Grand Rapids Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Rapids Community College Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Grand Rapids Community College CEO Bill Pink
Bill Pink
4 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    location can not be changed

    Grand Rapids Community College2019-05-14
  2. "Phenomenal Benefits - job requirements likely to shift over time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Phenomenal benefits - great vacation/sick/insurance Education perks - free GRCC classes and/or reimbursement for continuing education They really, truly care about the students

    Cons

    Job requirements decently likely to change over time, and it may catch you off guard

    Grand Rapids Community College2019-05-16
  3. "Great environment, good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Circulation Assistant in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, flexible hours.

    Cons

    26 hour cap on hours, must be a student to work here, strong preference for work-study students.

    Grand Rapids Community College2019-03-31
  4. "Great culture at GRCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with!

    Cons

    There aren't enough opportunities for growth. Good luck moving from contingency to a full-time position.

    Grand Rapids Community College2019-03-12
  5. "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College full-time

    Pros

    Provides a quality learning environment for the most part.

    Cons

    Leadership lacks integrity and skirts ethical boundaries, in my opinion. The climate is one where dishonesty and manipulation is encouraged and tolerated. Not a good work environment at all.

    Advice to Management

    The ruthless and dishonest management practices of second in command across several administrative departments are harming the integrity of the institution, in my opinion. This is not going unnoticed by quality applicants.

    Grand Rapids Community College2018-10-19
  6. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Tutor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and support of tutoring staff. Satisfying work helping students. Pay is pretty decent for a part-time tutoring job. Parking benefit is awesome and tutors get free membership to health club.

    Cons

    Not a long term option because only supervisors become full-time staff, so no health benefits.

    Grand Rapids Community College2018-07-31
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time

    Pros

    Strong support from supervisors; diverse population

    Cons

    n/a

    Grand Rapids Community College2018-01-25
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    its a great work place but too much job for small pay

    Cons

    salary is too little for the amount of job

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-12-11
  9. "Math teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I found people there to be very friendly

    Cons

    I do not have any comments

    Advice to Management

    I have no comments

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-09-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "IT Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Customer Support Desk Assistant in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GRCC is a great college to work for gives good exposure to many different departments including infrastructure, security, support desk, academic applications, desktop support, etc. The department offers a lot of flexibility and is just really professional.

    Cons

    The pay is a little low and because enrollment is down there is a shortage in staff

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, you really create an amazing higher education environment

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-09-04
Found 31 reviews