Grainger Commercial Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Commercial Account Manager

Create your profile to get personalized information

Grainger Commercial Account Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Chief Executive Officer  DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
8 Ratings
  1. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    Cons

    Nothing at all ! Amazing company

    Grainger2019-04-02
  2. "Tough Customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    best solution, #1 at what they do

    Cons

    Not a lot of local customer knowledge. Broad stroke solution.

    Advice to Management

    understand local markets

    Grainger2018-02-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work life balance, they invest in their employees to help them grow and encompass new skill sets, and numerous opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Constant change within the organization and sellers can get in a Rhythm of managing their customer base and doing the daily tasks of the job.

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize the sales organization

    Grainger2017-12-06
  4. "Loving My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lot's of responsibility. Lot's of flexibility. Great pay, awesome benefits.

    Cons

    Must be self starter!!! If you aren't don't even consider it. This is your business.

    Advice to Management

    Zoro is a pain!

    Grainger2017-11-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company great opportunity, always changing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Commercial Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger

    Pros

    Good pay, good support, opportunity to advance if motivated. Change if you like it. Training is great and they believe in development.

    Cons

    Change, very complex corporate environment at times. Goals and commissions change more than I like. Value proposition does. It mean what is used to and customers are loosing interest in our value offering.

    Advice to Management

    Decided if you are keeping sales people on and if not give them more than 30 days to find a job.

    Grainger2017-04-05
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Geez, has this job gone down hill!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Profit sharing, profit sharing and profit sharing. But it is dwindling year after year. Brand recognition. Great systems. Nothing else!

    Cons

    Account managers get treated poorly. Headed towards an online model. Getting rid of good sales people getting paid 65k$ and hiring jug-heads for 38k$.

    Advice to Management

    My gosh, get someone that knows what they're doing to guide the sales team!

    Grainger2017-04-01
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Commercial account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Commercial Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional company, known brands, working with large clients; getting to know their business and how it runs. Great trade show in Orlando for customers.

    Cons

    Corporate reporting, scheduling and tracking your time. Depends on individual manager. Commission structure always changing, impossible to understand, classic "joy of a salesman YouTube video".

    Advice to Management

    Let account managers run their own business ... without telling them how to do it.

    Grainger2017-01-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Going through some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall pay: Base pay, car allowance, commission, profit sharing, benefits are all good.

    Cons

    Flavor of the month techniques, processes are terrible. Outsourcing key areas of business to panama. Very challenging marketplace.

    Advice to Management

    stick with something.

    Grainger2017-01-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Upward mobility, benefits package (PTO & profit sharing), good management, caring culture

    Cons

    Some managers are micromanagers High prices make selling difficult

    Grainger2016-11-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company to have an a sales resume!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    I am constantly contacted by recruiters trying to steal me away to their companies. Nearly 100% of them cite my sales experience with Grainger as the main reason for contacting me. Profit Sharing!

    Cons

    CONSTANT change in the name of "continuous improvement."

    Advice to Management

    Some things do not need to continuously be improved upon. While it is an admirable idea, at least 85% of changes are completely dismissed by employees and never become a reality so lots of money is wasted.

    Grainger2016-09-02
Found 50 reviews