Grand Canyon University Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Canyon University Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 685 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Grand Canyon University CEO Brian Mueller
Brian Mueller
418 Ratings
  1. "Great opportunity to support others!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Supervisor in Cleveland, OH
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional development keeps up with current trends in your content.

    Cons

    I have no cons to add.

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-10
  2. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Services Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good No commissions but work-from-home ability is easy to obtain Promotion opportunities are vast

    Cons

    Not a very Christian-based work environment

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-06
  3. "Not a bad student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creating a schedule, working around classes, and getting time off was incredibly easy. A handful of certain managers and supervisors really cared about the students working.

    Cons

    Middle aged online students are often times terrible to work with. Incredibly frustrating some days, you must have thick skin. I cried while on the job at least 2 or 3 times in one year due to how vicious some students can be.

    Advice to Management

    Good job.

    Grand Canyon University2019-09-03
  4. "Dynamic Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture, more time with patient, variety of experiences, flexibility, vested interests and values for higher education, tuition assistance...to name a few.

    Cons

    Low pay for market, many “extra” work duties in addition to clinic duties, “growing pains” of growing clinic,

    Grand Canyon University2019-08-31
  5. "Terrible support from faculty development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Faculty development and the university put out a good amount of training. You can accept as many or as few courses to teach as you want.

    Cons

    When faculty development puts out mandatory training, there's almost always some issue or another. And, whenever you have an issue, and you email or call faculty development, it goes in a big black hole. Never ever received a response to the dozens of emails and calls made.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized about faculty. Don't make is so complicated if you're already faculty to add courses to the list you can teach. It should be automatic... if you have the background/required education, don't make it so hard to pick up other courses/colleges. Pay a fair wage. The wages, for the hours put in, and the expectations of the instructors is insulting.

    Grand Canyon University2019-08-21

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 28, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    Thank you for your review. If you have additional details, we would like to hear from you at Feedback@gcu.edu so we can share them with Faculty Development.

  6. "Great place of employment and good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mail Carrier 

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was great, I had an awesome experience

    Cons

    My job was low level

    Grand Canyon University2019-08-06

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 9, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    We are glad you had an awesome experience while working at GCU. Thank you for your review.

  7. "Office assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, fairly easy job

    Cons

    Bad communication, lots of downtime

    Grand Canyon University2019-07-26

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    GCU is glad your time as a student worker was a positive experience. Our Student Workers play a crucial role in the success of our University! Thank you for your review.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, awful job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Counselor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The community of people that work here are amazing and they honestly keep me going here.

    Cons

    The job is the same thing everyday so it’s very repetitive. They pay so much because if they didn’t everyone would leave. When you first get hired they say you can move departments after 6 months but it is SO HARD to move from being a university Counselor. They also don’t tell you once you start in online counseling you can’t move to an on campus job ever. They are very sneaky in what they tell you and after all it... is a business. In the grand scheme of things all they care about is numbers.

    Show More
    Grand Canyon University2019-07-25

    Grand Canyon University Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    We are glad you enjoy the community of people that work at GCE. As with many organizations, goal attainment is an important part of measuring job performance. We understand that each department is different, and some may have more opportunities than others or alternative career tracks. ...

    Show More
  9. "Good starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Grand Canyon University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours for working student

    Cons

    Strict hours given for students

    Grand Canyon University2019-07-12

    Grand Canyon University Response

    July 19, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    Our Student Workers play a crucial role in the success of our University! GCU is committed to a student first policy. Student Workers can work up to 20 hours during the school year and 40 hours during the breaks.

  10. "Great organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Development Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Canyon University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great, the supplies and support is awesome!

    Cons

    You’re def going to work hard for the salary. The monthly goals are required.

    Grand Canyon University2019-07-10

    Grand Canyon University Response

    July 15, 2019Talent Acquisition Analyst

    As with many organizations, goal attainment is an important part of measuring job performance. GCE wants you to be successful in your role and we encourage you to work closely with your manager. Thank you for your review!

Found 685 reviews