Granite Reviews | Glassdoor

Granite Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Granite CEO Mike Adams (no image)
Mike Adams
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Commissioning/Installation TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time

    Pros

    Knowledge gained from Electrical and mechanical training about wind turbines can be applied to any field service employment. Best job to make quick money in a short period of time. Opportunity to work in all 50 states.

    Cons

    No job growth. No set job schedule. You must be ready to head out to jobsite within 24hrs notice. When no job is schedule, One can expect to be on at home for 2 weeks to 4 months.

    Granite2016-04-09
  2. "Good company, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Small company with a strong safety culture. Prides itself on its ability to execute.

    Cons

    Feeling the growing pains. Have to deal with GE's big brother attitude which could be very frustrating at times.

    Granite2016-04-15
  3. "Pretty good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwright in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Power awards,safety bonuses,overtime pay on weekends..no matter if you work 40 during the week.

    Cons

    Some employees are not very safety concious..Some jobs a short..quite a bit of traveling...

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your long time employees.

    Granite2016-03-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite full-time

    Pros

    Good environment and exposure to the industry. Ability to move up and learn new things. Provided the necessary training to be successful at your job.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of how long you will be on project and if they even have another opportunity available for you at a different project. Some departments understaffed and heavy workload.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people who fit with the environment and culture of company to maintain a strong and cohesive project team

    Granite2016-03-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "TDQ Resource Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Training, Development and Qualification Manager in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Granite for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements, helpful staff

    Cons

    Matrix organization, sometimes poor communication

    Granite2016-02-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Better than unemployment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Service Technician in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    It is a job. I got hired between jobs and learned some good things, the company is disorganized, the managers are over worked and have too many people to manage. You have to truely make sure you get trained. They have strange payroll of bench time where you only get 60% of your pay on a stand by mode. They don't explain it very well, i think they don't on purpose, because it will scare everyone off. For a young... guy it is a good way to get some real work experience in refinerys and power plants and can give some good things to put on a resume.

    Show More

    Cons

    no communication. no communication, poor training, no planning for training, a lot of sitting around, then your gone for 3 days. They should have a outlined training program or at least of list of objectives a new guys is supposed to make sure he accomplishes. I had to look and ask and poke and prod and sneak and do it on my own.

    Advice to Management

    Get more organized and keep people informed.

    Granite2016-01-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lutz, FL
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots to do, fast paced, decent pay, great benefits

    Cons

    Absolutely NO work/life balance, little chance for advancement. IT department has extremely poor response time, lately since it has been outsourced it is 100 times WORSE! Things are going downhill fast!

    Advice to Management

    Add more resources!!! Growth is great, but that also means that more work needs more resources! Open the purse strings! Too many people with valuable knowledge leave the company because Granite sucks the life out of them!

    Granite2016-01-17
  8. "Logistics Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Analyst in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Granite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and pay. Medical, dental, vacation, PTO and paid Holidays.

    Cons

    No training program. They throw you in the ocean. You sink or swim. This amazed me because it is important to do things correctly. You have to learn by making mistakes.

    Advice to Management

    Create a training program and follow up with new employees to insure they are getting the training and information that is needed to succeed.

    Granite2015-12-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Logistics Team Superviosr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Logistics Team Supervisor in Simpsonville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with Granite during my 7 plus years with them. Granite works to promote from within, and to provide leadership training. Granite's main expertise is in project management and construction for the GE turbine segment.

    Cons

    Unfortunately Granite does contract work for GE only. This limits the opportunities. Logistics is not the main focus for Granite as a business, and recently lost part of their GE logistics contract. They have the ability, and opportunity to create a brand in the logistics area if willing to push forward with opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Push to broaden the Granite Logistics brand. Granite has the opportunity to be a top 3PLO handling more than just business for GE. Their model for logistics could be utilized for any business.

    Granite2015-12-30
  10. "Gas Turbine Performance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to understand GE Gas Turbine business.

    Cons

    Needs to become a full time GE employee to gain access to more resources.

    Granite2015-11-13
Found 142 reviews