Grainger Sourcing Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Grainger Sourcing Specialist Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
16%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Chief Executive Officer  DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sourcing Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, health/dental/vision, profit share.

    Cons

    Grainger is a sinking ship. People are getting laid off or demoted just to save costs for the stock holders. Grainger used to be a fun place to work and was enjoyable every day. But now it is dreadful. Morale is low, co-workers are being let go, there is no communication from upper management. Just terrible.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2016-03-21
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Sourcing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sourcing Specialist in Pearl River, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay & benefits which included a sizeable profit sharing program. Afordable health, dental, vision, life, short term & long term disability insurance.

    Cons

    Upper management within the Sourcing Division was a revolving door. Within 5 years I had 8 managers, only once did I ever receive a year end review by a manager that I worked for that year making it nearly impossible to move up within the organization. Because of the high turn-round in managers very few of the Sourcing managers had a true understanding of the processes in place; nor were they able to do the job of a Sourcing Specialist. This all contributed to very low morale and a very unhappy & tense working environment. The metrics in place for the Sourcing Specialist were based mostly on speed and volume rather than accuracy & obtaining the business of customers which resulted in sloppy work and employees meeting their metrics oposed to being competitively priced, obtaining sales & providing a positive service for customers.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2015-08-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sourcing Specailist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits, mostly friendly people, goof work ethics, professional

    Cons

    Some of the managers need improvement

    Continue reading
    Grainger2015-08-18
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Used to be proud of this company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Profit Sharing & PTO.

    Cons

    Company no longer cares about the people. Employees have be reduced to a number and is now everything metric driven. Intangibles, no longer matter. Advancement is definitely based on who you know, not what you you know.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2015-07-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Opportunity overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The profit sharing is very generous and it is a good reason to stay with the company. Overall benefits are very good and the company culture is nice.

    Cons

    The company is very big and you have to really stand out to get ahead. It's often more about who you know and not as much what you know.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2014-06-01
  6. "Sourcing Specialist Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Sourcing Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL

    I have been working at Grainger for less than a year

    Pros

    I was an intern. Provided great business experience for me while in college, met great people, networked with management. Paid internship.

    Cons

    Not too many cons as an intern.

    Grainger2014-06-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "No praise for anybody, minimal increases, low employee moral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sourcing Specialist in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger

    Pros

    Experience what a public Fortune 500 company is

    Cons

    Experience what a public Fortune 500 company is..stick with thr private sector for sure! They tout the fact that they were ranked in Chicagos to 100 places to work ??? Who rated them that?? Nobody I know.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2012-02-13
  8. "I am satisfied to work at Grainger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sourcing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger

    Pros

    Grainger offers a decent atmosphere to work and good experience andf also has good benefits

    Cons

    Some managers are inexperienced and do not demonsrate management experience and some are very "political"

    Continue reading
    Grainger2011-08-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews