Government Legal Department Reviews | Glassdoor

Government Legal Department Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "The flexible working arrangements are incredible and I love working in Westminster(in 11 reviews)

  • "Very interesting work in almost every corner of the organisation(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lawyers doing same job are paid unequally due to staff on different pay scales when departments joined GLD(in 4 reviews)

  • "Poor pay compared to private sector(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GLD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in London, England

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, flexible working encouraged, good holiday allowance, good pension

    Cons

    Pay . Lack of HR support.

    Government Legal Department2020-02-22
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, very good atmosphere, family friendly, flexible working

    Cons

    Salary is very low, however I don't think it's lower than other government departments

    Government Legal Department2019-12-17
  3. "Diversity of roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance being a generalist is a good thing

    Cons

    many administrative tasks and spending lots of time sending emails and handling policy people as opposed to doing actual work

    Government Legal Department2019-12-17
  4. "Excellent work but average pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unique, interesting and often high-profile legal work Colleagues are smart and interesting people Excellent culture and values

    Cons

    Pay offer is poor (controlled by HM Treasury so not really under their control) Hot-desking and lack of space bad for morale Not all managers are good - lack of consistency

    Government Legal Department2019-11-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance, but below market pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grade 7 Lawyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, friendly and collegial team, autonomous workload

    Cons

    Pay below market, little scope for career progression, minimal incentives

    Continue reading
    Government Legal Department2019-11-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Rishon lezion municipality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    big, diverse, veried, connections, working with government agencies

    Cons

    bureaucratic , slow, not innovative

    Government Legal Department2019-10-26
  7. "Friendly and supportive working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Higher Executive Officer in City of Westminster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Government Legal Department part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at GLD are friendly and supportive and I have really enjoyed when I have worked with the Lawyers here to get advice. The flexible working arrangements are incredible and I love working in Westminster.

    Cons

    Only small, but before I have had the luxury of working on my laptop on the train, but due to the security here I can't really do this.

    Government Legal Department2019-09-19
  8. "GLD Commercial Legal Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Lawyer in London, England

    I have been working at Government Legal Department full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collegiate working, flexible working, good ethos relating to diversity

    Cons

    Salary, Brexit, Recruitment and retention, IT infrastructure

    Government Legal Department2019-09-05
  9. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Pune
    Recommends

    I worked at Government Legal Department full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment. Got lot to learn

    Cons

    No Cons for this org

    Government Legal Department2019-08-29
  10. "Comments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Officer in London, England

    I worked at Government Legal Department full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, supportive, progression and friendly

    Cons

    Too many responsibilities, short staffed

    Continue reading
    Government Legal Department2019-08-26
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews