KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Grab

Engaged Employer

Grab

Add a Review

Grab Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 of over 1,543 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Grab CEO and  Co-founder Anthony Tan
Anthony Tan
492 Ratings
Pros
  • "a good working environment with nice people(in 78 reviews)

  • "Culture is great with awesome work-life balance(in 56 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "there's almost no work/life balance(in 49 reviews)

  • "When I say fast-paced I mean extremely(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Grab and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great culture and experience

      Sep 29, 2019 - Product Management Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great culture - a lot of responsibility - exciting projects - good work/life balance

      Cons

      - constantly scaling in terms of employees

      2 people found this review helpful

      Grab Response

      Wow, thank you for the 5-star rating and positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed your internship journey with us. The company culture and environment is one of the reasons why we love working here! Work-life balance is important to us, which is why we have flexible working hours for Grabbers and we are glad you enjoy it. Hope you continue to have a good time here at Grab.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Unless you like working 70+ hours a week in a dead-end job, don't work here

      Sep 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation Health benefits Friendly, supportive HR team

      Cons

      Clear bias in hiring. If you interview, look around the office and you'll see what I mean. Site leadership is not strong Work / life balance, you need to work full days in Seattle then most nights (to talk to Singapore) to get anything done Sterile office environment No path for career progression, unless the site leader likes you

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful

      Grab Response

      Hello there, We're sorry that your experience has been a negative one. We're happy that you like your remuneration package, benefits and working environment here at Grab. Our benefits and rewards team, work their best to provide Grabbers with the best coverage to secure them and keep them at ease about their health. Our HR team are indeed great, they are friendly and dedicated to easing Grabbers' HR worries. Grab hires talents driven by passion and innovative ideas from diverse backgrounds. Could you explain to us why you feel the hiring process is biased? We do not condone this and would like to dig more into it. We're sorry to hear about your challenge with working in a different timezone. We'd look to feedback this to fellow Grabbers, so all of us are more aware and respectful of each other's time. Work-life balance is important to us, which is why we have flexible working hours for Grabbers! Speak to your resident Pops BP or people manager about how best to implement this for yourself and take a break as needed so you don't feel burnt out! On career progression, we have multiple avenues for Grabbers' to develop yourself, including both upward and lateral movements. Grabbers could always have a word with their manager to understand how they could work towards their aspirations.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awful work life balance, leadership lack vision

      Aug 20, 2018 - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very intelligent and experienced people to work with

      Cons

      * No work life balance. After 8 working in US working hours, you have to work 2-4 hours in Singapore time (if you want to be successful in Grab) * US office is a satellite office and all major decision are taken in Singapore. * Local management has no interest in sharing roadmap or overall vision. * No career growth opportunities. * Leadership does not care about feedback

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Grab Response

      Hi there, thank you for your review. Our Grabbers are some of the brightest minds in the region with the vast wealth of knowledge and we love working with each other. We're sorry to hear about your challenge with working in a different timezone. We'll look to feedback this to fellow Grabbers, so all of us are more aware and respectful of each other's time. At the same time, you can reach out to your teammates on negotiating meeting hours that work for both time zones too. Having said that, work-life balance is important to us, thus we have flexible working hours for Grabbers. Speak to your resident Pops BP or people manager about how best to implement this for yourself and better manage your time, take a break when needed so you don't feel burnt out! Also, for growth opportunities, we have a career mobility programme to allow Grabbers an opportunity to develop themselves in new areas of interest in the company, growing their skill sets and competencies. Grabbers can access all the info on Wiki!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Backend Engineer

      Oct 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture and environment, work-life balance

      Cons

      Management structure always changes

      1 person found this review helpful

      Grab Response

      Hi there, thank you for the 5-star rating and review. The company culture is one of the reason why we love working here! We're glad you enjoy the working environment here at Grab! We believe that our employees work best in a positive working environment, thus we strive to provide flexible working hours and work-life balance. We acknowledge that the organisation has indeed grown to a large size over the past few months and thus many changes in management structure of verticals and departments and clear processes and SOP needs to be followed to allow continued success of a company. However, do take note with constant changes and improvement to workflows we hope to see development in this situation real soon. Hope you continue to have a great time here at Grab.

