Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews | Glassdoor

Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews

Updated August 6, 2018
117 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Ammendola
46 Ratings

117 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits, work/life balance, innovation events, community service opportunities, CEO transparent and invites associate engagement" (in 18 reviews)

  • "Great people, location, culture, and free parking" (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life Balance began to erode" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Turn over is excessive due to the hostile environment the new CIO with support from the COO built" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims
    Current Employee - Claims
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance
    Ability to advance
    Culture

    Cons

    We are a smaller company


  2. "Strong ,Stable Company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Amd in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Amd in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Very good company to work for. There were some recent changes in strategy and staffing that has caused some stir, but the company took steps to take care of the employees the best that they could.
    Grange is taking steps to grow the company and diversify their portfolio. These steps only make the company even more stable.

    Cons

    Remote employees can feel disconnected from time to time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on your remote employees to provide them with the same employment benefits that are provided to Home Office employees.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Please don’t hesitate to speak with your manager or HR Business Partner if you need anything or have any recommendations for improvements.

  3. "Commercial Litigation Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Litigation Counsel in Dublin, OH
    Current Employee - Senior Litigation Counsel in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Financially solid company investing in its future

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for advancement beyond current position

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jun 25, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your more than 10 years of contributions at Grange! Career mobility is a priority for us. We want our associates to be able to identify their career goals... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "In the end... a sad and disappointing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Ahead of the curve in terms of technology, Woefully out of touch when it comes to understanding employees and how to treat them like human beings.

    Cons

    A great company that used to care about their employees and encourage their success... morphed into a snake pit.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your people. Your employees - NOT management - are the ones who make your company successful.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    We are sorry to hear this. We will review your feedback with the appropriate people.


  5. "Product Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Loved Grange, it was one of the best places to work.

    Cons

    The drive to work was sometimes difficult.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed working with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.


  6. "Claims adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great coworkers

    Cons

    Salary wasn’t competitive with other companies in area

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback! We will share it with the appropriate people.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Heading down the wrong path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - PL Underwriter
    Current Employee - PL Underwriter
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great location, clean gym, cafeteria

    Cons

    Morale, culture, pay, no career opportunities unless you align yourself with the right cliques

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn’t even know where to start.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    May 18, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate people. If you have any immediate needs that we can help you with, please speak with your manager or HR Business Partner.

  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, work/life balance, innovation events, community service opportunities, CEO transparent and invites associate engagement

    Cons

    In some area, career paths seem vague.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    May 4, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback and for your more than 10 years of contributions at Grange! Career mobility is a priority to our leaders and we want associates to develop the knowledge, skills and... More


  9. "Policy Support Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fair work project, with a great culture. Management is always understanding and helpful.

    Cons

    Some delays can exist due to other teams. Projects get reduce din scope.

    Advice to Management

    No advice needed, was very fair experience there.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    May 1, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with Grange, and we will share your feedback with the appropriate people.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The location, the gym, the people, the culture

    Cons

    If you live in the suburbs, the location

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course


Showing 117 of 127 reviews
Reset Filters