Goodwin Reviews | Glassdoor

Goodwin Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Goodwin CEO David Hashmall
David Hashmall
29 Ratings
  1. "Good location and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-Op in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    people are nice and friendly. good start for students who want to know office setting

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Goodwin2019-05-27
  2. "Best Job Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Services Co-op in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwin full-time

    Pros

    Tons of autonomy Open and encouraging work environment Fulfilling work

    Cons

    Some days were slower than others

    Goodwin2019-03-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best big law firm that I know of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive compensation for attorneys, practice group leaders that actually care about associates being happy (may vary practice group to practice group - but mine is great), endless training opportunities, great benefits, very supportive of flexible work arrangements, very supportive of doing pro bono work, at the associate level at least if you're a jerk you end up being shown to the door.

    Cons

    Like any firm, there are long hours, travel is often required. Like any firms, there can be internal politics that aren't always fair or logical.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget about the people - they are what make the place great, and make clients want to use the firm.

    Goodwin2018-02-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Professional Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goodwin full-time

    Pros

    Really great firm that provides lots of benefits to employees!

    Cons

    Work environment is a tad bit dull

    Goodwin2017-08-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for over 20 years and really like it. A law firm is a law firm, there is no way around it. They have been flexible with me with my hours over the years and recognize those who work hard.

    Cons

    Sometimes they bring in new management that just doesn't "fit." It takes 3-5 years to weed these people out. Wish they would pay more attention to issues if the issues arise with employees who previously never had issues

    Advice to Management

    Carry on. I love working here.

    Goodwin2017-07-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Legal secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwin full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    Location and little opportunity to advance

    Goodwin2017-03-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with excellent benefits. Most legal assistants have been here for 15 plus years.

    Cons

    Heavy upper management and I think they could do away with many and create opportunities for others

    Goodwin2016-11-22
  8. "Great Place For Former Practicing Lawyers To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the leadership that I deal with treats staff with respect and encourages them to grow professionally. There are a lot of smart lawyers who work there, of course, and most have fairly decent people skills. It's a growing organization, one that should have a better shot than most at weathering the coming storms facing the legal profession.

    Cons

    You are working in a business owned by lawyers. So don't expect there to be a lot of R&D money floating around. Decision-making is somewhat decentralized, although that is changing somewhat, and that can have advantages and disadvantages.

    Goodwin2016-10-01
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. Combines perks of well-established law firm with start-up growth mentality of newer practice areas. Smart, kind people. The firm places a premium on collaboration and collegiality. It's not a hierarchical place as law firms go.

    Cons

    The self-starter attitude isn't for everyone. People who can't be independent or aren't self-starters typically don't do as well here.

    Goodwin2016-09-16
  10. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A fantastic place to work

    Cons

    I wish my commute was shorter

    Advice to Management

    None

    Goodwin2016-09-14
Found 118 reviews