Goodstart Early Learning Director Children's Centre Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director Children's Centre

Goodstart Early Learning Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Goodstart Early Learning CEO Julia Davison
Julia Davison
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Would 100% recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team - professional culture of support, heaps of employee benefits - motel/ flight discounts, fee discounts, cheap health insurance etc, flexible working hours, lots of mentoring and opportunities for professional development or career progression and above ward wages

    Cons

    Goodstart expects highly committed, dedicated educators who genuinely love working with children. If your just in for a clock in, clock out job this company is not for you.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-01-10

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    January 16, 2019Corporate Affairs

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Our educators do an amazing job and it does takes loads of energy and commitment. Our customers (70,000+ children) expect no less! We really appreciate your commitment.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Beautiful community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Early Childhood Educator 

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    The community at Goodstart is so great as at most childcare centres the staff are so supportive and lovely and there is lots of support for training and career progression available to staff from the management

    Cons

    Some financial aspects sit uncomfortably with me, the directors don't always seem to understand the needs of the rooms or the staff. There is often a feeling that our director won't stand up for us, so we need to protect eachother

    Advice to Management

    This is something that is quite common in the industry I think there has to be a big systemic change to fix these things

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-02-01

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We think our Goodstart community is pretty special too. It is tricky to balance all the needs in a centre and we're working on ensuring our centre directors have the skills and resources to achieve that balance for their teams, ...

    Show More
  3. "Working for purpose, not profit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People & Culture in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great feeling that we're making a real difference together. Amazing group of people from all kinds of backgrounds and disciplines, with everyone happy to share expertise and focus on the end goal - better lives for children.

    Cons

    There is always a lot going on. The workload on everyone is big, but so are the rewards. Can be a bit bureaucratic and complex to get stuff done.

    Advice to Management

    There's no shortage of great ideas about how we can have an even bigger impact for our children and families - we might get more traction if we focus on just a few at a time.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-01-17

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thanks for your review. Working for purpose is what brings us together. We all want the best possible outcomes for children and we're working hard to make it easier to focus where it matters most. Thanks for everything you do.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Could be so much better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely people to work with. Great interaction with children and also parents. At its best, can be pleasant and rewarding.

    Cons

    Ridiculous amount of paperwork, some of which has to be done in our own time, either in lunch breaks or at home. Negativity from management, constant criticisms and bullying (with moments of positives). Sometimes terrible communication, with some expectations not explained at all, and then we're in trouble if we don't do it, while other instructions can be contradictory and confusing.

    Advice to Management

    You want your staff to treat children positively. You need to learn to do that to your employees. There is a time for pointing out negatives, of course, but to focus on it so much helps make it a very toxic culture.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-01-14

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    January 16, 2019Corporate Affairs

    Thanks for your review. We recognise our educators have a big job that takes loads of energy and commitment - and we acknowledge there is a big admin load to meet the regulations and requirements of our sector. So firstly, thank you for your commitment over the past 3 years. Your ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Huge job with little recognition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Brisbane
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Children and families are beautiful

    Cons

    Constantly under huge amounts of pressure. Over ratio a lot of the time. We are given extra tasks ‘expectations’ but have no time given to complete them, considering we are already over ratio you can do them on your own time or be berated... we have little recourses and when orders are done they are at no consultation with staff, consequently we end up with things that are not useful.. multiple bottles of green paint...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be driven by outcomes for children and wellbeing of children and staff not by KPIs and profit.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-01-25

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    January 29, 2019Corporate Affairs

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take the issues you’ve raised very seriously, particularly with regards the challenge of workloads and ratios. While we appreciate you may wish to remain anonymous, we are working hard to improve the issues you raise and would ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above award wages Staff child care discount Some staff were great to work with Apprenticeship opportunities

    Cons

    Toxic work environment. Management bully staff Costantly having to work back due to poor rostering Management harrasing staff when they are sick or have sick children Lack of resources for children Favouritism of certain staff members Cristicised constinuously and no support to do better

    Advice to Management

    Actually hire people who can efficiently manage these centres. Yes someone can have 20 years experience in child care but doesn’t mean they have the people skills to be in charge of a centre . Management actually spend a day or even a week on the floor and see what we are dealing with.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-12-10

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    January 16, 2019Corporate Affairs

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We take these matters seriously and would be happy to talk them through with you. If you would like to reach out, please call us on 1800 890 933 or email: people@goodstart.org.au

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Unprofessional, Bullying , Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Educator in Bondi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy caring for children and staying connected with families, I enjoy the daily work including the paper work even though it can be a lot. I enjoy the camaraderie that I have with a handful of professional educators.

    Cons

    A handful of very unprofessional educators that have created the negative environment filled with gossiping, rumours and lies.

    Advice to Management

    - Open your eyes to what is within your work environment. Be aware of what is going in instead of just sitting in your office. Get on the floor sometimes, you might learn a thing or 2. - During the induction process ensure that it is being told that there is zero tolerance towards bullying, gossiping and telling lies. - Follow through the anti- bullying disciplinary action with the perpetrators - Ensure that parties...

    Show More
    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-30

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    January 16, 2019Corporate Affairs

    We take the issue of bullying very seriously - so firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback. While we appreciate you may wish to remain anonymous, if you would like to talk these issues through with us, please call on 1800 890 933 or email: people@goodstart.org.au.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Assistant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to transfer from one centre to another centre

    Cons

    Directors are so much in workload and they don't have time to listen to the staffs. They are not approachable and bully other staffs.

    Advice to Management

    Find the right people in the right positions

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-05

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    January 16, 2019Corporate Affairs

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback - and sorry to hear that you didn't get the level of support you expected. We care deeply about our people and expect our people leaders to provide guidance, encouragement and support to their team. If you are not getting ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Senior educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Last year management was great

    Cons

    Not fare with everyone equally and different policies for different people

    Advice to Management

    Change the management

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-29

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We take these matters seriously and would be happy to talk them through with you. If you would like to reach out, please call us on 1800 890 933 or email: people@goodstart.org.au.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Goodstart West Street - Horrible place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    Great children, families and colleagues

    Cons

    A place full of bullying, discrimination and favouritism

    Advice to Management

    Would be great having random meeting with the staff in different centres

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-13

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sorry to hear that some aspects of your time with us were not so great. While we appreciate you may wish to remain anonymous, if you would like to talk more about it, please call us on 1800 890 933 or email : people@goodstart.org.au.

Found 65 reviews