Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews | Glassdoor

Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews

Updated November 29, 2018
135 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Ammendola
59 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits, work/life balance, innovation events, community service opportunities, CEO transparent and invites associate engagement" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Great people, location, culture, and free parking" (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life Balance began to erode" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Turn over is excessive due to the hostile environment the new CIO with support from the COO built" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Best Place to Work Ever!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Laptop ready and loaded the day I arrived; Company events; Free downtown parking; Cafeteria; Coffee Shop; Volunteer benefits; good vacation policy; summer hours can give you every other Friday off!

    Cons

    Nothing. Even the commute to downtown is just 30 minutes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! Appreciated CEO talking informally at our new hire session for 30 minutes! Very engaged staff. Great place to work!

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Oct 12, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re happy to hear you've enjoyed your time with us so far and that you think Grange is a great place to work.


  2. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, on-site gym, on-site dining, garage parking provided by the employer, flexible

    Cons

    Typical corporate environment, opportunities for advancement if you're in the correct department/friends with the correct people, etc

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will share it with the appropriate people. We wish you all the best and thank you for your time with us!

  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Loved the time off and salary

    Cons

    Management was not easy to deal with.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    We’re sorry you felt this way during your time at Grange. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.


  4. "First Party Casualty Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Company is very accepting of new ideas and ways to do business.

    Cons

    Not many cons, satellite employees have few opportunities for advancement.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 1, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Grange and we'll make sure to share your feedback with the appropriate people.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Commercial Lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Lines Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Commercial Lines Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Casual dress code. Can wear jeans everyday

    Cons

    Poor training. New systems for work is horrible and was rolled out with too many issues. If applying ask about turn over before accepting

    Advice to Management

    None they don't want to hear it

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    We’re sorry to hear of your frustration while you were at Grange. Making sure our employees have the training they need to be successful is very important to us, so we’re reviewing your feedback now... More


  6. "Absolutely no training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Co workers are great but over worked.

    Cons

    No training, Sit you at a desk and tell you to call co workers who are swamped if you have any questions. Bad Company

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 14, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt this way during your time at Grange. Knowing that our associates have the proper training and tools available to them to be successful... More


  7. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines
    Current Employee - Personal Lines
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work/life balance is great. People are generally very friendly and easy to work with. Management and senior leadership are approachable and value input. Facilities are great - a coffee loft, new innovation center, cafeteria, gym with showers, etc.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Oct 3, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to review Grange! We're so glad to hear how much you have enjoyed your experience so far.

  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The smaller size of Grange compared to other P&C insurance companies in the area gives you the ability to take on more responsibility and have learning opportunities you won't find elsewhere. You will get to know senior leadership (CFO, CEO) on a first name basis.

    Cons

    Access to technology is lacking, and it is not as flexible with telecommuting as you would think a data focused job would be. Change happens slowly, which can be good or bad.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad you've had a great experience at Grange. We'll make sure to share your feedback with the appropriate people.


  9. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Claims in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Grange PTO is one of the best I have every had.

    Cons

    Garage is not heated.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Oct 9, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback! We will share it with the appropriate people.


  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Been with Grange for 3yrs and have experience with working at much larger companies and I can truly say Grange is a work place that I enjoy in terms of what I do and also in terms of culture of support from leaders. There has been challenges in terms of change as Grange is trying to keep date with Technology. But without this technology changes we will not survive the environmental changes. Recently we had the start up weekend which was a huge success and Google had to say this, Grange event was one of the best well organized that they sponsored

    Cons

    Not that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Leaders are doing the right thing by listening and adjusting to associates feedback. The difference is you are taking actions and not just words and please continue that

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate your perspective and are glad to hear of your positive experiences at Grange.