Grand Rapids Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Rapids Community College Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Grand Rapids Community College CEO Bill Pink
Bill Pink
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "IT Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Customer Support Desk Assistant in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GRCC is a great college to work for gives good exposure to many different departments including infrastructure, security, support desk, academic applications, desktop support, etc. The department offers a lot of flexibility and is just really professional.

    Cons

    The pay is a little low and because enrollment is down there is a shortage in staff

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, you really create an amazing higher education environment

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-09-04
  2. "Great place to work study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College part-time

    Pros

    able to study while working. flexible hours with class schedule.

    Cons

    pay. could be really boring during summer semester.

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-07-31
  3. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    None it was a good place

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-04-06
  4. "Great opportunity if you're okay with Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Customer Support Technician in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interaction and helping 1st generation college students succeed, good health benefits, decent staff development (minus anything above average user technology training),

    Cons

    Horrible management, lack of realistic vision, dental & vision coverage is payed up front by you then reimbursed, varies HIPPA & FERPA violations.

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-02-24
  5. "Unorganized Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Grand Rapids, MI
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and decently hourly wage

    Cons

    Unorganized and not ready to begin start up of program hired to instruct; Will not hire over 28 hours in effort to not offer health care benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Have facility ready prior to hiring staff to instruct a course

    Grand Rapids Community College2017-01-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Adjuncts not treated well; some students are great, some struggle with college demands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility; you only have to teach classes you want to teach. Some of the students will really inspire you as they surmount personal and educational challenges many of us did not need to face in our own lives.

    Cons

    Adjuncts not paid well, administrative-heavy, many department heads good at counting beans and writing emails but not so good at vision/inspiration. Often feel as if the students are the customers and we have to give them what they want, even if it's not what they need. Standing up for educational integrity and/or having high expectations often met with derision and sanctioning. Have proposed new courses of study only...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the role and importance adjuncts play in keeping your organization running and treat them with more professionalism and respect.

    Grand Rapids Community College2016-12-14
  7. "Custodian II level 9"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Custodian in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and retire.

    Cons

    Family lives In Georgia, I'm ready to be closer to my family. Finish my next 30 years of working with my family In Georgia.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Grand Rapids Community College2016-10-28
  8. "Student Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Dorr, MI

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and great work environment.

    Cons

    Frequent miscommunication between different departments

    Grand Rapids Community College2016-06-09
  9. "Adjunct Professor of Architecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adj Professor in Grand Rapids, MI

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay for quality work. Has good advancement possibilities and one of the highest pay schedules for full time faculty.

    Cons

    Not many benefits for adjunct faculty.

    Grand Rapids Community College2016-05-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Things Fall Apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educational Support Professional in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a family like atmosphere in some departments. Many people work cross-department to get things accomplished

    Cons

    Things have been slowly falling apart under the new president. Morale is falling, and everyone is out to watch their own back.

    Advice to Management

    Develop ad system for Work/Life Balance to allow flexible schedules and/or telecommuting opportunities.

    Grand Rapids Community College2016-03-16
Found 32 reviews