Gourmet Burger Kitchen Reviews | Glassdoor

Gourmet Burger Kitchen Reviews

Updated September 14, 2018
97 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Derrian Nadauld
6 Ratings

97 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Free food on shift (can literally eat whatever)" (in 22 reviews)

  • "Free burgers for staff food, even for short shifts" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "poor pay for the amount of responsibilities the front of house staff had, some lazier than others and a clear presence of favouritism" (in 5 reviews)

  • "long hours and open to close shifts" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, OH
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    opportunity to growth, free staff food

    Cons

    not enought people on shift to provide good customer service

    Advice to Management

    create good training program for management


  2. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People at the top genuinely care for people. Made up of people who put their heart and soul in to the company.
    Quality of food and ingredients is amazing.

    Cons

    Internal communication could be better and aimed at relevant groups.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management should work alongside the restaurants from time to time. We used to have this.

  3. "Front of House Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch and great people to work with

    Cons

    Unstable hours due to zero hour contract, and last minute release of the rota for the week

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Aug 29, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your time to share with us.
    At the moment we are looking at our contracts and how we can improve them,

    If there is any further feedback you would like to share, please... More


  4. "Gbk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Belsize Park, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Belsize Park, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Staff discounts, staff parties organised by the company. Good and fresh food prepared daily. Team work. A lot of brunches and possibly to grow and travel.

    Cons

    They have very low salary, the tips are low as well because they don’t provide table service (customers order at the counter). Always short on staff, which means working a lot of hours and covering different positions at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    As a ex gbk manager I personally advice to provide better training to the new team, without throwing them to the position to learn as it goes. Definitely increase the salary, the current one is ridiculous for the job you expect the team to do.

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Aug 29, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    We really appreciate the time you took to feedback to us.

    We have recently looked at our salary bandings to make sure they are competitive in the industry as we constantly want to... More


  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Cambridge, East of England, England (UK)
    Recommends

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for who value staff

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind really...

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Aug 3, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your time to write a review on our Glassdoor page and for you hard work!

    GBK People Team


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor
    Former Employee - Supervisor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some of the people who you may work with

    Cons

    Unstable management, bullying, terrible unsociable hours, always understaffed, always treated with disrespect from kitchen staff and no proper training for management with hardly ever progression

    Advice to Management

    Don’t become a manager if you’re not going to care about your restaurant or your staff.

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Aug 29, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    We are sorry to hear about your experience.
    We would like to find out more about your experience at GBK as we don’t tolerate this king of behaviour.
    Can you please share with us any... More


  7. "Senior supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Supervisor in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Senior Supervisor in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Colleguages made for a fun enviroment and great product

    Cons

    Unpredictable working schedules and removing heart of the company

    Advice to Management

    Compramise between COS and the original foundation. Don't just turn into wimpy

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for sharing with us. It is great to hear you had the chance to enjoy fun environment in GBK.
    If you would like to discuss further, then please email info@gbk.co.uk

    GBK... More

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Former Employee - FOH in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Mostly busy, great team environment, lots of staff events and parties, lovely co-workers, great management (south anne street), very accommodating to workers with little/no experience.

    Cons

    low pay, low hours depending on season

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jul 6, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for sharing your feedback.
    It is great to hear that you enjoy wonderful team and great management in one of our restaurants in Dublin.
    If there is anything else you would... More


  9. "GBK Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Royal Leamington Spa, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Royal Leamington Spa, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, sociable team

    Cons

    Fluctuating hours, Language barriers, inconsistent managerial style

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for spending time to write a review on our Glassdoor page.
    We take on board your feedback, if there is anything else you would like to discuss further please email... More


  10. "Work at Gbk management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Nice teams and people, flexible hours

    Cons

    Minimum wage, very tight budgets, overworked, difficulty to find staff, new management

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jun 26, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your time to share with us about your experience. If you have any ideas how to make GBK better place to be please share with us at info@gbk.co.uk.

    GBK People Team


Showing 97 of 99 reviews
Reset Filters