Granite Reviews | Glassdoor

Granite Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Granite CEO Mike Adams (no image)
Mike Adams
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Its a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aero Parts Cleaner 

    I have been working at Granite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, Good benefits, not to hard work

    Cons

    No paid time off, work harder then GE employees

    Advice to Management

    The company preaches training and moving to your destination in the company if you want it but I have yet to been helped. With that out the picture good place to work if you like staying at one position

    Granite2015-11-13
  2. "Poor Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CRD Technician in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    It was a sporadic freelance job

    Cons

    Originally applied and interviewed with a manager who then moved to a different department. A few months later received a call from a different manager that all new employees must go through their Cape Fear Community College scholarship program. A few weeks later interviewed for scholarship. Then the following week took 2 tests (M.A.S.S & Technical Aptitude), The following week had another short interview to which I... was informally told that I would be accepted the next week. After several weeks I did not hear back from anyone so I made several call. Eventually another manager called me and said that previous manager no longer works for them. She also told me that since I already have a degree in Electrical Engineering that they do not want to invest for another degree. That fall I had 1 week of very poor training, then worked an outage as an Under Vessel CRD Tech (my degree is Electrical Engineering with Computer Emphasis) yet they had me work as a high radiation mechanic. I worked 2 more outages and almost 3 months at CRD rebuild center until they capped out my radiation allowance,

    Show More
    Granite2015-11-17
  3. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Granite

    Pros

    good starting salary and benefits.

    Cons

    .a much smaller portion of GE which Granite seems to periodically be overlooked.

    Granite2015-09-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ok Employer, Never Felt Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Granite Payroll Support Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Optimum environment in Field Services Home Office to keep you busy

    Cons

    Service Management team lacks ability to make home office team feel appreciated

    Advice to Management

    Don't take your administrative staff for granted

    Granite2015-09-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wind Turbine Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits. Travel on the company's dime. Lots of experience. Diverse work force. Management works around employee needs.

    Cons

    Personal time is based on customer needs - r&r scheduled every six weeks doesn't mean you'll get it at that interval. Little room to move up in the company. Certified training seems based on favoritism at times.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your techs. If they say they don't want certain training, they don't want it. If they say they do, they do. If they bring up issues regarding other techs, take it seriously - they don't like to take minor issues to management any more than management wants to deal with minor issues. Create opportunities for employees to increase their skills and responsibilities. Stay in closer touch with field techs -... know what drives your employees.

    Show More
    Granite2015-07-08
  6. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced and there is always something going on whether you like it or not. Supervisors can be fair and reasonable but employees also have to be fair and reasonable. Work load moves quickly and being flexibility will reward you better opportunities.

    Cons

    Gossip is so terrible and you always have someone trying to compete with you. Some departments are lazier than others, making you work harder. No real growth, there are only opportunities to move to different departments.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your those you supervise. There are a ton of bad apples just hanging on to the job just to get paid.

    Granite2015-06-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tm3 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite

    Pros

    the work is challenging the money is good the benefits are ok. great people to work with in the field office not so much.

    Cons

    management is out of touch with employees it would rather hire new management outside of it company than advance its own employees. Some of the Forman's use there power to get what they want even if it means running over you to do it. and office will lie to you on a regular basis to get you to do something.

    Advice to Management

    Start hiring up in what you have instead of going outside your employees know more than you think if you give them a chance. get rid of the bad foreman's .

    Granite2015-06-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wind Techjnician/Safety Representatie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    Travel, Pay, Meeting new people,

    Cons

    Management, Length of certain jobs

    Granite2015-05-13
  9. "Commisioner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Granite full-time

    Pros

    Good Money and good per diem.

    Cons

    Unsteady work causes uneasy feelings about job future

    Advice to Management

    Be more forthright with your employees

    Granite2015-05-22
  10. "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Granite full-time

    Pros

    Excellent environment. Excellent benefits & pay

    Cons

    I don't see anything wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with good place of job.

    Granite2015-05-06
Found 142 reviews