Gordon Food Service "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gordon Food Service Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gordon Food Service CEO Rich Wolowski (no image)
Rich Wolowski
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "We offer a 4% match and year end profit-sharing contributions(in 82 reviews)

  • "Pay is excellent, great benefits, great management, in-house promotion,(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours hostile work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • "full time workers had a set weekly schedule(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Selector in Lithia Springs, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is excellent, great benefits, great management, in-house promotion,

    Cons

    Cold temperatures, long hours but definitely worth the money

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-01-08

    Gordon Food Service Response

    January 13, 2020

    Thanks for your review, we're glad to hear you are enjoying the job!

    Continue reading
  2. "Warehouse lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Lead 

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gfs has great benefits and competitive pay

    Cons

    Difficult or long work hours

    Gordon Food Service2019-10-14
  3. "Friendly environment but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, staff cares about one another

    Cons

    Very "old boys club" thinking towards sales. Not very structured and everything is a nice to have or after thought.

    Gordon Food Service2019-08-02

    Gordon Food Service Response

    August 12, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Sorry to hear that GFS wasn't a match for you during your short stay. We wish you well in other opportunities.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Benefits and Great People, poor Diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Package and good people to work with

    Cons

    Behind the times for Diversity and Inclusion. The primarily white male management is still a good ole boys club. They talk the talk but far from walking the walk.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-08-06

    Gordon Food Service Response

    August 23, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the years of service shared with us -- you likely experienced a lot of growth and change in that period of time! We recognize the value that diversity brings in servicing our customers, and know that an inclusive work environment is critical for each employee to deliver their best. Recent initiatives to formalize more support for D&I are proving successful, with more people in the organization becoming informed and getting involved. Activity like the D&I Trailblazer awards and additional Diversity Action Teams are new to Gordon Food Service and provide even more forums to educate and brainstorm on ways to leverage our differences. Like most companies, we still have opportunities, but we are moving in the right direction.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Greensburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay For food service the hours are great Benefits 401k Family atmosphere Coworkers

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-04-27

    Gordon Food Service Response

    September 22, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Customers love our GFS Drivers! Great to hear that you are enjoying your role!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Honest review from my POV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Selector in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GFS offers great benefits, and the weekly pay oppose to bi weekly is great as well. Management is good and try their best to make sure the staff is taken care of, and have the training necessary to preform the job. If you don’t have any stills just the physical ability to preform the job than you’ll be just fine. Most likely going to receive over time. Starting hourly rate is over 17$ which is the highest I’ve found in south Florida without any experience or education needed.

    Cons

    The environment isn’t inspiring. The physical demand is overwhelming and uncomfortable. Warehouse is too small makes preforming the job a bit more difficult. 10-12 hours of lifting cases, bending over and crawling into slots will lead to back/ neck pain. Job takes a huge toll on overall life because you do a 10-12 hour shift and be to tired to do anything during the day.

    Gordon Food Service2019-04-15

    Gordon Food Service Response

    April 19, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and thank you for the time you spent with us. We do understand that our position is physically demanding but are glad you felt you were being compensated accordingly for your hard work. For any future potential employees, we always recommend you watch our videos on our postings to grasp what the position entails. Good luck with your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great benefits, great pay, weekends off.

    Cons

    Sometimes to many stops on some routes

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-03-27
  8. "Great place to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Intern in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, everyone is welcoming and willing to answer questions. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Below average pay, on call rotations

    Gordon Food Service2019-01-29
  9. "Admin Asst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    Love it here. Great benefits awesome team.

    Cons

    There isn’t one con that I can think of.

    Gordon Food Service2018-07-31

    Gordon Food Service Response

    August 8, 2018

    We are thankful to have you as part of our team!

    Continue reading
  10. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Technician in Imperial, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great insurance. Tons of room to move up or change roles in the company. Lot's of out-of-work activities. Family oriented company.

    Cons

    Leadership can sometimes be lacking.

    Gordon Food Service2018-06-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 64 reviews