Goucher College Reviews | Glassdoor

Goucher College Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
39%
Recommend to a Friend
Goucher College CEO Kent Devereaux
Kent Devereaux
0 Ratings
  1. "amazing school, great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Goucher College

    Pros

    amazing school, great environment

    Cons

    nothing, everything is amazing. for real

    Goucher College2018-08-06
  2. "Strong Community, Limited Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goucher College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Commitment to trying new programs and initiatives- innovation and adaptability -Commitment to diversity and inclusion, and real conversations about privilege

    Cons

    -Limited access to resources, opportunities for advancement, and promotion -Liberal Arts focus which is challenging in the current higher education marketplace

    Goucher College2019-11-05
  3. "Eh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Goucher College full-time

    Pros

    I liked the people I worked with.

    Cons

    HR is terrible. If you don’t ever expect a raise and are okay with being treated as a cog, you’ll be fine here.

    Goucher College2019-10-31
  4. "Works in Silos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goucher College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff really cares about students

    Cons

    Everything is in silos and offices don’t communicate well

    Goucher College2019-06-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goucher College full-time

    Pros

    Some kind colleagues. Good students.

    Cons

    College has devolved into a toxic work environment. Everyone who can leave is leaving. College is 5 million in debt. Admin prefers gimmicks like apply-via-selfie-video to actual reforms. 23 faculty have been let go. There's a curriculum on the faculty side that is unstaffable. Faculty have had their teaching loads summarily increased without due compensation. Everyone is burnt out. There's a lot of blaming going... around. It's become quite toxic. And the pay is horrible.

    Show More
    Goucher College2018-12-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Adjunct faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Goucher College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Good administration and program

    Cons

    The salary per class is underpaid

    Goucher College2018-09-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Student Job - Writing Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goucher College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive, supportive community of coworkers/peers; flexible hours

    Cons

    Low pay, despite paying tuition to get qualified for job

    Goucher College2018-09-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goucher College

    Pros

    Diverse, supportive, small class sizes

    Cons

    it is a small college

    Goucher College2018-04-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Goucher College full-time

    Pros

    Good environment Great customer service Always support

    Cons

    Not much to say so far

    Goucher College2018-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Writing Center Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writing Center Tutor in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goucher College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding work, easy access to job location

    Cons

    Poor pay, unreliability of many coworkers

    Advice to Management

    Pay tutors more- they take a semester course to be able to tutor (i.e., they're paying money for the training!) and they make poor pay. Other jobs on campus make more, and require much less training and effort.

    Goucher College2017-07-18
Found 43 reviews