Government of Alberta Reviews | Glassdoor

Government of Alberta Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Government of Alberta CEO Jason Kenney (no image)
Jason Kenney
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "And some ministry won't let you apply for a job opening one year since your contract ended(in 10 reviews)

  • "Not a very innovative work environment(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Senior GIS Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, pension, people

    Cons

    Managed desktop so always working with GIS software a few versions behind

    Government of Alberta2018-09-06
  2. "Typical Government job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I do not have micro managers always looking over my shoulder as long as the job gets done. Good pay and benefits, pension.

    Cons

    Typical government where the right hand doesn't talk to the left, too many upper management. Also benefits are great but I think the monthly cost could be lower. Full pension only available after the 85 factor is met.

    Government of Alberta2019-03-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit Good work life balance

    Cons

    Limited career growth Salary freeze in the last few years

    Government of Alberta2019-02-18
  5. "GoA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engagement Coordinator in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements, good salaries compared to other sectors.

    Cons

    HR processes can be incredibly convoluted and hiring can take a long time. Decision making authority is being increasingly concentrated to the highest levels so that ADMs and ED have less autonomy/ability to effectively manage budgets and staff.

    Government of Alberta2019-10-08
  6. "Great learning environment for an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Policy Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mentor Good opportunities for learning Make mental health a priority

    Cons

    Work can be slow moving A lot of bureaucratic red tape

    Government of Alberta2019-09-23
  7. "Good Job Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Support in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    chill work environment and good pay/benefits

    Cons

    Work can be a bit boring

    Advice to Management

    Good

    Government of Alberta2019-09-19
  8. "Not the pencil pushers of yesterday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Chief of Staff in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Exciting, challenging, and interesting work

    Cons

    Stressful, bureaucratic and subject to constant change

    Government of Alberta2019-10-03
  9. "Great culture great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Government of Alberta full-time

    Pros

    I love working here. Best experiences ever

    Cons

    Nothing really to complain about

    Government of Alberta2019-09-10
  10. "Not a happy place, morale is failing fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary (for now) Great and supportive colleagues Interesting work, fulfilling to serve the public (when you are allowed to)

    Cons

    Morale is bottom of the barrel; politicians are tearing the place apart and cutting wherever they can Decisions are arbitrary and only think of scoring cheap political gains, not good service Atmosphere is soul-crushing at times and doesn't show signs of getting better - politicians and executive don't seem to care Mental health and general health will suffer from the stress and anxiety that seems to rule the day

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest, listen to front line staff and what they have to say. Insincerity about how much the politicians and executive "respect" the public service in Alberta is not fooling anyone.

    Government of Alberta2019-10-16
  11. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correctional Officer in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Government of Alberta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overtime 8 hour shifts Set schedule Good benefits

    Cons

    Lots of politics Very little room for advancement Negative environment Job isn't very stimulating Forced overtime (16 hour shifts) Deductions from pay check are a lot

    Government of Alberta2019-09-24
Found 253 reviews