Grainger Canada Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Canada Vice President and General Manager Dave Lagoner (no image)
Dave Lagoner
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people (on both sides of the border), who are committed to making things better(in 17 reviews)

  • "self managed, work life balance and wonderful people(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There were no cons working for AGI(in 8 reviews)

  • "there are no cons to working at AGI(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good steady work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training, culture and facilities

    Cons

    Company was going through changes and the growing pains were difficult

    Grainger Canada2019-08-14
  2. "A great place for a long Career in the MRO Industry"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The rewards and recognition you receive is directly based on your performance. The relationship's you build with both customer's and internal partner's is the best part of working at AGI.

    Cons

    The company has worked hard during there transition with both internal operating system's, branch coverage, customer alignment, etc, and the journey is not over, but is finally being realized. Those who stuck it out are starting too see the light at the end of the tunnel.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Co-Workers, Laughable Management."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Co-Workers Decent Pay In The Beginning (Jan-Aug 2018) Great Vacation Time Great Attendance Policy Work Is Split Between Emails And Phones, Reducing Burnout On Busy Days

    Cons

    Supervisors are not creative at all nor are they there for your benefit. They only regurgitate the new and ever changing policies upper management has fed them. In 2018 AGI’s move from brick and mortar to call center money was lost. Their failure to be transparent with the customer base is also the blame in my opinion. Management left it to newly hired call center reps to replace tenured AG branch employees who were experienced in areas such as product knowledge and deliver the same, if not a superior caliber of customer service. The same caliber which comes with time on the job and patience from the customer. In the beginning losing your job came down to attendance, but it seemed like someone was being let go for “we’re in an at-will state” reasons that made management look shady after a while. You do EVERYTHING for the customer, but are paid less than the Grainger US team to do work they would transfer to another agent to get completed. Management/Sups will try to assign tasks to agents to make their jobs easier. It does not benefit you to oblige. If meetings take away from their time to perform their managerial duties, so be it. Do your your job as a CER and hold them to theirs. You work for Canada, but you work in the US so you to combat coming in to work on a slow Canadian holiday you can go unpaid or use PTO. This has always been unacceptable in my eyes. The customer is catered to unhealthily and we as agents are forced per management to baby customers who are also business owners. We are tasked to walk on eggshells to avoid upsetting off the customer because we asked them for the item number for 1 of 101 hammers because the customer only put “Hammer” on the purchase order. We are working with businessmen and women, but unfortunately the whole process makes the customer seem a bit childish and less business like. We should be able to extract information from the customer without them feeling like they’re being taken “hostage” as the trainer so eloquently stated. Any change to policy will always begin with management stating they consulted with agents on the floor to come up with the new policy, but it’s all corporate fluff. Someone with no direct tie to a CER’s position on the floor heard a few calls and came up with some new policy that directly effects the CER negatively because everything related to the customer is our issue to deal with. WE DO EVERYTHING, but box up the merchandise and ship it off. Advancement in Tempe is nonexistent. You want to be a manager hired internally? Go on the 2-3 year SME/Floor Support route. You get paid the same to know more than any supervisor ever would and work with agents face to face more than a sup ever could.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2019-05-16

    Grainger Canada Response

    May 24, 2019Senior Director, Communications

    Thanks for your review. There were definitely a few bumps in the early days of standing-up an entirely new contact centre, but know we've made great progress in this area. The contact centre team is doing great work.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company to work for ever!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger Canada full-time

    Pros

    Was able to meet some good friends through work

    Cons

    -worst culture ever! Promotes sucking up to management, obedience, drama within the team -during the most recent restructure, ALL women on mat leave were laid off at the end of the mat leave -employees are not allowed to be sick, they are encouraged to eat multiple tylenols to get through the day

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2019-02-01

    Grainger Canada Response

    February 8, 2019Senior Director, Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We'll share your comments with the appropriate groups internally. A couple points to highlight, however: When ill, team members are very much encouraged to take the time needed to get better. Sick leave is afforded to all team members. In addition, team members on maternity or parental leave nearly always return to their positions at the end of the leave period.

  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefited, 401k match, good hours good pay.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Grainger Canada2018-12-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Great company to work for generally speaking. Lots of opportunity to develop through company intranet resources.

    Cons

    Work / Life balance could be better. With long tenured employees opportunity for advancement is very minimal unless willing to relocate, and even then the opportunities are very limited.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2015-12-04
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Supervisor in Timmins, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Grainger Canada is a great place to work, they treat me like a person not a number

    Cons

    it has been a challange working in a smaller location with less employee to interact with on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-05-27
  8. "Positive culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Grainger Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, good opportunities for advancement, positive leadership

    Cons

    Didn’t experience any cons while I was employed there

    Grainger Canada2020-05-17
  9. "Interview Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very professional and thorough process.

    Cons

    The team at Grainger is great at assisting with the amount of product and services.

    Continue reading
    Grainger Canada2020-05-08
  10. "Amazing Company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grainger Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Exposure Awesome Team members

    Cons

    No Cons i can think of

    Grainger Canada2020-05-08
Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews