Goodwin Reviews | Glassdoor

Goodwin Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Goodwin CEO David Hashmall
David Hashmall
29 Ratings
  1. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A fantastic place to work

    Cons

    I wish my commute was shorter

    Advice to Management

    None

    Goodwin2016-09-14
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time

    Pros

    Great people who you like to see every day. Very collaborative atmosphere.

    Cons

    With all law firms the hours aren't great and there isn't a lot of transparency around bonus, reviews, fiscal health, room for advancement, etc.

    Goodwin2016-08-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Goodwin full-time

    Pros

    Nice, normal people, law firm salary, relatively relaxed atmosphere for a law firm. Hours are not as crazy as at other firms. Summers are mostly just expected to attend social events, plan lunches, be kind and positive, and do a good job on assignments. Not a very high bar.

    Cons

    The relaxed atmosphere may produce a disconnect between people who are here to have fun and those who are really striving for excellence at the firm.

    Advice to Management

    Recruiting could do a better job of setting their tone. For example, requiring attendance at social events suggests that the firm takes social events more seriously than work.

    Goodwin2016-07-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC

    I worked at Goodwin

    Pros

    Goodwin Procter is involved with many exciting clients. They tend to be very technologically advanced. I hear their new building in Boston is gorgious

    Cons

    Big firm, you can get lost within it. Easy to become a worker bee.

    Goodwin2016-07-20
  5. "Administrative Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodwin for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, firm keeps up with technological advancements, good benefit package, salaries are good, industry standard, overall it's a nice place to work

    Cons

    There's not a lot of advancement opportunities. It doesn't seem to be a priority. They could be more liberal with the bonuses. That affects the firm's morale

    Advice to Management

    Think about the affect of the firm's decisions on the people who work there. There's definitely a disconnect with respect to that at this firm.

    Goodwin2016-06-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Associate (SF)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodwin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Partners are nice and not insane; you can actually have a life here. Their sick/maternity/ paternity policies are good - I wish I were still there

    Cons

    Big law happens - you work till 3am & a week later someone mumbles to you about your billables Like anywhere in big law, pie eating contest

    Advice to Management

    Give me feedback as we work together - not anonymously on the yearly form

    Goodwin2016-05-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "What you would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Goodwin

      Pros

      Big law, smart friendly people for the most part

      Cons

      Lack of leadership, redundant work

      Goodwin2016-05-31
    • "Great atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Goodwin full-time

        Pros

        Progressive thinking, a lot of cool technologies. A lot of investments I IT.

        Cons

        Ran like a small businesses, partners call all the shots.

        Goodwin2016-04-14
      • "Great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Goodwin full-time

        Pros

        Challenging; great colleagues; very smart, good compensation

        Cons

        work life balance can be tough

        Advice to Management

        good

        Goodwin2016-04-10
      • "Lit Support"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Goodwin

          Pros

          great company to work for

          Cons

          I don't have any cons

          Goodwin2016-03-31
        Found 118 reviews