Gourmet Burger Kitchen Reviews | Glassdoor

Gourmet Burger Kitchen Reviews

Updated June 18, 2018
90 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Derrian Nadauld
4 Ratings

90 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Free food on shift (can literally eat whatever)" (in 23 reviews)

  • "Good training when you can get it" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and open to close shifts" (in 7 reviews)

  • "poor pay for the amount of responsibilities the front of house staff had, some lazier than others and a clear presence of favouritism" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, OH
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    opportunity to growth, free staff food

    Cons

    not enought people on shift to provide good customer service

    Advice to Management

    create good training program for management


  2. "Great company to work for 100%"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food for the staff which many companies do not do this, so gbk just shows in little ways how much they value their staff. Free coffee / drinks. Breaks. Staff discount when not working.

    Cons

    You'll always come across rude customers but this isn't the company's fault. Other then that, none!

    Advice to Management

    Nothing negative. They all do a fantastic job. Everyone I've encountered with have been great.

  3. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, good tips, always busy

    Cons

    Management only cares about customers


  4. "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Supervisor in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good place to learn as a first timer in the industry

    Cons

    Difficult to progress at your own pace if you are capable of going further quicker

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Great to hear you see GBK as a first job in hospitality.
    If you would like to discuss anything further, please contact us on info@gbk.co.uk.

    GBK People Yeam


  5. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress
    Former Employee - Waitress

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing company, very helpful with progression

    Cons

    None a great company to work for.

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your time to leave a review on our Glassdoor page. It is great to hear you had a good time and found GBK amazing place to work.
    Thank you for all your work.

    GBK People... More


  6. "Great 👍🏽"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, all kind of support been given at all times, lots of opportunities for someone with the right behaviour and ethics to grow

    Cons

    There is nothing better than gbk

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your time at GBK.
    Thank you for your hard work.

    GBK People Team


  7. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor
    Current Employee - Supervisor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company gives out monet quarterly to teams to do what they like and free food!

    Cons

    Company cares about cutting labour and doing a 0 hour contract you might nor be making much money

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the superviors who want to develop and the FOH

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for spending time to leave a feedback on our Glassdoor page.
    It is great to hear that you enjoyed the staff food and the Fun Fund budgets we provide to all GBK employees.
    We... More

  8. "Not the best..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH Staff in Manchester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - FOH Staff in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team to work for (I guess it depends on which store)
    Enjoyed the job itself

    Cons

    The GBK I was at was built in the wrong area. Subsequently, has just closed down. Wrong prices for the area meant no business. Did transfer to another store to gain extra hours, but was too difficult and awkward to get to and I spent too long getting there. Moved on to another job.

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    Jun 15, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your review.
    We were also disappointed to close the site.
    We are taking your feedback on board and we will communicate it to the right department.
    If you would like to... More


  9. "They try their best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gourmet Burger Kitchen full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good for development if you work hard. Free food on shift. Pretty fun place to work.

    Cons

    Pay is very low for the amount of work you do.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff more , not competitive enough in this day and age. This applies to all rolls from bottom to the top.

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    May 21, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for leaving a review on our Glassdoor page. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at GBK. Your feedback will be look at and sent to the relevant team.
    Thank you for your... More


  10. "Part time Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)

    I worked at Gourmet Burger Kitchen part-time

    Pros

    Made good friends with staff,
    staff food while working

    Cons

    long hours
    Minimum wage
    no tips as customers pay before receiving food

    Gourmet Burger Kitchen Response

    May 21, 2018 – Recruitment Resourcer

    Hi there,

    Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time at GBK. We take onboard your feedback but please feel free to email info@gbk.co.uk if you would like to... More


Showing 90 of 91 reviews
Reset Filters