KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Goodway Group

Engaged Employer

Goodway Group

Add a Review

Goodway Group Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 203 of over 204 reviews

4.1
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Goodway Group CEO David Wolk
David Wolk
176 Ratings
Pros
  • "Virtual environment/ work-from-home(in 71 reviews)

  • "I have the freedom to get my work done on my schedule within reason which has been a game-changer as far as work-life balance goes(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes it’s difficult bcs we’re always available working from home(in 22 reviews)

  • "The only downside I can see would be the growing pains(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    3,037

    254 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Goodway Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      This is the company I have been waiting to find....

      Jan 8, 2022 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for a variety of brands and agencies and Goodway is in a league of its own. There is a deep rooted heritage being 4 generation and this is the spark that leads to a caring culture. This companies keeps evolving to stay a step ahead of an accelerating industry. We can compete with any other marketing firm and set ourselves apart with passion and a determination to win and exceed client expectations. As this all happens, I get to build my brand and have sharp marketing and business talents to take on bigger and more complex clients. This company has a big presence but still has a sense of being part of a close family inside.

      Cons

      None I can think of. We move fast and stay relevant in the marketing place. This takes ongoing learning and curiosity and you do need to be dedicated to your marketing career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts and taking the time to write this review. Caring for one another and exceeding client expectations are both behaviors ingrained in our culture! We are so proud of our people at Goodway, and we’re glad you’re on the team!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Worth the Experience…

      Jan 19, 2022 - Sales in Diamond Bar, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good learning experience during my tenure

      Cons

      low pay with slow chance of raise

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Nov 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Focuses on organizational development Great culture

      Cons

      Lack of career advancement opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We know how important it is to create and maintain a great culture and we're glad to hear it made an impact. Thanks again for sharing your Goodway Group experience!

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Disorganized

      Nov 1, 2021 - Media Solutions Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, decent benefits, good time off policy, and sometimes you get a cool client.

      Cons

      Extremely disorganized. You will be given a hypothetical directive, then absolutely no follow ups on when to execute or transition. It leaves employees chasing managers for a better understanding of what is needed, and in some cases even managers are unsure.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thanks for taking the time to provide your candid feedback. Communicating in a way that outlines priorities, goals, and next steps for the team sets you and our clients up for success. We're glad you are on the team at Goodway and we encourage you to reach out to the People Experience team if there is anything we can do to help now or in the future.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      So many good things here

      Sep 30, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Goodway Group is not perfect but they get a lot of things right andthey are always taking feedback and learning from us, their employees. We are remote and have been for 10+ years so we do it well. We have a lot of employee support with learning and IDPs, 1x1s, a full People Experience team, hobby groups, social clubs, summits twice a year, wellness support and events, training budgets, recognition, unlimited time off, flexibility and the list goes on. The top leaders really care and actually come an ask us and our employees what we think or how we can improve. Our benefits are great - we even have choices on plans so it can fit any budget or need. I really haven't worked for another company that cares as much as Goodway. I feel solid around our future and excited about where we are going. Since they are transparent (even with financials) I feel like I am part of building the future and can see how my work can make a difference.

      Cons

      We do move fast but that keeps us ahead of the competition. I can see a change in how we are making changes so keep doing whatever it is you are doing. It is making a difference. Managers have the ability to get training and there are a lot of resources but as a newer manager I need more hand holding since we do move fast. They have put some new programs in place that will address this but it is something I realize I need more of lately. In the past few months we have had a few people leave but I don't see that as a negative because they actually got to grow in their career because of the opportunity they had at Goodway. I am happy to see us calling that out and celebrating it more. I think that is a story we don't tell enough and even though we are sad to see some of our friends go it is normal and should be celebrated.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is always valuable and welcomed! Those conversations, survey responses, and town hall questions received help us understand where we can improve, what's important to our team, and what we're getting right. We are glad you are a part of the Goodway Group team!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Being intentional as a remote first company matters!

      Sep 30, 2021 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Transparency of leadership - Market Position & Growth - Team Culture & investment in employees and teams

      Cons

      Once I was used to being remote have all positive feedback!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you're a part of the team and have adjusted to remote work!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A powerhouse in the making

      Sep 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Goodway has the smartest team in digital media. I really believe this because as employees move on to other companies in their careers, I keep in touch with them and they consistently tell me they are easily the smartest and most well-developed person on their new team at their new company. Goodway does an amazing job focusing on MY development because they know that ultimately benefits the client. Goodway keeps winning more and more business and I predict 2-3 years from now the industry will finally recognize us for our work and we'll have more business coming in the door than we can handle.

