Grand Prairie Independent Schools District Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Prairie Independent Schools District Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Dr David Barbosa
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, great kids, employee daycare center(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "I am putting in over 60 hours a week and I am cannot get everything done(in 3 reviews)

  • "Subs cannot be full time and there is no benefits(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Technologist in Grand Prairie, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very helpful and you are treated more like family than an employeee

    Cons

    Pay is not that great but it is a school district

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2019-03-27
  2. "Disappointing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Grand Prairie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s very rewarding to watch your students learn and grow to be successful individuals.

    Cons

    The pay is too low for the amount of work they make you do. Made the job very stressful.

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2019-04-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Okay job ; Bad career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Grand Prairie, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance Okay pay if you are looking for full-time teacher work Good teaching experience for resume

    Cons

    Pay is not livable so not very many "full-time" subs Some schools are absolutely mismanaged Some school secretaries will bait and switch the classroom you signed up for (claim you are subbing a English class, get placed in a math class all day).

    Advice to Management

    Consider bumping the pay enough to motivate subs to stick around. This district bleeds subs and it hurts the schools. Secretaries should not be able to change the job you signed up for, especially since we are considered contract workers.

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2019-03-25
  4. "Innovative place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always the most innovative, cutting edge research and best practices.

    Cons

    High pressure to stay on top

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2019-02-28
  5. "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Science Teacher 

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good compensation and good support

    Cons

    New insurance is expensive, who you know is a little too important

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2019-02-25
  6. "Solid Environment and well intended admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    networking, talented people, good environment

    Cons

    communication improvements, too much passed down to the teacher

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2019-02-11
  7. "Kids make it great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Cafeteria Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time

    Pros

    Was home when my kids got home. Benefits, I enjoyed working with the kids of all grades

    Cons

    My manager took credit for things I did for her and then wrote me up for taking to long to finish my work cause I would help her with hers by translating her emails she received/sent.

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2018-12-19
  8. "Eh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers make it manageable.

    Cons

    The district relies heavily on data and focuses instruction based on test scores rather than students. Testing. Testing. Testing.

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2018-11-26
  9. "No Real Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and dependable hours

    Cons

    No support for teachers--only for SpEd students.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that teachers need support too in order for students to be successful

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2018-10-02
  10. "GPISD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Prairie Independent Schools District full-time

    Pros

    Every school truly practice: Achieve and Grow

    Cons

    Hard to advance if a teacher

    Grand Prairie Independent Schools District2018-06-15
Found 57 reviews