Goodman Reviews | Glassdoor

Goodman Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Goodman CEO Charles A. Carroll  (no image)
Charles A. Carroll
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay , good experience, good trade opportunities(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, one can learn a lot and there are plenty of options in career advancement(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management sets unrealistic expectations(in 10 reviews)

  • "A 10 to 15 minute drive even from the outer suburbs of Houston(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Goodman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sourcing Manager in Fayetteville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goodman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Salary and great co workers

    Cons

    Company moved to Waller Texas

    Goodman2020-03-13
  2. "Expert machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Waller, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Faith, clean, safe and clean working,

    Cons

    Finest, quality, quantity, safety, clean,

    Continue reading
    Goodman2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A okay place to coast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Waller, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. An okay starting salary 2. The job is extremely easy. 3. Can get by doing the bare minimum 4. Stable

    Cons

    If you are a fresh college graduate. I highly recommend not coming here. If you do, don't stay longer than 3 years. This is a great place to come if you just want to coast until retirement. This is not a place to come if you have potential (and know it). You'll find other companies will care about your career growth much more. 1. Next to nothing for career growth. Except a 3% raise on average (5% if you're amazing). 2. Job is really 50% project management, without the agency of a project manager 3. The work is mind numbing and boring. Some might see this as a pro... but knowing what to expect every single day really made hate coming to work. 4. You will NOT develop your skills as an engineer here. Don't stay here too long or you're going to have a difficult time transitioning to a different industry. 5. Chasing approvals from other departments is probably a quarter of your job. Be prepared to pander to people with god complexes. 6. The location of their facility is HORRIBLE (out in Waller). A 10 to 15 minute drive even from the outer suburbs of Houston. Most young people fresh out of college are going to want to live closer to downtown Houston. So they can expect to put about 80+ miles on their car each day. 7. The Marketing department owns you... get used to it. 8. The Quality department will make your work life pointlessly harder (well really more annoying)... get used to that also. And no, I am not bashing the importance of a quality department. They are integral to any manufacturing business. 9. For a job that could be done mostly from home, managers aren't okay with frequent work from home. 10. Two weeks vacation (10 days) and 3 personal/sick days (combined). Awful. 11. No interest in 9/80s or 4/10s. 12. Salaries are very low compared to other engineering industries. 13. Mediocre 401k (capped at 3k annually) 14. No bonus system for low level engineers 15. I could add quite a bit more... but hopefully you get the point.

    Continue reading
    Goodman2020-01-09
  4. "Goodman Manufacturing is a last resort. Extremely toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Goodman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is absolutely nothing good about working at Goodman Manuf.

    Cons

    Horrible culture, terrible treatment of employees, pathetic safety record, no concern for the environment, facilities underwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Goodman2020-01-17
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stability, people, flexibility, good benefits

    Cons

    None That I could identify

    Goodman2019-12-12
  6. "Goodman review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler/Forklift Operator in Fayetteville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It pays good, the hours was great, benefits were excellent and friendly staff

    Cons

    They have their favorite employees

    Goodman2019-11-30
  7. "horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Goodman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there is nothing good about this place

    Cons

    i hated working at this place

    Goodman2020-01-05
  8. "Just My Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodman full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Good benefits. Good 401k match. Travel opportunities. Paid training. 10+ hrs of overtime every week.

    Cons

    Work home life balance. Communication.

    Continue reading
    Goodman2019-11-22
  9. "Decent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place for advancement and growth.

    Cons

    Hard to follow standards. Constantly changing.

    Continue reading
    Goodman2019-11-21
  10. "Overall Great Place to begin a long lasting career in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Fayetteville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goodman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay and all the benefits were good. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Certain managers are asicine and were given the position.

    Goodman2019-10-22
Found 273 reviews