Grainger On Site Service Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Grainger On Site Service Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Chief Executive Officer  DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
2 Ratings
  1. "On site service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Service Consultant in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent personal life/work balance. Incredible leadership. Benefits package is great. I love the positive, close knit, team environment.

    Cons

    Constant change with technology can be a negative for some. Must have the ability to learn on your own/teach yourself the tools of the trade.

    Grainger2017-07-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Onsite Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Service Consultant in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large Corporation with a small corporate feel. Big on work life balance and believes in developing their employees

    Cons

    Needs a better new hire setup. No specific design and support.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership is remarkable with great understanding and passion to help and develop.

    Grainger2018-09-16
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Love at first sight... Turned into hatred every night."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Site Service Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, profit sharing, continuing education and development opportunities. If there are open positions, job advancement can be good.

    Cons

    Over-worked without concern by management, employee internal support was mediocre, and there were unrealistic goals in place (sales and strategic).

    Advice to Management

    When I began my career at Grainger, I absolutely loved the focus on customer service and was even proud to work for a company with such values. However, in the past 5 years, I have seen the company become exclusively driven by dollar amounts. While I understand the need to increase sales, reduce costs, and still deliver good service, I feel that the low-level (backbone) employees and customers are suffering greatly because of the need to line the pockets of executives with $100 bills. With all of that being said, I will say that I was happy to see the structural changes being made within the KS markets (although the timelines were a bit crazy). My advice would be to continue to see if the new strategies are in place before making a drastic change every year. How can you tell if the plan is working? I would also suggest to keep the values of your employees and customers in mind. Customer pricing can be ridiculous and the sales employee's sales goals seem out of reach. Just remember that everybody can easily view prices online through phones/computers. With the customer service quality suffering, from tired, disgruntled employees, the customers will not be willing to pay extra.

    Show More
    Grainger2016-06-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Onsite Service Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Site Service Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and access to great technology allowing you to do your job. Suppy chain and ability to deliver was strong. Benefits are above average

    Cons

    Constant restructuring and company seems to be more and more driven by the stockholders. Not much room for advancement without relocation

    Advice to Management

    dont stress and expect customer service from your employees when all resources used to provide that customer service have been taken away. What is Graingers competitive advantage?

    Grainger2016-05-17
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Not the same company I joined almost a decade ago."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Services Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generous benefits and a good work-life balance. People in my role are provided a lot of great resources to deliver exceptional service to our customers in the field.

    Cons

    Current restructuring is leading to a lot of uneasiness and a lowering of morale across the board. My current role offers very little opportunity for advancement, where in the past it could branch into multiple operational or sales opportunities. Employee development, while touted highly internally, is a roll of the dice depending on how committed your supervisor is to assisting your development plan.

    Advice to Management

    Not really any advice, just a closing thought. Grainger employees have worked very hard to make the company what it is today. I know we have a responsibility to deliver results to our shareholders, but it feels like the culture has shifted dramatically in the past 12-18 months, and it seems like many good employees are wondering if they are valued anymore.

    Grainger2016-01-25
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Service Consultant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a Very stable work environment with an inclusive culture. Good benefits and excellent paid time off starting off.

    Cons

    It is a typical big business that can move slow from time to time and sometimes things get lost in beurocies

    Advice to Management

    Lower to middle management stays connected while upper gets disconnected from everything.

    Grainger2015-10-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "On-Site Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Service Consultant in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love being out of the office, and at customer facilities without the stress of having to live by numbers like most sales representatives do. I have been able to cultivate great relationships with coworkers as well as customers, and Grainger is great to their employees. The health care, and retirement plans are far above average.

    Cons

    Not enough opportunities to transition into a corporate role from an operational role. I recently completed my degree, and the only way I'd be able to utilize my degree and stay with the company is to move to Illinois, which is hard to consider doing with a family and young children.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be career driven in order to retain good employees. Continue to develop roles that may not necessarily be tied to an office so you can retain career employees who wish to leave an operational role.

    Grainger2015-09-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Service Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Love working with coworkers Awesome benefits

    Cons

    Healthcare options are not great

    Advice to Management

    Change pay scale for positions

    Grainger2015-07-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "For now it's still a great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Service Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay to start Great work life balance Profit Sharing Advancement opportunities are there if you're driven, but you have to be one of the boys.

    Cons

    Front line employees feel uneasy right now with a few layoffs and branch closings. Benefits are being cut a bit, but I'm sure more are coming. It used to at least feel like the employees came before shareholders

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget the "Employee Promise"

    Grainger2015-05-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Use the experience, look for better pay elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Site Service Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The profit sharing was the only reason I stayed.

    Cons

    Near the end of my career (I left of my own choosing), I had become very disenchanted with Grainger. It truly is a company of haves and have nots. There is a sense of entitlement among middle management and above, it's really truly striking. I worked with numerous account managers and all left within 2-3 years. Its true they will increase your yearly sales goal to something that's completely unattainable and unrealistic. The "good old boy network" is alive and well at Grainger. I had several managers tell me "the days working your way up are gone". You need to be in the same building as a DSM or other district manager to even have a shot at moving up... and then, why would you want to be an account manager if you're most likely going to be gone (or want to leave) in 2-3 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lose the sense of entitlement. Ask shareholders at the annual if they want either A) Employees advanced based off of "networking", OR 2) Employees promoted due to skill and what they've accomplished. Just ask them, see what they say, then do it. The company will be much better off.

    Grainger2015-01-15
Found 16 reviews