Gordon Food Service "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gordon Food Service Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gordon Food Service CEO Rich Wolowski (no image)
Rich Wolowski
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "We offer a 4% match and year end profit-sharing contributions(in 82 reviews)

  • "Pay is excellent, great benefits, great management, in-house promotion,(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours hostile work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • "full time workers had a set weekly schedule(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company---- Night Shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Selector in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers work with you, and they say they are strict on time management, but give u leeway! Loved my time there, left because i wanted to go back to full time college.

    Cons

    Your work day is done when everyone else is done. Physical labor intensive job.

    Gordon Food Service2019-07-24

    Gordon Food Service Response

    August 12, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We're glad you had a good experience. Warehouse selection is probably the most physically challenging job in the company, but so critical to servicing our customers well! Thank you for your time with us, and congratulations on returning to school -- maybe we will see you back at GFS in another opportunity after you graduate!

    Continue reading
  2. "I worked here during my four year college career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Heath, OH

    I worked at Gordon Food Service part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling allowed me to work more or less as my class schedule demanded.

    Cons

    Company wouldn't give full-time hours.

    Gordon Food Service2019-11-19

    Gordon Food Service Response

    December 3, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. We consistently hear positive comments from students that find jobs in our Gordon Food Service Stores as a great option with flexibility to accommodate their class schedules. The majority of those positions are part-time, which provides that flexibility. Full-time jobs and leadership roles do come up, and are often filled by part-time employees that want to make a longer-term career in retail. Thanks for your service!

    Continue reading
  3. "Prepare to learn a lot of stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to know businesses in the area. Holiday Bonuses (for Part Time / Full Time employees). We're like a family, honestly.

    Cons

    Only start at 9.00/h. I've been there for over 2 years and I only make 9.50/h at the moment. They don't schedule enough people on forecasted busy days (You may be alone to put away 10+ skids of product by yourself in 7 hours). Warehouse just sends whatever they feel like to the stores - knowing we dont need it. It isnt horrible overall, just be prepared to work.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-10-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Off major holidays - Employee Discount - Customers are generally friendlier than other places - Benefits ok

    Cons

    - Rampant Favoritism - Retaliation if you irritate a manager/team leader - Insufficient hours scheduled (even as full-time) for the amount of work needed - If closing, can't leave before manager without scrutiny - Lifting 60+ lbs above head on unstable carts - Pay is better than most in area but still way below anything livable - Benefits pricey - Conflicting culture of wanting everything done right but also bare minimum to pass - No chance for actual career opportunity when not scheduled any hours - Never a consistent schedule (mix of openings/closing, never a middle shift)

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2018-04-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "GFS work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours while being a full-time college student. A job is a job thats all I can say. Just working here to put gas in the tank just so I can get to school.

    Cons

    The way everything is run is horrible. One person on the cash register is not enough. Managers sit around and do nothing. They do not pay enough. Barely above minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2018-01-22
  6. "Great for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Daytona Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very team oriented environment, with great managers and coworkers.

    Cons

    Pay is slightly above minimum wage. Even the full time associates, dont make even 10 an hour.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2017-07-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Jackson, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they treat their employees with respect and show their appreciation, holidays you get a gift card for in store. Also if you do well on a "secret shopper" you get rewarded in the form of a gift card.

    Cons

    If you are a part time worker your shifts vary and working sunday is a must. full time workers had a set weekly schedule.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2017-06-13
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Full Time Freezer Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freezer Stocker in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customers are friendly, the 10% discount is nice, and other discounts on frozen meat are good.

    Cons

    Too much here is bad. New people in corporate keep changing how things should be done, of which only hinder all of us stocking. Also, I've been in the freezer for over two years, college student but working full time, and I'm barely pulling $9/hr. I can hardly afford to support myself. Bonuses were cut and raises are pretty much non-existent ever since a new enactment gave all of our incentives to the higher-ups... And they are now making substantially more. Manager buys a new car every year, assistant managers get tons of paid vacations, and I'm lucky to have any sort of extra incentive. Even after receiving multiple commendations, I am still barely making it week to week.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2017-02-12
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Brighton, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good perks Full time/part time available Reimbursement program if you want to go to college but only for full time employees 401k for ages 21+

    Cons

    Not good enough wage for the work that you do. Stock trucks show up during day but you have to wait until after store closes to restock items so if someone needs something you have to go to backroom if it's not on shelf; very aggravating during holidays.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2016-11-23

    Gordon Food Service Response

    November 28, 2016

    Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your experience in our stores. We value your years of service with us and will certainly pass along your feedback to our HR and Store Leaders. Thanks again for taking the time to share here on Glassdoor. We wish you the very best!

    Continue reading
  10. "Part Time Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service

    Pros

    The coworkers were always fun to work with. The management was always respectable. Hard work and a generally open schedule always led to having more hours, at least before full time sale associates became a thing. Almost always got time off when asked. Working as a stocker was good exercise. They always had programs to help those who worked hard get promotions, the only real problem with it when I worked there was that none of the upper management positions opened up, but the few times things do open up, they usually hire within the company. I hear full time has competitive benefits.

    Cons

    Retail: never a stable schedule and sometimes customers can be a pain. The secret shops use to be hard, but I've heard they're a lot easier now. Having to 'probe' every customer and ask them to sign up for the different gfs memberships/reward programs. Half of the staff at my location always consisted of high schoolers, which isn't a bad thing, but there could be drama between them/some of them didn't always work the hardest.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2016-08-24

    Gordon Food Service Response

    September 13, 2016

    Thank you for sharing with us your experience in our Retail store in Columbus, OH. We know it takes so many things to make an ideal work environment for our team members. We thank you for serving our customers and our company in your role. We hope you'll always have these great memories. We'll be sure to review the information you've shared with our leaders. Thanks again, we wish you all the best!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews