Grand Canyon University Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Canyon University Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 687 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Grand Canyon University CEO Brian Mueller
Brian Mueller
418 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is the best job I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely love working for GCU. You have so many days off half days that are paid, the corporate culture is great, there is a lot of pressure to meet deadlines but the pay and benefits are phenomenal.

    Cons

    I haven't encountered any cons yet.

    Grand Canyon University2019-04-13

    Grand Canyon University Response

    April 23, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    Happy to hear! We are happy to know that you enjoy GCE’s competitive benefits package and the work you are part of!

  2. "Amazing Company! Higher Management Shortsighted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Canyon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible company to work for, and I am so proud to have worked for GCU. The benefits are amazing (free-discounted degrees), and the travel opportunities are immense. Company culture is incredible and the group of employees you work with become your friends for years to come.

    Cons

    Unfortunately all good things must come to an end at some point. I worked on the traditional ground campus, and with the changes in higher management, this did not benefit the employees. Strong employees left because they were being measured against "numbers" without actually valuing the employee. Extremely short sighted.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are more than numbers. Stop playing with people's livelihoods. Trust and show them respect.

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-20
  3. "Great opportunity to support others!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Supervisor in Cleveland, OH
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional development keeps up with current trends in your content.

    Cons

    I have no cons to add.

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-10
  4. "Good place to work. Terrible pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Adjucnt Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Faculty care about students. High quality programs. Efficient management that didn't micro manage.

    Cons

    Heavy work load. Very low pay. Teaching a 2 month course with 15-19 students pays about $1500.

    Advice to Management

    A christian institution should pay its adjuncts a fair wage - at least the national average. The online faculty many times have doctoral degrees with years of experience but make little more than minimum wage for the time they put in. It is SHAMEFUL. My home institution pays double what GCU does for the same size class. I'm not going to be slave labor any more. I love the students but I have to provide form my... family too!

    Show More
    Grand Canyon University2019-09-21
  5. "Not a bad student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creating a schedule, working around classes, and getting time off was incredibly easy. A handful of certain managers and supervisors really cared about the students working.

    Cons

    Middle aged online students are often times terrible to work with. Incredibly frustrating some days, you must have thick skin. I cried while on the job at least 2 or 3 times in one year due to how vicious some students can be.

    Advice to Management

    Good job.

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-03
  6. "Dynamic Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture, more time with patient, variety of experiences, flexibility, vested interests and values for higher education, tuition assistance...to name a few.

    Cons

    Low pay for market, many “extra” work duties in addition to clinic duties, “growing pains” of growing clinic,

    Grand Canyon University2019-08-31
  7. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Services Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good No commissions but work-from-home ability is easy to obtain Promotion opportunities are vast

    Cons

    Not a very Christian-based work environment

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-06
  8. "Terrible support from faculty development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Faculty development and the university put out a good amount of training. You can accept as many or as few courses to teach as you want.

    Cons

    When faculty development puts out mandatory training, there's almost always some issue or another. And, whenever you have an issue, and you email or call faculty development, it goes in a big black hole. Never ever received a response to the dozens of emails and calls made.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized about faculty. Don't make is so complicated if you're already faculty to add courses to the list you can teach. It should be automatic... if you have the background/required education, don't make it so hard to pick up other courses/colleges. Pay a fair wage. The wages, for the hours put in, and the expectations of the instructors is insulting.

    Grand Canyon University2019-08-21

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 28, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    Thank you for your review. If you have additional details, we would like to hear from you at Feedback@gcu.edu so we can share them with Faculty Development.

  9. "Great place of employment and good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mail Carrier 

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was great, I had an awesome experience

    Cons

    My job was low level

    Grand Canyon University2019-08-06

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 9, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    We are glad you had an awesome experience while working at GCU. Thank you for your review.

  10. "Office assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, fairly easy job

    Cons

    Bad communication, lots of downtime

    Grand Canyon University2019-07-26

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    GCU is glad your time as a student worker was a positive experience. Our Student Workers play a crucial role in the success of our University! Thank you for your review.

Found 687 reviews