Granite Reviews | Glassdoor

Granite Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Granite CEO Mike Adams (no image)
Mike Adams
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Millwright supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Millwright Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    They took care of the employees the salary was good stayed working I was a retainer for them

    Cons

    They really didn't have any

    Advice to Management

    The management was helpful when I was in need of them

    Granite2016-12-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and fun, but third class citizen compared to GE proper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Advisor in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of time off, travel and perdiem is a bonus, awesome technical education opportunities, on the job training. Six month prep school

    Cons

    Have to hook up with a core team otherwise you will be frustrated by people who may not have the same work ethic

    Advice to Management

    Make salaries transparent! Otherwise employees distrust you!

    Granite2016-12-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to build a resume and get a lot of good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    A flexible work environment with a good balance for work / life. Good quality people who care about what they do and have integrity.

    Cons

    Long hours and high expectations. You exceed or be left behind.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize employees efforts who go above and beyond. I have contributed far more than expected and was never recognized for my contributions.

    Granite2016-12-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "VERY disappointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Turbine Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent Salary/Benefits. Laptop and PPE provided by company. Enjoyed working with fellow Techs.

    Cons

    I was promised to be making between $50K-$60K a year. I would be lucky if I make $20K. I was told that I would be gone working several weeks to several months at a time. Instead I've only been sent out on a few jobs (MAYBE 3) that lasted about a week or two. Went through a few weeks of training here and there, but haven't had enough work to gain any OJT. Been with the company almost a year and feel I have not... accomplished anything. Sudden lack of communication from manager. Have not worked in months. I'm supposed to be a FULL-time employee but have not worked since May. Travel/Lodging/Car rental arrangements are the individual's responsibility. The required/necessary tools to get the job done not always provided at job site.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Tell your managers to do a better job of keeping CONSTANT communcation with their techs. If there isn't enough work for everyone, please inform your people so that they can either find second/temporary jobs for the meantime, or seek full-time employment elsewhere.

    Granite2016-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ehs specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    EHS Specialist in Africa, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite

    Pros

    International company have many locations in the world

    Cons

    No thing for the moment

    Granite2016-08-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wind Turbine Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Wind Turbine Technician in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granite for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best pay in the industry, employer provided tools and training, management is usually pretty quick to fix issues, good safety culture

    Cons

    1st quarter of the year is usually pretty slow so you spend a lot of time at home waiting for work. Work sites are usually pretty remote so if you need a big city to feel comfortable, it might not be for you.

    Granite2016-08-16
  8. "Wouldn't work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite full-time

    Pros

    They pay well. That is about it, I found it a hostile place to work. Wouldn't work there again for any amount of pay.

    Cons

    Horrible place to work, people are unfriendly, they give no training or support. Expect your life to be all granite, don't care about their employees. Very unethical place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management. Hold management responsible and stop blaming everything on the staff. Get rid of toxic people in the office.

    Granite2016-09-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "EHS GFO Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    EHS GFO Manager in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    Great benefits, in my opinion for the EHS GFO Manager, Great position. I miss the job. Granite is a good company to work for. Yes there are multiple managers to answer to, but that's part of working for big multinational company.

    Cons

    Pay could be better. but who's couldn't. per Diem should be at least the same as U.S.rates. wish there were options for company vehicles on sites like some companies. another words, if employee wants to operate own vehicle, they get a vehicle per Diem to provide vehicle verses site truck.

    Advice to Management

    As far as EHS positions, More cross training. Wind/solar/steam/thermal/Nuclear. This way your EHS personnel are more valuable/versatile to the company and to more customers.

    Granite2016-06-03
  10. "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Olive Branch, MS

    I worked at Granite for more than a year

    Pros

    Received ability to run the operations the way I needed. Was able to work hours needed as long as the job was finished.

    Cons

    Subsidiary which meant it was a temporary position. Had multiple bosses.

    Granite2016-06-01
  11. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tampa, FL

    I worked at Granite for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great benefits, located downtown right off I-275

    Cons

    company sales have fallen significantly

    Granite2016-04-29
Found 142 reviews