Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews | Glassdoor

Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews

Updated February 4, 2019
141 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Ammendola
64 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits, work/life balance, innovation events, community service opportunities, CEO transparent and invites associate engagement" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Great people, location, culture, and free parking" (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life Balance began to erode" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Turn over is excessive due to the hostile environment the new CIO with support from the COO built" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Work-Life Balance A+"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Operations Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, upbeat culture, friendly coworkers, wellness programs, diverse

    Cons

    Constant reorg, layoffs, restructuring, job elimination and sent off shore, uncertainty, no job security

    Advice to Management

    Keep on with whats working and stop laying off and sending jobs overseas. You have a great culture and morale. Don’t blow it.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jan 8, 2019 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We will make sure to share it with the appropriate people. We wish you the best in your future.


  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Grange Insurance is a company on the rise with great leadership. They really care about the employees and advancement is available if you want to work for it.

    Cons

    The benefits are not the best.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Feb 5, 2019 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for your many years of service! We'll make sure to share this with the appropriate people at Grange.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "A place trying to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter
    Former Employee - Underwriter
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Grange is trying to change its perception in the p&c market as a personal lines carrier. The company seeks to be 50/50 pl-cl by 2025 and that is no secret. Credible leadership with John Ammendola and Mike Winner. Beautiful home office in downtown Cbus.

    Cons

    On the cl side, it’s still a company in aa or aaa. Needs to take next step. Responsiveness lags in underwriting and often requested dates missed. Writing a lot of the same appetite as core competitors makes it tough to grow aggressively. Some of the uw staff is lazy and completely clocks off at 4pm. Don’t understand the chief of sales being a self described “introvert and non people person”.

    Advice to Management

    Sacrifices need to be made to grow as aggressively as you want to grow. Would hire more uw leadership. Consultative process is hit or miss as we send too much into it.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for providing feedback about your experiences at Grange! We'll make sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate people. We wish you the best.


  4. "UW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    None that I had encountered

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jan 7, 2019 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your time here at Grange. We wish you the best in the future!


  5. "Territory Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and access to leadership.

    Cons

    Constant leadership and direction changes.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Dec 21, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We'll make sure to share it with the appropriate people. We wish you the best in your future endeavors!


  6. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, on-site gym, on-site dining, garage parking provided by the employer, flexible

    Cons

    Typical corporate environment, opportunities for advancement if you're in the correct department/friends with the correct people, etc

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will share it with the appropriate people. We wish you all the best and thank you for your time with us!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "This company does not value their employees and the respect different diversity brings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The bond and support other employees provide on their selective teams/areas

    Cons

    Lack of communication, promotion of employees of color within company is very challenging. Respect/Consideration of employees opinions to offer ways of improving is ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership should really listen to their veteran employees instead of disregarding them, I believe there is value in feedback being provided.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Jan 3, 2019 – Human Resources Assistant

    We’re sorry to hear you felt this way during your time here at Grange. We are an equal opportunity employer, and endeavor to select the best-qualified individuals based on job-related qualifications... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Loved the time off and salary

    Cons

    Management was not easy to deal with.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    We’re sorry you felt this way during your time at Grange. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your future endeavors.


  9. "First Party Casualty Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time

    Pros

    Company is very accepting of new ideas and ways to do business.

    Cons

    Not many cons, satellite employees have few opportunities for advancement.

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 1, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Grange and we'll make sure to share your feedback with the appropriate people.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Commercial Lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Lines Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Commercial Lines Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grange Insurance (Columbus) full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Casual dress code. Can wear jeans everyday

    Cons

    Poor training. New systems for work is horrible and was rolled out with too many issues. If applying ask about turn over before accepting

    Advice to Management

    None they don't want to hear it

    Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

    Nov 30, 2018 – Human Resources Assistant

    We’re sorry to hear of your frustration while you were at Grange. Making sure our employees have the training they need to be successful is very important to us, so we’re reviewing your feedback now... More