Grand Rapids Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Rapids Community College Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Grand Rapids Community College CEO Bill Pink
Bill Pink
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable and meaningful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mostly everyone is focused on our mission to help students succeed We make a difference in people's lives Collaboration, cooperation and pride among staff Great benefits and fringes including refreshing and relevant professional development

    Cons

    Though there is much room for elevation and improvement, and many jobs promote current employees, there is no real clear path of advancement.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rapids Community College2016-01-05
  2. "INSTITUTION OF EXCELLENCE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    College Professor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent organization to work for. Working teams that consider the input of all employees. Professional work atmosphere and competitive work package.

    Cons

    Continue working with the communication aspects with current employees and the community at large.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rapids Community College2015-11-14
  3. "Enrollment Center Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, willing to work around your schedule.

    Cons

    Customers can be difficult to deal with at times.

    Grand Rapids Community College2015-10-30
  4. "Loved working as a student worker."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student Assistant in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College

    Pros

    Friendly full time staff. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Low pay but relatively seems correct.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rapids Community College2015-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Desk in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health Benefits are ok. Professional development and educational classes paid are covered.

    Cons

    Constantly understaffed. Positions cut and never replaced but the work still needs to be done.

    Grand Rapids Community College2014-07-29
  6. "Mathematics Tutoring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mathematics Tutor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked as a tutor in the Mathematics Tutoring Lab and loved every second of it. The staff is encouraging, the students are grateful for your time and effort, and the supervisors are always willing to help you improve and very accomodating.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind! Being a student worker was beneficial in that I could work around my class schedule. Also, if I ever needed time off, my supervisor helped me to find a replacement so that I could take off the necessary time.

    Grand Rapids Community College2014-02-25
  7. "Semester Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible hours Learn as you review material with tutees Nice management Training provided

    Cons

    Sometimes the subject you tutor has no demand

    Continue reading
    Grand Rapids Community College2013-06-17
  8. "I am a professional tutor at Grand Rapids Community College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Grand Rapids Community College provides on-site training to it's students in their specific fields of interest.

    Cons

    Grand Rapids Community College provides it's student employees with only minimum wage earnings.

    Grand Rapids Community College2013-03-26
  9. "Solid place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits Good working environment The department I worked for was very flexible

    Cons

    Faculty paid much better than rest of the college

    Grand Rapids Community College2012-12-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Its an OK place to work. Its headed downhill with salary and benefits. The people are mostly nice though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Grand Rapids Community College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Time off, relaxed work environment (sometimes)

    Cons

    Politics, HR department is the worst I have ever seen, bargaining units are favored, employees are not communicated with or just lied to

    Continue reading
    Grand Rapids Community College2012-08-15
Found 32 reviews