Gordon Food Service Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Gordon Food Service CEO Rich Wolowski (no image)
Rich Wolowski
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Profit sharing about 10% of yearly salary, placed in your 401k(in 84 reviews)

  • "Pay is excellent, great benefits, great management, in-house promotion,(in 65 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours hostile work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • "full time workers had a set weekly schedule(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Friendly Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Gordon Food Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers were always friendly and fun to be around. I also found the schedule to be flexible for my needs.

    Cons

    The turnover rate was pretty high so you had to learn to work with new people regularly.

    Gordon Food Service2020-03-05

    Gordon Food Service Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks for your review! Many of our employees find that our part time availability is perfect to fit their schedule while going to school, working another job, or any other reason they need part time. As a result of the part time nature, people tend to start and stop working with us frequently. It sounds like you had a great experience while you were with us, thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  2. "Good company to be employed by."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Caring Christian based family business

    Cons

    Right now times are uncertain and scary....especially being furloughed

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-06-04
  3. "Good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service part-time

    Pros

    Good first phone interview attended

    Cons

    not sure what to expect

    Gordon Food Service2020-05-28
  4. "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good place to learn

    Cons

    Less hours and less to explore

    Gordon Food Service2020-05-27
  5. "Good company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Change Manager in Wyoming, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family Owned, solid foundations, good cornerstone values.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than other companies for existing employees.

    Gordon Food Service2020-05-12

    Gordon Food Service Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thank you for your review- we review our compensation on a regular basis, and also try to balance pay with benefits. We appreciate your feedback!

  6. "Wonderful company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lewis Center, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, and great hours. The best job i’ve ever had

    Cons

    can get busy during holidays, and slow during the new year with low hours.

    Gordon Food Service2020-05-07

    Gordon Food Service Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback- business definitely has its busier times and its slower times. We appreciate you taking care of our customers through it all!

  7. "A company that is changing."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The profit sharing adds almost 10% of my salary to my 401K per year and the relatively attainable bonus structure another 10% via bonus checks quarterly.

    Cons

    Not enough hours given to run the stores effectively.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-05-16

    Gordon Food Service Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thanks for your feedback- the profit sharing definitely sets our company apart from the rest. We say that the one thing that is constant in the food industry is change- things are always evolving and can be tough to keep up with! Hang in there, you've got this!

  8. "Driver tractor trailer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kenosha, WI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is very good you will get paid on how hard you work. Hours vary depending on how fast you work but overall you get to spend a lot of time with your family working here. Keeps you in shape if you don’t want to just sit in a truck and just drive you are always moving. These are some of the best managers I have ever had they will take care of you and try to work with you. If you don’t like working hard physically this is not the job for you but If you do come right in!

    Cons

    Training is not the best Time off is good once you get a lot of seniority you accumulate vacation every quarter which sucks and you are not always guaranteed to get the day you request off due to customer demand they recommend you to put in you vacation time in the beginning of the year so you can get dibs. You deliver to some unsafe places at times.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-04-10

    Gordon Food Service Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thanks for your review- it's great to hear the managers there care. We practice servant leadership, and you have some of the best there! We will share the feedback about training, and maybe as you continue to learn you can become a trainer some day!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Unbalanced workload"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Wyoming, MI
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    Modern office space is nice

    Cons

    Often have to carry other team members who have been with the company for years but do not pull their weight because they are old friends with the manager.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-05-11

    Gordon Food Service Response

    May 18, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience with your team. Without understanding the details, it's hard for us to look into this specific situation. While we won't pretend every team is perfect, we are encouraged by the recent employee engagement survey which showed 81% of our people said they felt their managers treated them fairly and they felt valued by their leaders. We know there are opportunities and we'll continue to do our best to create an environment if fairness and inclusion. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Discrimination at its finest"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    You get a 10% discount

    Cons

    Upper management were sexist pigs who discriminated and harassed anyone they did not want “on their team” multiple woman made serval complaints against a store manager and district manager. The complaint was mismanaged, they allowed both managers in on the investigation and nothing was ever done, even though there were witnesses and recorded evidence. Four people quit the company while the two managers who were causing the problems kept their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-05-09

    Gordon Food Service Response

    May 19, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience at Gordon Food Service. The company is committed to promoting and ensuring equal opportunity in employment and a workplace that is free from discrimination, harassment and retaliation and will take appropriate corrective actions when it learns of behavior in violation of this policy. If you feel an investigation of your concerns was mismanaged, we encourage you to follow up with the HR team or the integrity hotline. We value all feedback from our current and former employees so we may learn more about your experience and how we can improve.

Found 939 reviews