Gordmans Reviews | Glassdoor

Gordmans Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 386 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Hall
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, low pay, much standing(in 22 reviews)

  • "Didn't seem to be too many extra shifts/hours for the part-time employees to pick up(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good overall, good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Associate in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordmans part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment, easy overall, commission for credit cards, good opportunities for raises

    Cons

    customer service, dealing with general public

    Gordmans2019-03-26
  2. "Was good until they closed and we found out from customers..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stockroom Associate in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordmans part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers were nice. Environment was nice.

    Cons

    When the company filed for bankruptcy and closed several stores in 2017 we found out from customers....not our manager. In fact, he didn't know that our store was closing until an article was in out paper

    Advice to Management

    Maintain a clear line of communication to retail locations. We felt in the dark about a lot of things

    Gordmans2019-07-08
  3. "okay place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordmans part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    registers are easy to use and customers are nice

    Cons

    management sucks and store is always dirty

    Gordmans2019-07-06
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Agent 
    Recommends

    I worked at Gordmans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to take leadership, usually working alone in the store- very independent, lots of support from corporate and management.

    Cons

    Can be boring and nerve wracking working alone, especially if you need back up.

    Gordmans2019-05-15
  5. "Not enough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative 

    I have been working at Gordmans part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the environment and discount

    Cons

    Sometimes 12 hrs a week

    Advice to Management

    Let us know up front how many hrs will be issued

    Gordmans2019-04-25
  6. "Great until they closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gordmans full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Work life balance

    Cons

    Open on thanksgiving Long holiday hours

    Gordmans2019-04-09
  7. "Was good till management changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Key Holder/Lead in Aurora, CO

      I worked at Gordmans full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, hours, friendly, cool

      Cons

      Management, management, management, management, management

      Gordmans2019-04-22
    • "Job Was Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Junction City, KS
        Recommends

        I worked at Gordmans part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Some of the workers were super fun. It's a good starting job and they are leniant when it comes to certain situations and they understand you for the most part.

        Cons

        The people I worked with super shady and always started drama. Only advice is be careful who you say things to

        Gordmans2019-03-26
      • "Okay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Guest Services in Aurora, CO

          I have been working at Gordmans part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Flexible schedule, easy work tasks

          Cons

          Hours can be cut or extended

          Gordmans2019-02-26
        • "Good job for High School Students"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Guest Service Associate in Arnold, MO
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at Gordmans part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Get to interact with customers.

          Cons

          Pay is not great. No chance of moving up.

          Gordmans2019-02-20
        Found 386 reviews