Grainger "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Grainger Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Chief Executive Officer  DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
441 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Government Account Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, company has a good reputation in the market, and you have the potential to make a decent amount of money. They also have a very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Base pay not competitive compared to similar positions at other companies, the department has become VERY metric focused, and a lot less laid back than it was two years ago. The company is also not good about promoting from within or rewarding consistent performance. Finally, the company has absolutely no culture. Their idea of culture is 10 people emailing "great job!" to everyone a day. The company is so far behind Amazon right now, I wouldn't be surprised if Amazon bought them out in the next 5 years.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-10-25
  2. "Sales and Customer Relations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Grainger full-time

    Pros

    Great team and great benefits and pay.

    Cons

    They consolidated in other states

    Grainger2017-10-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance for employees Great benefits for employees with families

    Cons

    Lack of team environment Constant disruptive change Slow upward mobility

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-10-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Grainger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keepstock in South Florida, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Grainger is filled with many engaged, ambitious employees who work hard to succeed. They are the industry leader because of the employees they hire. I can rely on the vast majority of my coworkers and enjoy their vigor and determination to succeed. Technology and branding give you an industry advantage at Grainger. The pay is good. When the business is performing well, there are many ways to develop into new roles. The benefits are great. All of the supervisors that I have worked for genuinely care about my well being and try their best to lead, develop, and strive for greatness.

    Cons

    With a deep talent pool, promotions can be very competitive. Sometimes Grainger commits to big projects or changes before they seem to be completely thought through. Recently there has been many layoffs and structural changes which have impacted employees all of the nation.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-09-25
  5. "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent leadership, managers really take time to invest in you personally. Great benefits and PTO, customers as well

    Cons

    Can be difficult to achieve long term success due to company's frenetic pace of change

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-09-12
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Easy to burn out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, 401k, generous vacation time. Decent base salary. Great co workers

    Cons

    Too much admin work....cannot successfully complete work in less than a 10 hour day. Pressure to meet goals.

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-08-26
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Great Benefits, you learn alot

    Cons

    Lack of knowledge; must learn as you go along

    Grainger2017-08-15
  8. "Great company with consistency in leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people great benefits awesome environment and consistent positive culture

    Cons

    Sometimes micromanages, a lot of change, very often

    Grainger2017-08-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Associate in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grainger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company Culture, Leave work at the office, great benefits

    Cons

    Bad pay, management turnover, company turnover

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-08-15
  10. "Great Firm / Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grainger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support Team is Second to none, resources are there Great Benefits Brand Recognition

    Cons

    Seen as expensive in the industry (if you are on contract, you can explain that away) Not knowing the resources you have so you get lost Monthly sales goals vs quarter

    Continue reading
    Grainger2017-07-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 217 reviews