Gouvis Engineering California Reviews | Glassdoor

Gouvis Engineering California Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
54%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Gouvis Engineering California CEO Saeed J. Bekam (no image)
Saeed J. Bekam
5 Ratings
  1. "Friendly, flexible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gouvis Engineering California full-time

    Pros

    No micro management Flexibility in schedule Frequent team building activities Great pay and benefits New office said to have great perks

    Cons

    Limited employee parking and limited off site parking Sometimes slow paced work

    Advice to Management

    Great experience so far!

    Gouvis Engineering California2017-06-15
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gouvis Engineering California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly production staff Casual/Half day Fridays

    Cons

    Lots of miscommunication Lack of experienced management No trust in production staff Mico-manage everything

    Advice to Management

    Learn from your production staff, not your management staff.

    Gouvis Engineering California2018-08-10
  3. "I learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gouvis Engineering California full-time

    Pros

    A great learning opportunity, I truly feel like I learned a lot about MEP design. Management provided lots of guidance in learning, without micromanaging. If you're motivated, want to develop your skills it's a great opportunity for capable individuals to learn.

    Cons

    The company has lots of work, which is great for business - but the workload can get heavy at times. Perhaps a pro and con, but this definitely isn't a boring place to be!

    Advice to Management

    I guess it's more common for people to leave bad reviews... There are many people grateful for opportunity and team work. I didn't realize what a great place this was until I left. Perhaps there's a way to get employees to work better together.

    Gouvis Engineering California2016-12-22
  4. "shipping department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shipping Department in Newport Beach, CA

    I worked at Gouvis Engineering California

    Pros

    god benefits, friendly people,

    Cons

    no opportunity to bid up your carer

    Gouvis Engineering California2016-01-23
  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gouvis Engineering California

    Pros

    Get to learn MEP and structural for new family residences. Easy to talk to management. Everyone gets along. Get to attend VE meetings.

    Cons

    Work can get stressful. Lots of projects. Need to learn on your own. There is not enough senior management for the recent graduates.

    Advice to Management

    Get a company car to attend meetings. There is not enough senior management for recent graduates. Send employees out to sights to see there work.

    Gouvis Engineering California2015-12-03
  6. "Production Facility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gouvis Engineering California full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company evolves with changing job market. Willing to expand into new areas to maintain work volume. Added M.E.P. division when Structural division slowed down.

    Cons

    Heavily weighted to nepotism and appearance of profitability. Helps to be related to owners, previously employed by competition, or able to take work away from competition. Branch office in Vietnam does most of the cookie cutter work.

    Advice to Management

    Worry less about acquiring new employees from competition, more about making current employees feeling appreciated, and helping them to advance in their careers..

    Gouvis Engineering California2015-09-17
  7. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I have been working at Gouvis Engineering California

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Everyone is willing to help you.

    Cons

    Management pays employees too low.

    Gouvis Engineering California2015-07-30
  8. "Politics -this is a game that I can't play."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gouvis Engineering California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very relaxed atmosphere and good working hour

    Cons

    Boss or colleague works to sabotage my work - After analyzing the political in this company, I decide this is a game that I can’t play, I'm prepare to move on.

    Gouvis Engineering California2015-05-28
  9. "gouvis review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gouvis Engineering California full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    relaxed atmosphere. People friendly and easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Large turn over which is negative. Not highly paid which is the main reason people leave. Would like the company to be more structured. It is pretty chaotic.

    Advice to Management

    More supervision would be recommended. People do whatever they feel like which sometimes is not correct.

    Gouvis Engineering California2015-04-01
  10. "Good company 10 yrs ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gouvis Engineering California

    Pros

    Good experience for getting a PE. Lots of young engineers. Opportunity to branch out to different fields, aspects of project management (spec writing, cad designing, calculations, code work, plan check revisions)

    Cons

    Slow paced, not many mid-level engineers.

    Advice to Management

    If serious about growth, need to hedge opportunity for slower market years

    Gouvis Engineering California2014-02-23
Found 11 reviews