as much as perhaps in other recruitment firms however and there is more understanding). To be fair this is unlikely to be too different across the industry, but GM do have high standards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A really great place to work

      Dec 8, 2015 - Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Goodman Masson is a company that focuses a lot of efforts on employee engagement and retention which has worked for me as I joined as a graduate and am still here over 2 years later. There is a great culture in the office and plenty of social activities going on all the time. Goodman Masson do not have a KPI culture like I have heard other places do. Consultants are coached and given realistic output targets to achieve and are trusted to get on with it without being overly monitored. The remuneration and commission structure here is very competitive (once you understand how it works) and I feel I am well rewarded for what I do. The whole business is very transparent with everyone knowing exactly how the company is doing from monthly presentations on figures. Overall, I think Goodman Masson is an excellent place to work and I would never leave for another recruitment company.

      Cons

      The commission structure can be hard to understand at first so it really needs to be explained in detail to new starters. I can see us outgrowing the office in the near future but this isn't a major con. I would like to see more female managers/senior staff in the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Would not recommend, worst Recruitment firm I have worked for

      Oct 22, 2015 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Marketing Team and Director Andy are the best I've ever worked with and are superb at pitching for new business and winning new accounts. It's just a shame for them that the Consultants rarely deliver on these accounts. Good for graduates who don't know anyone in London as it's an overly sociable environment.

      Cons

      Awful commission structure of 10% flat. They try and mask this with 'The Experience' where they organise a lot of after work activities and then take the money out of your wages every month for them! Really bad party culture, all recruiters are sociable but this is on another level to anything I've seen before, this is fuelled by Management and the CEO. For example, you got a pat on the back for turning up late if you'd been out all night with your work colleagues, but got a telling off if your tube was delayed! Really bad KPI culture, they monitor everything you do weekly and have pointless meetings with you every week to analyse how many calls you made. Weekly catch up meetings were never 'how can I help you bill more', they were always just analysing statistics.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best company I've ever worked for !!

      Mar 1, 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The management at Goodman Masson put a huge amount of time and effort into keeping the staff happy. The commission structure is excellent and help and support is always on hand to ensure that I do my job to the best of my ability. Staff and management are all friendly and the atmosphere in the office is really lovely The annual trips and social events don't hurt either. I have been working at Goodman Masson for two years and don't see myself ever leaving for another recruitment business

      Cons

      As with any recruitment role it can be stressful

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Feb 18, 2018 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've only been working here for a short time and I love it. The people are great, the benefits are amazing and they aren't as KPI driven as most recruitment agencies. This is my first recruitment job and the training and development has been fantastic. My manager is brilliant and is really supportive. I'm loving it.

      Cons

      The commission structure is very confusing, but that's it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Starter and senior finance consultant with 13 yrs experience

      Jan 20, 2017 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well established brand with a great market share of the Third Sector and a great name behind them. Very good commission structure with one of the highest earning potentials that I have seen so far. The Experience is a definite positive and part of this is the Benefits Boutique! Dashboard also looks a brilliant tool! Friendly and warm colleagues with great networking and mentoring capabilities.

      Cons

      I am an avid cyclist and commuter and the building has no shower facilities at all. Very odd in the 21st Century. My old company was in one of the oldest buildings in London and even they had showers. Nothing much else to be honest.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work for young people

      Dec 15, 2015 - Senior Consultant in Upper Farringdon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of events and occasions to go out. people are friendly and welcoming. good work life balance and you make commission based on whatever you bill no matter how small.

      Cons

      Commission structure is quite complex and quarterly bonuses are salary deducted so doesn't work out to be a huge amount unless you are billing a lot.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for growing your experience

      Jan 23, 2018 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People and the benefits package

      Cons

      KPI's, Commission structure and retaining useless "talent"

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Goodman Masson Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Talent Acquisition Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Goodman Masson? Share Your Experiences

    Goodman Masson logo
    or