Gragg Advertising Reviews | Glassdoor

Gragg Advertising Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Gragg Advertising CEO Greg Gragg
Greg Gragg
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are involved in all forms of marketing so you learn a lot about how advertising channels work together(in 8 reviews)

  • "River Market is a great spot for lunch breaks - tons of lunch options/happy hour variety(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Their high turnover rate reflects that(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management has no idea what employees do on a day-to-day basis and will talk down to you whenever possible(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gragg Advertising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company about five months and love it here. Very friendly people to work with and a positive environment. My boss is one of my favorite that I've worked for. I work in a sales position and enjoy that I can always reach him when I need to.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything to ad to this. I will say that some of the negative reviews that I've read are left by people that are no longer with the company. The things I've read I don't feel are true ,and it's unprofessional to bash a employer that supported you financially.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome!

    Gragg Advertising2017-04-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Analyst in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Your peers are wonderful! Some of the best friendships have begun because of Gragg. • Outside of supper management on occasion, work/life balance is perfectly on check. Working late and weekends is never required and rarely needed. • The job is 100% what you put into it. If you want to learn and be challenged, there are people and opportunities. • Location! River Market is a great spot for lunch breaks - tons of...

    Show More

    Cons

    • There is somewhat of a cap to your growth. You are on their map of promotion windows and title structure. It is possible for growth & promotion, just definitely a “prove it”/“earn it” model. • Not much collaboration between departments. Social is separate from paid search, separate from creative/traditional strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Yes, keeping the client happy is goal number one for any ad agency. But, the people who manage and deal with client requests and campaigns on a day-to-day basis would be more willing to go above and beyond to make that happen if management showed them more appreciation and gave more credit. (There are other ways outside of monetary compensation)

    Gragg Advertising2019-04-09
  3. "Dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gragg Advertising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaged and dynamic agency that is focused on delivering results to customers in real-time

    Cons

    Not really any I can think of but

    Gragg Advertising2019-04-08
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Run away FAST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PTO on the day of your birthday.

    Cons

    Everything else but pto. Management has no clue what they're doing. Their high turnover rate reflects that. They hire young ignorant people fresh out of college to take advantage of them...and to keep their health insurance costs down. Extramarital affairs are very apparent in upper management and favoritism is rampant. Made the working environment very uncomfortable.

    Advice to Management

    Close the agency. Pick another industry.

    Gragg Advertising2018-12-28
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very creative and dedicated staff.

    Cons

    Do not work here if you are against abuse and yelling.

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip on your ceo's emotions.

    Gragg Advertising2018-11-04
  6. "Hard work, be good at numbers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Services in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good group of managers who are concerned with the employees learning more and growing. Good pay and good benefits. Great place to gain knowledge. They are involved in all forms of marketing so you learn a lot about how advertising channels work together.

    Cons

    High expectations for performance. Sometimes the work can be overwhelming and requires attention to detail.

    Advice to Management

    Expand the training program and create a peer modeling program

    Gragg Advertising2018-09-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Proceed with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are great.

    Cons

    The service they provide is substandard - often, the services team will miss client meetings, fail to meet target deadlines and more often than not - fall short on results. Leadership does not keep promises and change goals monthly and weekly - appearing very desperate. This is a top-down issue and leadership really needs to show appreciation for their employees. They treat employees poorly and it shows - too much turnover...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find new leadership

    Gragg Advertising2018-10-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "You deserve better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising

    Pros

    There are a few people who seem genuine.

    Cons

    Lack of communication. Lack of proper training & role preparation. Lack of efficient processes. Lack of transparency. Cliquey. High turnover. Poor company culture. Lots of disconnect between those making promises to clients and those having to fulfill them.

    Advice to Management

    Developing a healthy, consistent stream of communication internally is vital. People want to know what is expected of them. They want to do a good job. They want to succeed. However, they need the insight/context necessary to do their jobs and to know that their voices are actually being heard.

    Gragg Advertising2018-10-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Poor leadership. Company doesn't value its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time

    Pros

    - Nobody paid attention to what you were doing, so you could get your work done in the first 2 hours of the day and then whatever you wanted the rest

    Cons

    - Crappy pay. When you did work hard, you were given more work instead of more money. When you didn't work hard, no one noticed.

    Gragg Advertising2018-09-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Stressful & abusive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gragg Advertising full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick growth and hands on opportunity.

    Cons

    The employees are awful. Typically a bunch of entry level employees that have been at the company for 2-3 years and have advanced to "manager" status because they stuck around. There's no focus on development or training because it's such an unstable environment with no succession planning (which again wouldn't be effective unless they had retention). They treat HR and Accounting like they're just there for their convenience...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of surrounding yourself by "Yes Men" actually listen to consultants and the feedback you receive. Your people are your biggest investments. Pay them what they're worth and work on changing your culture, it starts with you to stop treating everyone as disposable and replaceable. Don't us the "work hard play hard" excuse because that's not really the truth. It's not working hard it's abusive. And playing hard means...

    Show More
    Gragg Advertising2018-03-23
Found 71 reviews