Grange Hotels Reviews | Glassdoor

Grange Hotels Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Grange Hotels CEO Tony Matharu
Tony Matharu
2 Ratings
  1. "Hard work but fast growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Events Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grange Hotels full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn and grow very fast. Good environment but it all depends on the hotel and management.

    Cons

    No great benefits, no sick pay, long hours, short breaks, extra work is rewarded in paid leave instead of being paid extra.

    Grange Hotels2019-04-01
  2. "Less professional than i expected as a well known company around London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Grange Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Meals during shift Helpful staff Good experience for the future

    Cons

    Poor salary No chance to grow or go further Not at all well organised company

    Advice to Management

    You need to make serious changes. Otherwise you will lose staff. Which are important to you for running the hotel well.

    Grange Hotels2019-02-09
  3. "Good to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Grange Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to make new experience

    Cons

    No growth Bad management No benefits

    Grange Hotels2019-01-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "All the good reviews are from management. Everyone else hates the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues and lower level managers are really nice. Always hiring, no questions asked. They are really desperate. They are so understaffed, they can't afford to fire you. I suppose that counts as job security. Experience at a """""5 star""""" hotel might look nice on your CV. Teaches you how important it is to join a union.

    Cons

    Almost all non management staff get paid near the minimum wage but thats the closest thing to equality you're going to find in this place. High workload in most departments because they're understaffed. I've seen others do regular unpaid overtime. Staff facilities are disgusting, but then again, so are most of the rooms. Poor training across all departments. Most managers are of a certain ethnicity, its unlikely...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you pay close to the minimum wage then expect minimum effort from your staff. Your staff work for you and create lots of profit for you. Show respect and appreciation. Stop exploiting vulnerable migrant workers. You're the type of people who would have owned slaves if you were around a few centuries ago. How does it feel knowing that you're all terrible people? How do you lot sleep at night? Even melatonin surely...

    Show More
    Grange Hotels2018-11-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Hotels full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Aside from your colleagues, literally none. This is the absolute worst company I've ever worked for - I can't stress enough to PLEASE for your own sake seek employment elsewhere. Would give -5 stars if I could.

    Cons

    Where to start... Employees heavily undervalued on every level, illegal activities by particular directors, shady politics, corruption in HR, no pay rise or even a review in years, victimisation of staff who dare to speak out against the company's wrongdoings... Need I go on?

    Advice to Management

    Just give your poor staff redundancy and move on. Nobody needs to be put through this circus.

    Grange Hotels2018-10-15
  6. "complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Grange Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn quickly how to use Pms, how to learn about banking and ledgers.

    Cons

    low salary , too many complains, hotel doesn t match with the aspectations of their clients

    Advice to Management

    should care more of their staff

    Grange Hotels2018-08-26
  7. "Event executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Grange Hotels full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment with helpful colleagues

    Cons

    Compulsary wear of the uniform and unpredicted overtime hours

    Grange Hotels2018-05-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "false promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Grange Hotels full-time

    Pros

    good place to get experince

    Cons

    even after years of loyalty and hard work they not rewarding you

    Grange Hotels2018-05-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grange Hotels full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning opportunities (mostly self learning of the practical side of the business)

    Cons

    Operational issues are not addressed / no best practice methods in place

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to be professional and think of implementing best practice initiatives within your organisation

    Grange Hotels2018-02-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "If you're desperate for a job. Quick recruit and hiring process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Hotels

    Pros

    Decent training. Great for a first job and experience in hospitality. Meals provided. Nice and convenient locations around London

    Cons

    Inexperienced line managers. Comdescendimg. They don't lead, they micro manage on the simplest taks and intimidate. General attitude towards guests is rude.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in soft skills and diversity training. Also general managers could be be a little more professional and officially introduce themselves to new starters.

    Grange Hotels2018-01-23
Found 45 reviews