Granite Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Granite Technician Reviews

Updated 2 May 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Granite CEO Mike Adams (no image)
Mike Adams
1 Ratings
  1. "Technical Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granite for more than 8 years

    Pros

    See the country, live in different cities and meet people.

    Cons

    Never home, work too much and always busy before you know it's the new year again.

    Granite2016-01-18
  2. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wind Turbine Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, cool people and you get a truck.

    Cons

    Dealing with management over anything. Company is trash.

    Advice to Management

    Get new managers.

    Granite2018-05-02
  3. "Traveling Wind Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wind Turbine Technician in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, minimal supervision while on the job, small work crews (2-3).

    Cons

    Unforgiving at some sites if one is not a troubleshooting genius.

    Advice to Management

    Pair inexperienced workers (less than 3yrs) with veterans (5+yrs)

    Granite2017-07-09
  4. "Was a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Field Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good pay Large company (also a con)

    Cons

    Felt more like a number than a person Can get lost in the sheer number of co-workers

    Granite2017-06-02
  5. "Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ndt Technician in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Granite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to be home a lot.

    Cons

    They cannot manage the schedule. It changes all the time so its impossible to plan your life.

    Granite2017-02-22
  6. "Your mileage may vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Technician 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    - Good pay depending on your job function. - If you're a contractor, you may have a chance to work in other segments within the company if you are motivated and depending on your skill set. - If you can get benefits (especially health insurance), the cost to you likely is relatively cheap depending on your home base and your coverage. 401k is a matching plan. - Typically good mid-tier employment.

    Cons

    - Large company = lots of red tape. - Managers are overworked. Yes, everyone is overworked to a point anymore, but some managers are putting in 18 hours into an 8 hour workday. It's obscene and extremely unfair. - Depending on the segment you work for it may be hard to get a pay raise. Some people have gone years without raises. - Very little career mobility, if any, depending on your job title. - Depending... on your job (if you're seasonal), you could be flooded for work or starved for work. - Because managers are so covered up, you typically do not get performance reviews unless you've done poorly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Would you please give your area service managers some help? Some literally work themselves into a frenzy trying to meet deadlines and do staffing because they're doing the job of 2-3 people. On top of that, they're trying to placate the small group of people who continually complain while the rest are not being tended to. Nobody has time to give any positive reviews because they're too busy. Also, while not... everyone needs a pat on the back, it is nice to be told you're doing a good job or, if you're marginal, what you need to do to improve. If you focus on those negative ones and don't tend to the positive ones, what do you think tends to happen?

    Show More
    Granite2017-01-27
  7. "GE lapdog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Reactor Service Technician II in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good medical benefits. Good service managers even though they are bounded by GE corporate and can't act on their own.

    Cons

    Unable to advance in the company. Contract employee with benefits but not able to receive any salaried employee benefits like college reimbursement or paid time off. Pay increase schedule is dictated by GE. Nickel and dime you to death. Most people receiving raises each year totaling $0.25-$0.75. Work is extremely light most years hard to earn a living wage working 3-6 months a year. Literally no upward mobility in... the company and those that are chosen to advance are picked based off a** kissing and brown nosing instead of hard work and ability.

    Show More
    Granite2017-01-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Wind Turbine Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Wind Turbine Technician in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granite for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best pay in the industry, employer provided tools and training, management is usually pretty quick to fix issues, good safety culture

    Cons

    1st quarter of the year is usually pretty slow so you spend a lot of time at home waiting for work. Work sites are usually pretty remote so if you need a big city to feel comfortable, it might not be for you.

    Granite2016-08-16
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Better than unemployment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Service Technician in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    It is a job. I got hired between jobs and learned some good things, the company is disorganized, the managers are over worked and have too many people to manage. You have to truely make sure you get trained. They have strange payroll of bench time where you only get 60% of your pay on a stand by mode. They don't explain it very well, i think they don't on purpose, because it will scare everyone off. For a young... guy it is a good way to get some real work experience in refinerys and power plants and can give some good things to put on a resume.

    Show More

    Cons

    no communication. no communication, poor training, no planning for training, a lot of sitting around, then your gone for 3 days. They should have a outlined training program or at least of list of objectives a new guys is supposed to make sure he accomplishes. I had to look and ask and poke and prod and sneak and do it on my own.

    Advice to Management

    Get more organized and keep people informed.

    Granite2016-01-14
  10. "Poor Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CRD Technician in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Granite

    Pros

    It was a sporadic freelance job

    Cons

    Originally applied and interviewed with a manager who then moved to a different department. A few months later received a call from a different manager that all new employees must go through their Cape Fear Community College scholarship program. A few weeks later interviewed for scholarship. Then the following week took 2 tests (M.A.S.S & Technical Aptitude), The following week had another short interview to which I... was informally told that I would be accepted the next week. After several weeks I did not hear back from anyone so I made several call. Eventually another manager called me and said that previous manager no longer works for them. She also told me that since I already have a degree in Electrical Engineering that they do not want to invest for another degree. That fall I had 1 week of very poor training, then worked an outage as an Under Vessel CRD Tech (my degree is Electrical Engineering with Computer Emphasis) yet they had me work as a high radiation mechanic. I worked 2 more outages and almost 3 months at CRD rebuild center until they capped out my radiation allowance,

    Show More
    Granite2015-11-17
Found 18 reviews