Google Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Google Account Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Best Big Company To Work At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture. Leadership that makes the right decisions for our users. It's all about the user experience and we see that transparently throughout the company. Managers are committed to the career development of their team.

    Cons

    Big company so can be difficult to feel like you're having a big impact on such a big company!

    Google2019-02-26
  2. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Met amazing people and learned a lot as I progressed teams. Google was my first job and I am super grateful for that. I've had the pleasure of advising some of the top companies in the world and work under awesome managers.

    Cons

    Professional growth is very slow and the ability to move cross-functionally is extremely limited.

    Google2019-06-06
  3. "Great Perks and Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Salary - Great Benefits - Breakfast, lunch, snacks

    Cons

    - Promotion process is extremely bureaucratic

    Google2019-05-16
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends

      I worked at Google full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Google lives up to its reputation as a best-in-class employer.

      Cons

      Upward trajectory on the sales team can be limiting.

      Google2019-04-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great vision, but sometimes unrealistic goals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company to work with

      Cons

      Extremely hardworking team and requires lot of time commitment

      Google2018-09-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "Amazing place to develop technical skills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - You can learn technologies - Work with super smart people - Often ability to craft your own role and experience - Develop deep expertise

      Cons

      - Lack of structure, which makes it often hard to figure out everything at the beginning - No clear developemenet path or criteria to become the manager

      Advice to Management

      - Make developement path and promotion creteria much more clear - Structure better MBA summer internships and MBA recruiting program

      Google2018-06-15
    • Helpful (15)

      "Account Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Ann Arbor, MI

      I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      benefits: free breakfast, lunch, gym + classes, dogs in the office, work from home or other offices, foot in the door to get Google on your resume.

      Cons

      this job is absolutely soul-crushing. by a year in the benefits don't matter anymore. this is the worst job that exists at Google. absolutely no work/life balance. the targets are becoming outrageous, many people cry in private, there seems to be little hope of ever getting promoted, management is so beyond out of touch with the day-to-day grind of this brutal job.

      Advice to Management

      anyone who oversees this job should be forced to do it for a day. probably wouldn't even last an hour.

      Google2018-06-11
    • Helpful (5)

      "Account Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Food, 50% 401k match, good (not great) pay, solid equity (not FB equity but good), learn great skills, some really talented and fun people are your coworkers.

      Cons

      Promotion process is laughable. Depends entirely on if you switch to a new team, and how big your team is, and how long you've been there. Has nothing to do with your work. I'm not incentived to work hard. Knowing when it does happen, I'm staring at 3 more years before my next one makes someone not try. Google is just saturated now. Too hard to get promoted and move up the corporate ladder here. Also , you have...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of 6 month promotion cycles. Let me make my promo case like the engineers do. Why do I now have to wait 6 more months just because you set arbitrary promotion numbers of how many can get promoted? It's a slap in the face for no real reason.

      Google2018-05-31
    • "Technical Account Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Technical Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture and fantastic people.

      Cons

      High growth rates have lead to some inefficient processes.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up all the efforts to protect the culture!

      Google2018-05-23
    • "Google Loves its employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Incredible work environtment, challenging business problems and amazing teammates.

      Cons

      Shares some of the same challenges as any large workplace.

      Google2018-03-05
    Found 169 reviews