Graham Capital Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Graham Capital Management Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Graham Capital Management Chief Investment Officer and President Mr. Pablo Calderini (no image)
Mr. Pablo Calderini
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very friendly culture (none of the old-school brash wall street personalities) and very reasonable work-life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Overall, Graham provides a very attractive work environment in which employees can build a rewarding career(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Management realizes that to stay competitive within the hedge fund industry, they need to attract and retain the best talent. As a result, there has really been a renewed effort in the last few years to enhance the employee experience at Graham. Many very tangible improvements have been made including enhanced communication from management, facility upgrades, internal education programs, and changes to benefit packages to improve work/life balance. Despite operating in what is generally thought of as a pretty cut-throat industry, there is a real sense within the firm that management genuinely values its employees and is making the necessary investments to maintain its competitive position. Overall, Graham provides a very attractive work environment in which employees can build a rewarding career.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Graham Capital Management2019-06-18
  2. "Balanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, beautiful location, interesting work

    Cons

    Limited career growth, normal for a small staff

    Graham Capital Management2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equity Trader in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance, positive working environment, smart coworkers

    Cons

    work gets boring after a period of time

    Continue reading
    Graham Capital Management2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at Graham roughly ~2 years ago. My time at Graham has been rewarding on a professional level as well as a personal level. I had worked at a bulge-bracket bank out of college and the culture was lacking. At Graham I have the freedom to work on what I am passionate about while surrounded by like-minded and intelligent peers. On top of this, the collegial and tight-knit culture at the firm makes work enjoyable from a personal standpoint. In regards to financial incentive / pay, if you work hard and more importantly perform, the compensation is just as or more competitive than any other top HF. Lastly, the office is beautiful and a change of pace from the doldrum and grey skyscrapers of Manhattan. Also the cuisine is excellent and affordable at the in-house dining room.

    Cons

    This section is not applicable.

    Graham Capital Management2019-06-14
  5. "If you are intellectually curious and enjoy working in a positive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Rowayton, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - An intellectually stimulating environment, with a team who are honest, encouraging, respectful and disciplined - Career development and upward mobility - A meritocracy regarding compensation - you work hard and you do well; the firm does well, you benefit - The firm continues to grow at a healthy pace - and with high quality investment offerings - Excellent maternity/parental leave - Super commute if you are local - and easy if you are coming via Metro-North

    Cons

    - The onsite cafe is almost too good - watch out for the "freshman five!" (and make use of the gym and brilliant location for outdoor running/walking)

    Continue reading
    Graham Capital Management2019-06-17
  6. "Company on autopilot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hours are easy, has a gym

    Cons

    Company management is checked out. They are just trying to get whatever they can out of it.

    Continue reading
    Graham Capital Management2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My experience at Graham has been very positive. Management is genuine, thoughtful and receptive. Employees are motivated, intelligent and friendly. The firm overall aims to promote a sense of community.

    Cons

    I have no current cons.

    Graham Capital Management2019-03-25
  8. "Mediocre place to work, easy to become complacent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rowayton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Graham Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    Very easy to do what you want when you want to; come and go when you please for personal stuff; coffee.

    Cons

    The company is just on autopilot. Just looking to make senior management enough money to keep paying the bills.

    Continue reading
    Graham Capital Management2019-02-20
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Beware the quarterly cull"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Market but not outstanding compensation Attempts to build a friendlier workplace Team atmosphere on surface but below every its person for themselves Campus grounds Commute

    Cons

    Frequent purging of workforce related to overall company performance Moody management (from top down) Hard to find a pen and paper (strict inventory control), yeah it's like that!

    Continue reading
    Graham Capital Management2019-01-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent hedge fund"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Portfolio Manager in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Graham Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive organization, excellent corporate culture

    Cons

    there are no cons for this org

    Continue reading
    Graham Capital Management2018-11-22
Found 49 reviews