KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Grange Insurance (Columbus)

Engaged Employer

Grange Insurance (Columbus)

Add a Review

Grange Insurance (Columbus) Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 228 of over 245 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Grange Insurance (Columbus) President & CEO John Ammendola (no image)
John Ammendola
129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is very good, however with major transformation underway the pace is much quicker(in 25 reviews)

  • "Free parking & workout facility on site(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-Life Balance began to erode(in 5 reviews)

  • "Turn over is excessive due to the hostile environment the new CIO with support from the COO built(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Grange Insurance (Columbus) and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Excellent Company

      Jul 2, 2021 - Supervisor in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent company, engaging, inclusive, caring and willing to embrace change for the betterment of it's customers, agency staff, employees and the community.

      Cons

      There really are no cons. The view mistakes as an opportunity to learn, they embrace learning and are not punitive, unless it is really warranted. The promote learning, growth and development and candor. Do things happen that are painful and unpleasant and are mistakes made - sure. But that is everywhere - it is a part of change, doing business and growth. The way the manage it is the game changer - they really care.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      We appreciate your feedback and we’re very glad to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Grange! We will share this with the appropriate people.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      GREAT WORK LIFE BALANCE

      Oct 12, 2021 - Field Claims Support Representative in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture Good work life balance Opportunities for growth Mentorship program

      Cons

      Can be disorganized at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      We’re very glad to hear you’re enjoying your time with Grange! Thank you for sharing your feedback and we will make sure to share it with the appropriate people.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture

      Nov 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and everyone does seem to care.

      Cons

      Always seems like management is penny pinching

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      We appreciate you sharing about your experience at Grange and will share this with the appropriate people.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I’d think long and hard before joining this group

      Dec 3, 2021 - Territory Sales Manager (TSM) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Descent pay, ample free time

      Cons

      Damaging management, dismal leadership, absent leadership, zero collaboration, constant changes in personnel, clueless goal setting, tone deaf to what’s really going on, not a team atmosphere, utter confusion.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion - Great Place to work and Thrive

      Oct 11, 2021 - Commercial Lines Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve chosen to make a career at Grange because there continues to be opportunity for engagement, growth, development. I value the work that I do and feel my diverse contributions I bring are adding value to our organization, our customers, and our community. On National Coming Out Day – I’m glad to be a member of the Grange Team and look forward to a bigger and bolder future. If you’re a member of the LGBTQ community and have a talented spirit, I highly encourage you to look into Grange and BE OUT with us!

      Cons

      We are fairly young in our D&I journey. In our current post pandemic work enviroment, we must learn new ways to connect, engage, and celebrate the diversity within our teams.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experiences, especially as they relate to our D&I initiatives at Grange! We are happy to hear you feel valued and supported, especially as a long-time Grange associate. We will share this feedback with the appropriate people.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall good company

      Oct 25, 2021 - Commercial Lines Underwriter in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible with work from home vs hybrid from a time management and scheduling standpoint. Management seems to listen to concerns but will depend on department. Leadership takes ownership when there are issues and works to fix them.

      Cons

      No stipend to buy items for your home office since associates have been forced to work from home. Health insurance plan has a really high deductible, but that could be most places these days.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experiences with Grange! We’ll make sure to share this feedback with the appropriate people. If you have technology needs for your home office, please speak with your manager. Additionally, Grange partners with a variety of vendors to offer discounts to associates that will help you work more comfortably and efficiently from home. Learn more on the Loop or HR Connect.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company!

      Oct 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership communicates very well. Very talented associates and forward thinking especially for size of the company. Makes the necessary difficult decisions but treats associates very fair.

      Cons

      Really cares about associates but can continue to be more creative in associate development and benefit offerings. Confident management will.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experiences at Grange and for being a long-time associate. We’re glad to hear that you’re enjoying your time here! We will make sure to share this feedback with the appropriate people.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 1, 2021 - Senior Business Analyst in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family oriented with work from home options

      Cons

      Compensation levels just below mid point

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your time with Grange! Please note that each position is regularly reviewed and assigned a salary grade based on the duties, responsibilities and qualifications required as compared to current, position-specific market data. Individual salary levels within the assigned salary grade are based on many factors, including experience and performance levels. If you have questions about this process, please contact your HR Business Partner.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Company Review

      Sep 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to network, innovative, never a dull moment.

      Cons

      Not much room for mid-level career progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      We’re very glad to hear you’re enjoying your time at Grange. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with the appropriate people.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company who cares for their employees

      Sep 13, 2021 - Legal Secretary in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grange listens to their employees and actually car what they have to say. They maintained great contact and flexibility during the ongoing pandemic.

      Cons

      Health insurance options are not great

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Grange Insurance (Columbus) Response

      Human Resources Assistant

      Thank you for sharing! We’re glad to hear you’ve felt supported during your time at Grange, especially during the pandemic. We’ll share your feedback with the appropriate people.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 228 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grange Insurance (Columbus) Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grange Insurance (Columbus)? Share Your Experiences

    or