Google Software Engineering Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Google Software Engineer Intern Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "The dream company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    the people, the interesting work, the food, company culture

    Cons

    I can not name a single thing to change

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for an amazing internship!

    Google2019-04-23
  2. "Not bad, but slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    Was a good experience, lots of smart people to work with and great opportunities to learn best practices.

    Cons

    Their conversion process is very slow and quite off-putting.

    Google2019-02-25
  3. "One of the best internship options out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects, great people, great everyday comfort. Perhaps the most recognizable tech company, so it really helps with future opportunities.

    Cons

    Lots of meetings and random events (however cool), you really need to defend your time to get things done.

    Google2019-01-10
  4. "95/100 internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Have a chance to touch a lot of amazing internal tools and got impressed on how strong Google is. 2. Have a chance to cooperate with L6 engineer who is really talented. 3. My mentor is very busy but still willing to take time to teach me and help me grow. 4. Great benefit/ food/ campus 5. Fun intern events especially boat party in the end.

    Cons

    1. Did different projects from what was told when team-match. 2. Migrating the deprecated library/pipeline is challenging but not that interesting. 3. My project(migration) is on the different path with the rest of my team and not knowing what they do actually.

    Advice to Management

    Overall great!

    Google2018-10-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing time and work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Interesting work. Everything you need to stay focused. Best in class salary. Healthy work environment.

    Cons

    Things progress slowly compared to startups, other companies that believe in move fast break things!

    Google2018-09-28
  6. "Amazing perks, be careful not to burn out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    The perks (food, gym, offsite activities) are simply amazing. Great pay. Great culture.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to maintain a good work-life balance

    Google2018-10-02
  7. "Two Summers at Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay, awesome office, very nice and considerate people (seriously, everyone is so nice)

    Cons

    not a very social environment, I've heard horror stories about how hard it is to get promoted

    Google2018-09-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good environment and perfect location

    Cons

    There were many people, and it mainly depending on which department you worked for.

    Google2018-09-21
  9. "Software Engineering Intern at Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    Googleplex is loaded with luxury. Good Peer group. Decent Salary.

    Cons

    Luxury they provide makes you lazy. Irregular workload for me.

    Advice to Management

    Thumbs Up.

    Google2018-04-14
  10. "What they don't tell you about Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed culture, capable and helpful full-time engineers, and you will feel pampered. The pay is good, and the people are friendly.

    Cons

    It's for an older crowd. You will feel lazy, and the work is not motivating. The relaxed culture is bittersweet. If you're young and ready to work hard, this place is probably not for you. The company hires some of the best engineers in the world to work on small projects that will likely be scrapped.

    Advice to Management

    There might be some lessons to learn from "startup culture." In a startup, ad projects are scrapped quickly, and the work is more meaningful. I think that Google is only attracting a certain type of talent -- the kind of talent that wants to be told what to do -- with its culture.

    Google2017-08-28
Found 128 reviews