      Cons

      No where is perfect. Goodway worries a lot about 'feelings' and sometimes to a fault. Some people simply aren't a fit anymore. Goodway is getting much better at helping those people find the next step in their career but it does sometimes take too long.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide your candid feedback. We agree that we have the best team in our industry! Supporting your growth, development, and career goals while continuing to grow our business is a win-win. We're glad we have you on the team!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great overall

      Sep 15, 2021 - Client Strategy 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have been with Goodway through some of the highs/lows/growing pains over the last 7 years. Overall your experience is incredibly dependant on your specific role and manager. I've been in 4 positions and various teams in my time here and not all were good experiences, but the ones that were were amazing.

      Cons

      Lower-level managers are often asked to balance being great people leaders while still working their individual contributor role that led them to getting promoted. Doing 2 roles simultaneously leads to something suffering, and based on the internal feedback that's leading the teams they're managing. When client-related work comes first, it leaves little time to focus on hitting all the points that direct reports want from their managers. While they say they've done studies and the pay is competitive, most of us know that isn't accurate based on our own experiences interviewing with other companies and chatting with folks that leave after the fact.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you are on the Goodway Group team! Feedback is absolutely how we make changes and work towards improvement together. Remaining transparent will always be a cultural pillar at Goodway Group! You can always discuss salary goals with your manager, and align your personal development goals to help you achieve success. We thoroughly review every role and the associated compensation range multiple times a year, using tools we've invested in to stay consistent across the industry. Our talent recruitment team is working diligently to fill open positions with Goodwayers that will thrive in our culture bringing in their skills and knowledge! We look forward to more of the introductory emails to keep you updated along the way. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and being a part of the Goodway team!

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      The Goodway Group

      Sep 6, 2021 - Mailing Services Coordinator in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, good working hours, some over time

      Cons

      No bonus, no raise in 10 years, the owner is very rude and condescending.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Consider Goodway if you are new to the industry, otherwise keep looking

      Aug 21, 2021 - Media Solutions Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work from home -Weekly pay -Decent benefits, unlimited PTO -No micromanaging and lots of flexibility -If you look hard enough, some of the best, smartest people you will ever meet -Opportunities to learn all aspects of media, great place for people who are new to digital advertising

      Cons

      -A vast client base that is full of accounts whose budgets do not warrant the amount of work involved to keep their business, so teams are constantly battling staffing issues along with unprofitability. -Outdated offerings when it comes to what they sell, especially with their analytics and reporting. Goodway needs to invest in ways to become more advanced to stay competitive in the market. -Non-strategic, unaccountable leadership team who expect their direct reports to manage themselves, simply because they don't know how or want to. Management remains very out of touch with everyone's day to day and do not make an effort to contribute to employees' growth or development, nor are they able to identify weak performing employees who are a drain on their stronger co-workers. Because of this, the strong employees get dumped on, picked apart and worked to the bone while the weak ones get to fly under the radar while costing the company money, time and good employees. -Overall Goodway is not diverse or inclusive, racial micro-aggressions happen regularly to POC. They have made "efforts" to remedy this in house (instead of investing in consulting with qualified diversity and inclusion specialists) with diversity meetings and such, but have yet to make any meaningful progress. -Extremely limited opportunities for promotion/advancement. Great place to work if you are new to the industry and want to get some experience, but be prepared to look elsewhere after a year or so if you are wanting to make upwards strides in your career. -Virtually 0 resources for training. Expectation for employees is that everyone needs to know and do everything for clients even if it involves things they weren't hired or trained for. Goodway has lost its' appreciation for utilizing employees’ strengths and areas of expertise and instead views employees as warm bodies to dump work on, whether they have the knowledge how to or not, and whether they have the tools to do it or not. -Lastly but most importantly, the compensation needs significant improvement. In addition to all of the above, Goodway expects you to deal with all of the above for below market compensation, despite whatever rebuttal HR responds to this review regarding all the work they do to make sure salaries are competitive.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Goodway Group Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and offer your candid feedback. Our industry is constantly evolving, which leads to strategic, internal changes, and we recognize this isn't always easy! At Goodway, we know that taking an agile approach benefits our clients and, ultimately, the entire team. Growth and development are emphasized across the company, with career opportunities in every function. We are proud to provide vast resources which can be tailored to employee's needs. Goodway offers individual training budgets, access to external learning portals and hosts monthly live learning labs. Our Learning Strategist is also available to connect with any employee, customize a plan, and provide encouragement along the way. The impact of these newly developed skills is recognized in our holistic compensation philosophy framework. We are committed to building a sense of belonging by promoting and fostering diversity in all we do. Building on the programs we started last year, the People Experience Team just launched a monthly discussion call where employees can join to share, listen, and learn from those with different experiences than their own. This is important work that is never truly done, but we will continue to build on these efforts. I am sorry to hear about some of your experiences at Goodway. We wish you the best in all your endeavors! Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 203 Reviews

    Goodway Group Reviews FAQs

    70% of Goodway Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Goodway Group 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Goodway Group to be career development, senior leadership, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management.

    Popular Careers with Goodway Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Goodway Group? Share Your Experiences

    or