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Decisions made behind close doors. Company needs more backbone.

      Dec 24, 2020 - Manager, Tech in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - If you want to live to work - this is a great place to give everything you have and grow. - If you are looking for a place where you want to navigate beauracracy, excessive politics yet succeed, this is a good challenge - if you are looking for a place where you want to deliver despite inadequate support from immediate team or your manager, this could be a good fit

      Cons

      - Decisions are made often behind close doors, and transparency not well practiced. - Work life balance is mostly talk, not executed in behaviors or action. - it's worth asking: do I want to become more like the people here (talk to folks on the inside and have your filter)? You can aspire to change the culture of a group, but don't overlook how the culture will change you. - Most managers have been promoted because of their Individual Contributors successes, however, inexperienced and in occasions would rather throw you under the bus than protect you

      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible managers, CEO and senior management.

      Jun 25, 2020 - Senior Product Manager in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Family-culture - Work life balance is good - Most of the Grabbers are really easy to get along with and quite fun

      Cons

      - The company is not innovative at all. Over half my team churned - 3 managers in 12 months due to churn, and they churned for reasons due to the poor talent pool/politics - This company can be really political depending on your manager and team - Manager made many promises and was literally late/never did each one - CEO and senior executive team always gives political answers, directly avoiding the questions asked, and then shames people who asked tough questions - CEO promised no layoffs and raised a ton of money, only to have layoffs occur when it really just saved them probably a month worth of profit - Team was completely remote and my engineers in Seattle, making the work efficiencies tough on both sides - Politics with your managers (especially the Indian ones which is most of them) are ridiculous. Might be a cultural difference

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not worth to join, bad management and painful developing enviroment.

      Dec 3, 2020 - Software Engineer in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Free drinks and snacks in office. * Work life balance good.

      Cons

      * Terrible people management, if you are not an Indian/Chinese but stay in a Indian/Chinese team, you will never be promoted until all other Indian been promoted. Same for Bonus and Salary increment. e.g : I have two colleague in my team, one is Indian another nope. The one who not Indian been told by his Indian Manager that he is good enough to be promo to next level, but due to budget limit, this year can not promo anyone in the team. But after 1 month, we found the other Indian colleague who in the same team and been manage by same manager been promoted without given any reason, quite unfair. * CEO said : Grabber should work for vision but not for money. What a suck announcement. This announcement make Grabber feel quite terrible. Looks like CEO think Grabber doesn't need money for rent house, buy food and living. He thought everyone like him, rich enough for work for vision but not for money for live. Quite ridiculous.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sounds good and looks good, but after you joined, everything changed.

      Jun 21, 2020 - Senior Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SEA gigantic unicorn, highly potential in business development in the next 3-5 years; Work-life balance was good (Before Covid - 19); Most of Grabbers have the intention to make the outcome good.

      Cons

      Very politics, promotion is based on the co-workers rating, being a "nice" person, or making some friends are more important than what you have done. The top tier of Operation, the second tier of Tech, the third tier of product, and business. Operation driven company, 8 years passed without robust tech structure and system, product and business goals change from time to time, pm 's requirement could be a sentence on slack and then Engg has to think about implementation. Mid-level managers are busy with taking from fruits from the employee and never empower them to learn and try. "Good" methodology, the brainstorm is the only topic of any workshop and the outcome is always the same, and has no clue to get it down to the earth. Lay off employees without informing beforehand, announce at 11 am and lock employee account at 1pm.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good

      Jan 16, 2021 - Software Engineer in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary, work-life balance, and kind managers

      Cons

      The app development is slow since they put everything in one app

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      All good

      Jan 16, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. work-life balance 2. Top managers care about employees

      Cons

      Communication between different divisions is hard.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 102 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Grab Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grab? Share Your Experiences

    or