Gordon Food Service "profit sharing" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Gordon Food Service Employee Reviews about "profit sharing"

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Gordon Food Service CEO Rich Wolowski (no image)
Rich Wolowski
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "We offer a 4% match and year end profit-sharing contributions(in 82 reviews)

  • "Pay is excellent, great benefits, great management, in-house promotion,(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours hostile work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • "full time workers had a set weekly schedule(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "profit sharing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Forward thinking, AWESOME place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    -The culture, peers and leadership truly care about everyone at the company -The sense of ownership folks take in their work is unmatched -Best benefits I have seen or heard of (bonus and profit sharing) -GFS is investing in technology more than they ever have in the past. The opportunities to work on cutting edge projects are abundant and will only increase in the next few years. -I truly believe GFS will be a technology leader in the industry and the region in the next 5 years. -Flexible hours, WFH opportunities

    Cons

    -I tried really hard to come up with something but couldn't. GFS is a great place to work on exciting technology with fantastic people!

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-12-01

    Gordon Food Service Response

    December 3, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Glad to hear that you are already feeling the special culture that is part of GFS. Lots of exciting things going on in the IT space --- thanks for being part of it!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room to grow with the company Profit sharing Understanding about family commitments

    Cons

    Hourly wage not the greatest, but raises given each year

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2020-01-03

    Gordon Food Service Response

    January 13, 2020

    Thanks for your review, we're a family owned company, so family is important to us.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Grand Rapids, MI
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit sharing, ability to transfer

    Cons

    Some leadership, inconsistent hours, warehouse temps, manual grind, lack of upward mobility

    Gordon Food Service2019-12-30

    Gordon Food Service Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thank you for your review, I hope you've shared your concerns with your HR team, one of our cornerstone values is "everyone is important", and that includes you. There's no doubt it's cold in some of our warehouses (and very warm in others), and our hours are based on the amount of work we need to do, but most people appreciate that if you work hard you bonus based on productivity. We would encourage you to check out our Emerging Leaders program for leadership development if you're looking at making Gordon Food Service a career.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wish things were different and I didn’t have to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Selector in Wyoming, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401k and profit sharing and the team I worked with

    Cons

    -The “leaders “ who don’t lead, they manage -The incentive was cut more than 50%, at one point I was bringing over $1,000 take home in a month, in my last three months with the company my incentive checks were under $400. We were told that the job had changed not the incentive. Every level of management lied to us consistently and did not practice servant leadership like they preached it. -In my last year and half here, I dreaded coming to work Because of all of the changes, pulling up to the building brought an overwhelming feeling of depression knowing what the day had in store because it was the same as the day before, whereas when I first started with the company I loved my job, I loved coming to work and the people I worked with.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-10-15
  5. "Good benefits/ poor employee moral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incentive check, profit sharing

    Cons

    Management, racism, sexism, and poor moral

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-10-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, but still an emerging market so market share is slim and culture is still developing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leader in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    Family/independently owned, notable rewards for performance (trips, gifts, spiffs, bonuses and profit sharing), 401K match.

    Cons

    Little diversity, especially in sales force. Leaders in this market still struggle with innovation and resort to operating "the way it's always been done."

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-06-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company~ No Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Development Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work life balance -Compensation+Benefits+Profit Sharing -Company philosophy is actually followed by management -Family owned

    Cons

    -No cons in the first 2 years of employment

    Gordon Food Service2019-03-20

    Gordon Food Service Response

    March 25, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for all that you do as part of our Sales team. We are happy to hear that you continue to have a positive experience.

    Continue reading
  8. "Chemical and Beverage Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical and Beverage Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong company culture is dedicated to taking care of employees and customers. Pay is above average. Benefits are great. The 401k is better than most. We offer a 4% match and year end profit-sharing contributions.

    Cons

    Company is growing quickly and taking on a lot of new accounts. While this is great for our business, it can be tough to balance priorities.

    Gordon Food Service2018-12-20

    Gordon Food Service Response

    December 27, 2018Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for all that you do for Chem Bev! We appreciate the feedback and are glad you are enjoying our many benefits we offer our employees. With any growth comes some adjusting, and we are thankful for people like you who step up to the plate and help us balance those priorities.

    Continue reading
  9. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordon Food Service full-time

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, and Profit Sharing

    Cons

    Job itself. HARD labor. Expect to wear your body out.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2019-01-02
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Dying Company, stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Wyoming, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordon Food Service full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Once upon a time, this was a fun place to work * Many of the remaining people are great to work with * Bonus and profit sharing

    Cons

    * They feel entitled to your personal time. Nights and weekend work are expected and a way of life * No integrity whatsoever. Senior management routinely lies or puts "spin" on communications. When people point it out, they are punished immediately. For example, there was a promise of no lay-offs for our ERP switch over but people are quietly being laid off and threatened with no severance if they tell anybody * Weak leadership. The ship's direction changes every 10 minutes with no strategy or planning. We hear grand statements on what we will accomplish but none of it ever comes to fruition. Our direction is basically determined by whatever conference leadership just came back from or our biggest competitor (Sysco) * Raises are <= 2% every year unless you complain. If you complain often, you may get 5-6% but it comes from the pocket of your co-workers * At the end of every year there is a panic to cut costs. It almost always comes at the worker's expense. It's always a hiring freeze for poorly resourced teams, cutting of benefits, small raises, etc. * If you aren't Christian and Right leaning, you're better off keeping your mouth shut. I've never seen anybody denied advancement directly because of it but there is a mentality that everybody thinks the same and there is a sense of confidence because of it. For example, one of the Gordons was openly talking about their efforts to stop gay marriage in the common area.

    Continue reading
    Gordon Food Service2018-12-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 82 reviews