Grainger "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Grainger Reviews

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Chief Executive Officer  DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
438 Ratings
  1. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits Good profit share Good pay Lots of PTO

    Cons

    No cons I enjoy my job

    Grainger2018-02-03
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Great benefits, but culture has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary range was decent

    Cons

    The culture changed to "do more with less" several years ago, and management changes were rampant. The company motto states that employees are the most important asset, but it felt less and less like that as the years went on. There was constant fear of job loss, and the transparency went down to nothing. Email after email of management leaving the company, many people I know personally let go and many jobs now moved to Phoenix, AZ. This used to be a company that had very low turnover rates and high employee satisfaction. The employee satisfaction surveys kept getting lower and lower while leaders expected more and more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Return to the culture of "employees first". Evaluate how much talent could be KEPT within your company before bringing outside consultants and management new hires to fulfill THEIR version of "saving money". All it did was create a fearful environment, frustrated employees, and high turnover. To be honest, to walk down the hallways, you could see the difference over the course of 10 years on who you are now attracting as "talent" versus the professional and highly intelligent people you let go to make room for your "vision". You became THE Corporate America many despise versus the "family" that used to exist.

    Show More
    Grainger2018-01-28
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Corporate entity with low feelings towards staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good for the area. Benefits are great and start on day one of employment. 401k with automatic 3% match regardless if you contribute. Profit sharing plan with a max 12% per year depending on company performance. 18 paid days off within your first year of employment + paid holidays.

    Cons

    Hours are harsh - 50+ hour weeks M-F are the reg + Saturdays for IB. Corporate out of Chicago dictates everything right up to clothing. Supervisors and up have to wear business casual+, Maintenance personnel have to wear long sleeve uniforms all in non-climate controlled distribution center in the Texas summer that can go above 100 degrees. Extreme demands for quality but zero hours are allotted for quality training and they wonder why there are so many errors and inventory issues. 1 out of 3 PMs are excellent. It just feels like a giant corporate entity that has no care for the individual. Texas DC is too small and understaffed for volume. There are two buildings and it is a nightmare working between the two - it feels like two different companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Training needs to not be a part of production hours. They need to be built into an overall growth plan to excel at quality service to our customers. Your employees, including management & maintenance need to be comfortable in a non-climate controlled warehouse in Texas heat. Wearing pants and long sleeve shirts is simply ridiculous.

    Grainger2018-01-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "District Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good opportunity to make money if stars align - Great benefits

    Cons

    - used to be a "employee first" organization - micromanagement has become the norm

    Grainger2018-01-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "In plant coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Plant Coordinator in Battle Creek, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The compant has great benefits

    Cons

    Due to the large number of employees, communication seems to be minimal. There are lots of little clicks amonst higher up people and if your not a part of them, you will not get the opportunity to advance. The minute that I applied for FMLA, my manager started harassing me. I went fron being the lead employee, to getting wrote up for being late and mis counting and everything else that he could find to fire me. In the end, I was "laid off" and given a 1 month compensation package, as long as I signed a paper saying that I couldnt sue them. Has anyone else had problems with using FMLA in this company?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None...they wont listen

    Grainger2018-01-02
  6. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Government Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing glaring that I can think of.

    Grainger2017-12-15
  7. "HR Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, including profit sharing

    Cons

    benefits have gotten more expensive

    Grainger2017-11-28
  8. "On-Site Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement. Own time. Trusted to get work done. Paid mileage. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Drive your own vehicle.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure managers are aware of career advancement

    Grainger2017-11-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Credit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, great benefits, team atmosphere

    Cons

    Senior management is dishonest; if you disagree with them, they work hard to get even with you

    Grainger2017-11-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Government Account Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, company has a good reputation in the market, and you have the potential to make a decent amount of money. They also have a very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Base pay not competitive compared to similar positions at other companies, the department has become VERY metric focused, and a lot less laid back than it was two years ago. The company is also not good about promoting from within or rewarding consistent performance. Finally, the company has absolutely no culture. Their idea of culture is 10 people emailing "great job!" to everyone a day. The company is so far behind Amazon right now, I wouldn't be surprised if Amazon bought them out in the next 5 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reward people for the hard work they are doing, not just who can do the most brown nosing. Get back to focusing on the most important thing, MAKING GOAL! Not how many dials you can make a day and tasks you can enter in the system.

    Grainger2017-10-25
Found 216 reviews