Goodwill "donations" Reviews | Glassdoor

Goodwill Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Goodwill President and CEO Steven C. Preston (no image)
Steven C. Preston
230 Ratings
  1. "Friendly workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This was an easy going retail position.

    Cons

    At times when the donation truck arrives, it can be stressful. Especially when the truck comes 5 minutes before the end of your shift.

    Goodwill2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not a bad company, but a rough job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Donation Attendant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, including management. Store manager treats you like a human being. Understanding scheduling. Money goes towards good causes. Less rigid or strict than regular retail in some ways. The assistant managers help with the day-to-day grind just as much as anyone else.

    Cons

    Never quite enough space to move things through. Had to throw away food if donated, even when it was 100% unopened. A huge problem if you have dust allergies. The stuff people donate is gross at times, and when it involves cigarette smoke-covered and dust-filled boxes, it's practically hazardous if you do have allergies. Low Pay (though this isn't surprising for an entry-level nonprofit) Becoming a little less centered on the happiness of the employees as a company. Didn't get any benefits, but they do offer various forms of support for your life if you take advantage of it.

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-08-29
  3. "Half Decent Pay for Under-Appreciated high stress work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Donor Services Representative (DSR) in Morgantown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Relatively pleasant environment. 2. They typically hire indiscriminately. Including, but not limited to, ex-convicts and drug addicts. 3. The Goodwill Code... if they can help you and you're willing to help yourself, they'll do the best they can. 4. Certification of electric pallet jacks.

    Cons

    1. DSR is the most under-appreciated position in a goodwill store. 2. You get treated like crap a lot; sometimes by coworkers, but most often by donors. 3. Most of the donations are outright garbage and often contain smells that would make a landfill worker turn green in the face. 4. The transport system that goodwill operates employs some of the most stupid and incompetent people alive. who most often don't know where shipments are going and when they're coming. DSR is also responsible for loading the trailers typically using an electric pallet jack. 5. The trailers goodwill uses are often bottom of the barrel as far as repair and operable standard. 6. Hiring indiscriminately. Including, but not limited to, ex-convicts and drug-addicts.

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-08-31
  4. "NO "Goodwill" at Goodwill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service in Maplewood, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employees are hardworking, and become like family. They work together to support the store, solve problems and ensure smooth operations. They deserve to be treated better. Enployee discount. Casual uniforms. Learning retail and customer service is an asset I will bring to my next job. Enjoyed working with customers, and am thankful for compliments.

    Cons

    Low pay. Chaotic and stressful environment. Profits are priority - not people or customer service. Unreasonable quotas with low staff makes one person do the work of 2/3 people. Inconsistent expectations. I worked really hard at my job and gave Goodwill my very best. The changing standards and profit driven policies caused a decline in the appearance of the store, caused customer service to deteroirate, and undid months of work I did...wasting time and money. Was common to have store profits drop and quotas would double in one day, or areas of store neglected to focus on tasks to generate profits. Neglect resulted in unclean store, bare shelves, long lines and cutting hours or reducing staff. It was really sad to watch, and hear customers negative comments (all true). High turnover, especially in donation attendants. Understaffed. Understaffed donation area is unsafe and puts undue pressure on workers. Managers are rude and lack basic communication skills (for example - heard manager bragging about yelling at co-worker, manager bragging about auction profits then cutting hours). Manager abruptly cut employees hours to half or morw of usual hours with no discussion, and said if you don't like it you can leave. It is common to be scheduled to work and then have your hours cut, often with no notice. Many full time employees lost benefits too. When I saw long term employeed being treated this way, I knew there was no hope that things would improve. After hours and benefits cut, employee morale very low, alot of people left. It became impossible to support my family, since I was only earning minimum wage to begin with and the cuts caused severe financial hardship. I was forced to go to food shelves and local charity to feed and clothe my kids. I am so thankful the local charity helped us through the rough times, and really operate in the spirit and mission of a non-profit that I did not see at Goodwill.

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-09-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I'll never work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Rome, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most customers & co-workers were pleasant & easy to work with.

    Cons

    High prices for 100% donated merchandise is not reflected in the wages for the employees who do all the hard work & the benefits that employees have to pay for are nothing to brag about. One of my co-worker who'd been there a number of years lost everything in a house-fire & Goodwill wouldn't even give them a blanket.

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-08-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "If you have the option don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Bloomfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and Good amount of time off

    Cons

    Sexist. Makes men do all the donation collection and sorting while women does all the front of the store.

    Goodwill2019-08-12
  7. "Wonderful work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and chances to advance

    Cons

    Donations can get backed up

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-07-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Ok for cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It wasnt a hard job being a cashier. Meet lots of different types of people and some of them are cooler than others.

    Cons

    As a cashier you will find out that everybody wants a discount on top of the discount. If the item has no tag, you wait 12 years for someone to bring a tag to you from the back. Also the computer system is so glitchy that either half of the items dont scan, or the whole computer freezes and you have to wait so long for it to decide that it's ready to work again. If you aren't a cashier and work in the back, it seems like a huge workload for way too little pay. And the poor guys in the donation lane are waaaaay over worked. No air conditioning most of the time in the back of the store, and lots of people garage dust, spiders, and cat hair will make your allergies rage. Also they pay minimum wage and will often try to withhold holiday pay unless you complain about it.

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-08-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Associate/Production in Lawrence, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a ONE pro...sry im not gona lie...this job was horrible!

    Cons

    I have never been more disgusted to get up and go to work everyday at goodwill inc. HR, MANAGEMENT, LOSS PREVENTION busting my buns ALL DAY trying to reach an extremely high goal in production, while me and the other employees worked the donation door(some days non stop!) And to make it worse all the items i produced...if the items made it through mngrs approval, I'd have to put all the items on the floor and clean as i go. I dont mind working, but not for a greedy, greedy "non-profit" lol organization like the goodwill, uping their prices higher than the other retail stores, and then making the cashier ask the customer to round-up...how humiliating. Horrible, Horrible mngment, company, and after almost 2 years and a PROMISED a raise to the employees for being extremely shorthanded during the busy holiday season, (come to find out it was a BIG SECRETIVE LIE TO KEEP EMPLOYEE'S AROUND DOING WAY MORE THAN OVERTIME. ) 2 YEARS And i made $8.12 an hour not a cent more!

    Continue reading
    Goodwill2019-08-16
  10. "Part-Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goodwill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, excellent team members

    Cons

    Didn't get a chance to learn how to manage a cash register nor did I get to hang clothes on the racks. Only sorted through donated clothes and price tagged them

    Goodwill2019-07-02
Found 248 reviews