KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Grainger

Engaged Employer

Grainger

Add a Review

Grainger Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 349 of over 2,923 reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Grainger Chief Executive Officer  DG Macpherson
DG Macpherson
850 Ratings
Pros
  • "They take care of you with great benefits and profit sharing(in 373 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours with great benefits(in 283 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Home Work Life Balance Is a Struggle(in 118 reviews)

  • "Upper Management can be clueless(in 78 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Grainger and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      How a Job became a Career

      Jul 13, 2021 - Software Development Manager in Lake Forest, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This week I celebrated my 30th Anniversary working at Grainger. How can someone stay at a company so long? It's because of the variety and the opportunities Grainger has presented me over the years. I averaged a new position (or promotion) about ever 2 years by moving around and up. Great benefits, great people and opportunities around every corner

      Cons

      If you don't advocate for yourself, you could have trouble with work/life balance. Don't do that! Stuff moves fast around here, if you don't stop and look around, you might miss something in your personal life you will regret later.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Nov 4, 2021 - Supply Chain Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance, company culture, benefits

      Cons

      base pay could be higher

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to start a career

      Nov 26, 2021 - Data Scientist in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great work life balance 2. Good pay for someone starting right off college 3. Great People

      Cons

      1. None as of now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Nov 30, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative in Lake Forest, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits great work life balance

      Cons

      Pay, they ask you to do a lot for the pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Account Manager Job

      Nov 19, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Products Positioning Easy to sell for

      Cons

      Too much reporting Unnecessary Salesforce KPI Commission Structure changes a lot Pay is not competitive

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stability, Longevity, Challenge, Career Progression

      Jun 1, 2021 - Human Resources in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grainger is a highly employee centric organization heavily focused on employee satisfaction and reward. Benefits, retirement, work life balance, training and development, competitive salary and performance rewards, growth potential all come to mind when thinking about the positives Grainger has to offer. I was recruited to Grainger and would compliment the recruitment process as it was smooth and a great overall experience. On-boarding can be hit or miss and I have to admit that as a person starting a new position in the midst of a pandemic operating 100% remote I was set up for success with a buddy assigned, had necessary training and was provided centralized resources where I could find any and all information I needed to be successful in my role.

      Cons

      Some processes can be a bit clunky which is always expected in a big company environment. With that said leadership does a great job of soliciting feedback at all levels and providing a wealth of opportunity to contribute to continuous improvement. It is clear that leadership and the enterprise as a whole are highly invested in continuing to look at processes and introduce the latest in technologies where it is appropriate and most impactful.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Nov 19, 2021 - Manager in Lake Bluff, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance, Great Benefits

      Cons

      Doesn't have any cons !

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Decent place to work

      Nov 16, 2021 - Field Account Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance for the most part

      Cons

      growth opportunities can be limited

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Super busy the entire shift so your day goes by fast.

      Sep 15, 2021 - Customer Order Filler P I E Operator (Cherry Picker) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good but definitely not the best.

      Cons

      Prospective employees: When I first started here I was wondering why their turn over rate was over 50% but after being subjected to incompetent management that picks and chooses what rules/policies to enforce and against whom I can see why, I exceeded my monthly goal during my tenure but never got acknowledgment from any member of management but the moment I made TWO errors out of the 12,000 plus tasks that I completed, management was quick to acknowledge that and in a condescending manner. Work life balance is not possible here as the turn over rate is so high that they subject you to mandatory over time so depending on the shift you can start as early as 8 AM and stay as late as 10 PM. Their attendance policy is enforced depending on the supervisor and every employee is subject to more slack than others depending on the supervisor. Overall the job itself is easy but it definitely has its drawbacks.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's okay!

      Nov 15, 2021 - COF Inbound PIE 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money is great if u have no life nor children at home!

      Cons

      We work nurses hours, management seems to be "above u" with their attitudes. There's no work life balance here. The chance of succeeding here isn't a reality here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 349 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grainger Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grainger? Share Your Experiences

    or