Grand Rounds "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Grand Rounds Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Grand Rounds CEO Owen Tripp
Owen Tripp
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "Grand Rounds actually walks the talk(in 47 reviews)

  • "Mission-driven and extremely respectful of work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is still a growing company so there are definitely growing pains as the company is continuously evolving so you need to be cool with change(in 15 reviews)

  • "I seriously don't have any cons, at least at this point with Grand Rounds(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing culture and place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, that treats employees as human beings. There is a great work life balance, and plenty of room to grow. It's an excellent company to bring ideas for change, and feel like they are truly heard. The mission of the company resonates with everyone, and you get to work with passionate people every day.

    Cons

    Growing pains, of course.

    Grand Rounds2019-09-19

    Grand Rounds Response

    November 7, 2019Sr. Dir. Employee Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're so glad you are enjoying the mission-driven culture of learning and impact at Grand Rounds. We're glad you feel everyone's voices are welcomed and heard. We believe that our success relies upon each of us sharing our ideas so we can collectively work towards healthcare that can optimally serve us all.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "LOVE Grand Rounds!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator Lead in Lewiston, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing growth opportunities, outstanding culture. Rewarding work that makes an impact.

    Cons

    Rapid changes, startup company- constantly evolving and can experience growing pains

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2019-05-29

    Grand Rounds Response

    June 24, 2019Sr. Dr. Employee Experience

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us—we’re happy to have you at Grand Rounds! Thank you for the suggestion about leadership development. We recently hired a great leader to run the company’s learning and development initiatives so please stay tuned for big improvements in this area. And regarding even more internal communications, YES to that as well. Especially as we continue to grow and scale, we are constantly looking for new ways to communicate what’s going on within the organization beyond our current Monthly Company Meetings, Monthly Leaders Forums, Slack Updates, Intranet or Company-wide Emails. If you have specific ideas or suggestions, I'd love to hear them!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time

    Pros

    So proud to work for a company who really cares in filling a needed gap for patients in healthcare - knowing they are at the best physician, at the highest quality, exactly for what they need. Whether it's a diabetic patient who needs a different kind of PCP or it's a patient with many undiagnosed symptoms and having trouble finding a Dr to help them, Grand Rounds will get you there! Our clients are really seeing a difference in "real" help to their employees/families.

    Cons

    We are growing so fast...doubled in the size in the last few years and will most likely double again in the next few years. With that comes growing pains, a need for process improvements, operational improvements etc. At least its for the right reason...!

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2018-10-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall I give Grand Rounds two thumbs up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in Lewiston, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a great place to be if your looking to grow and have a lot of opportunities. The culture is outstanding and the leadership overall is very strong.

    Cons

    It is still a growing company so there are definitely growing pains as the company is continuously evolving so you need to be cool with change

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Inspiring place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Practitioner in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love how fast Grand Rounds is growing, and how committed our colleagues are to improving healthcare. Every month we review an impactful patient story, which reminds us of why we work so hard each day. I love my job!

    Cons

    As expected with rapidly growing start-ups attempting to scale, there are expected growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2018-03-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible patient impact, incredible growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We really make a difference in peoples' lives. This company saves lives and improves healthcare for millions of people. We're growing rapidly with blue-chip clients and that creates a lot of internal and external opportunity

    Cons

    Fast growth means growing pains, just like anywhere else. We have our share.

    Grand Rounds2018-03-06
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Look past the facade for HQ roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grand Rounds

    Pros

    The pros are covered by other reviews. In general there are employees who are happy at GR SF HQ, but also a good number who are unhappy, have left, are sticking it out for the benefits, or see their job as "a job," so look past the company's fantastic PR, Glassdoor and recruitment efforts. Look past the smoke & mirrors. Ask hard questions, and be aware of the turnover and negative reviews here in determining if it's right for you. There's a reason this company is no longer a Glassdoor top company to work for.

    Cons

    The cons shared in other reviews are true and worth expanding on. -"Politics ruined our company": It's easy to get swayed by the charismatic company meetings and startup kool-aid, but beneath the surface and especially at the leadership level tactics like spying, bating, mind games, manipulation, CYA, intimidation, putting people against each other, and fear are used for political motives, ultimately creating a company wide culture that focuses on politics instead of good work. It's unfortunate and unnecessary. -"Cliques": As also mentioned in other reviews, GR is not a meritocracy. Being part of the inner circle cliques is much more important than qualifications. Politics, relationships and keeping people in leadership roles they'd never get elsewhere because of their friendships with the right people trumps quality work output, respect for professions and retention. Some call it "growing pains," but it's more reflective of poor decision making from management that will happen regardless of the stage the company is at. -"Leadership is focused on building a successful, venture-backed business, not on growing employees": Learning and advancement is mainly done on your own through doing work. Strong professionals, leaders, and managers at the top who educate, lead, inspire, motivate, pass along their expertise, and have both the hard and soft skills to be in those positions are lacking.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2017-01-09
  8. "I Love Coming to Work Every Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The teams I work with are super collaborative and want each other to do well. We always put patients first.

    Cons

    We are a startup and definitely have growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2016-10-26
  9. "Has its quirks. Mostly of the best sort."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grand Rounds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission with an especially great team pursuing it. CEO/senior execs truly care about and understand the importance of employee engagement. Team members are encouraged to think big and to speak up (in an industry where this is frequently NOT the norm). Reno patient center has infused refreshing humility and energy into our ethos, and I expect more of the same from our recently opened Lewiston site.

    Cons

    All of the growing pains you'd expect of a relatively young firm that just passed the 300 employees mark. Some decisions are made hastily, whereas others are belabored indefinitely. Performance management systems are still in their infancy, and even once they're well established, Grand Rounds probably still won't be a sure bet for workers seeking a highly prescribed career path.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2016-10-24
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grand Rounds for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, loved the team I got to work with. Work was interesting and challenging. Also, as an intern, they don't have intern side projects, they treat you like a full-time and you become part of the team. Company has an ambitious and inspiring mission, and really wants to make a difference in the world.

    Cons

    It's a fast-growing startup, and it definitely has some growing pains as they figure out how management and corporate structure is going to work.

    Continue reading
    Grand Rounds2016-09-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews