Granite Telecommunications "free gym" Reviews | Glassdoor

Granite Telecommunications Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Granite Telecommunications CEO Rob Hale Jr. (no image)
Rob Hale Jr.
391 Ratings
  1. Helpful (18)

    "THE MOST HONEST REVIEW YOU WILL EVER SEE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time

    Pros

    - Free gym - Good training program (military style) that prepares you for ANY OTHER JOB after that. Basically, if you survive GRT for >6 months, believe me my friend, you can survive ANYWHERE ELSE. - If you are willing to learn, there are so much to learn, the best skills you can learn from the job are as follow: MS Excel, MS Access, Microsoft SQL (I believe only Finance can get it installed in your computer), teamwork, communication, etc. - Teammates are nice and smart people. However, sometime you need to be careful of back stabbers. We had one incidence when a team member accidentally fell asleep due to taking care of her sick mother in the hospital, another teammate told on her and she got fired. - The company is next to the T - Granite Day was great. - Granite is very generous in term of donation to charities, non-profit organizations, and especially Dana Faber Institute. - Nice parking lot - Good 401k

    Show More

    Cons

    OK, this is going to be very straight forward. Everything that I am going to say here is from my experience, I'm going to be completely honest. I promise. First of all, let's talk about the toxic environment. I was 3 mins late to work due to traffic, this was like the only time ever, and I got an email from the supervisor asking why I was late for 3 mins. Also, I got a verbal warning for leaving my desk too often. Where was I? I went to the bathroom because I drank coffee, and when you drink coffee, naturally you need to go to the bathroom. It is THAT simple. Do I need to give up on drinking coffee? Do I need to stop going to the bathroom? Hmmmmm.... Tough choice.. (In the end, I chose to leave). Secondly, let's talk about getting a raise or a promotion. THIS IS GOING TO BE THE TOUGHEST THING you can try to do while you are here. It is tougher than trying to climb Mount Everest. I am serious. You need to write a 4 page 2000 words essay (it feels like it), you need to explain why you deserve it (actually, you have to beg for it, like a beggar), and the supervisor cannot make the decision, it has to go to the manager, and the manager will do everything she can to delay giving you a raise (one of my teammates asked for a raise and she was given a 4% raise after half a year of constant begging, I solute her for this, and she was one of the hardest working people I know). If the manager doesn't like you, THAT'S IT! You will never get a raise or a promotion. It is not based on your performance, it is based on whether your manager likes you or not. She will give someone 2 promotions in 2 months if she likes that person, and she will not give you, not even a 1% raise if you are not her favorite (at this point, it doesn't matter if you work hard or not, you will not get one). It's difficult, so sometime people just give up on asking for a raise/promotion and start feeling that they don't deserve it. Thirdly, let's talk about the work culture. The work culture is set up in a way that it encourages people to sabotage each other, finding each other's mistakes, and stepping on each other so you look good in the manager's eyes (why? because you need to be in the "elite favorites group" to get a raise or a promotion, remember?). Anyway, your works will always get second-reviewed by other teammates. You will constantly get corrected, penalized, and looked down to for making mistakes (people make mistakes, we are not machine, and even machine makes mistakes, come on!). Sometime you'll find yourself arguing with your teammate, who has no ideas what he/she is talking about, over some small stuff that doesn't really matter, and guess what, all the "higher level group" will be CC'ed on the email. It is a system when you will feel like you are being constantly monitored down to your hair follicle, and yes it will eventually drive you nuts. In my team, people who stay there for >3 years fall into these categories: 1) doesn't have a college degree so this is the best they think they can get; 2) people who are too afraid or lazy to look for other jobs; 3) people who just cannot get another job. Mind you, there only 4 "senior" people who have been on the team for >3 years, the rest of the team (about 20 people) has only been there for less than 2 years. What does it tell you? The turn over rate is so high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why is the turn over rate high? Why does management not see all this issues? It is very simple, please treat people with respect, treat them like adults, have faith in them, invest in your people - the people that are working their tails off to make you money, and you will start to see that your returns will be much higher than your investment. Also, get down to the bottom of why some certain teams have high turn over rate, something ain't right.

    Show More
    Granite Telecommunications2015-07-17
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Granite is not the worst company but prepare to be discouraged."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Pemier Account Analyst in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As the title states, Granite is not the worst place to work. They have improved on their time off policy and changed sick days to be included in a paid time off bank. They do extra bonuses throughout the year as goal incentives which is an added perk. They are a charitable organization and donate millions between all of the jean days and other events such as shaving by saving. It is close to the T for those who use public transportation. The free gym is also great if you are able to utilize it. They do a lot of hiring within which is great if you do want to stay at the company but need a change. Overall, it isn't the worst but the few perks do not outweigh the cons.

    Show More

    Cons

    Granite expects too much from their employees without providing appropriate compensation. They recently increased the base salary for new premier reps but did nothing for the veterans who have invested more in the company. As a premier you are expected to be on 24/7 using your own cell phone. A stipend is just being put into place now but $30 really isn't going to help after taxes. Premier used to be the department to move to but not anymore. It has the highest turnover rate due to low compensation, a poor training program and bad commission structure. Commission is supposed to be a good incentive but due to the stipulations placed on it isn't worth it in the long run. The bonus structure and process is not a reflection of the premier team but Granite as a whole. If a customer is unhappy with ordering issues or a Granite process, it reflects poorly for the premier rep. The culture is too rigid and strict. It has turned into an environment where favoritism is rampant. It no longer matters how many years you put in and how much hard work you have dedicated to managing your accounts. Benefits are not that great. Copays are terrible as are the deductibles, especially on the dental plan. Daycare options...what options? We have "priority" at two ymcas. This truly means nothing and does not help with the cost of daycare, which is where most people struggle. The weekly meetings are a waste of time and shouldn't be mandatory. The recent meeting about implementing changes to make Granite a better place was a joke. Many of those were already in place and simply reiterations to make sure we knew. There were very few positive changes and it left many of us extremely disheartened.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the culture and become more flexible. Work from home needs to happen. Provide better training programs specific to the jobs. We do have a number of classes about various topics but better training needs to be in place for new reps hitting the floor. Take care of your good employees. Do not forget about your senior employees who have put in years of hard work for you. It's important to try and retain all of your teammates, not just new, young college grads. Don't assume that anyone is complacent or ok with the status quo.

    Show More
    Granite Telecommunications2015-04-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good starting position for your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Introduced to business world. Free Gym.

    Cons

    Not many Holidays and Sales team is alway correct

    Granite Telecommunications2015-04-16
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Culture of fear, intimidation, and bullying!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Billing Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll learn skills that will help you land a better job. Free gym. Not far from the red line. An occasional bonus.

    Cons

    The company culture is toxic, unhealthy, and will bring you down. High turnover rate. Steer clear of this company at all costs.

    Advice to Management

    Jump off a cliff.

    Granite Telecommunications2015-04-02
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Don't Do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office-type atmosphere Close to T Free gym with showers Free parking

    Cons

    -Management treats staff like children -Can only get a raise with a promotion -Management has favorites - Vacation days do not roll over- at the end of the year everyone is scrambling to take a day off - During "State of Emergency" you are expected to head to work or you have to use one of your own vacation days -Cafeteria is expensive

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your employees are telling you- mostly everyone is miserable. Switch it up!

    Granite Telecommunications2015-02-01
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Make Another Choice..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Gym Free Parking Near MBTA Young Atmosphere

    Cons

    -No yearly raises. To get a raise, you must get promoted.There are people who have been in the same position for years and are making the same pay as someone who's only been there for 1 year. -No HR department. If you have an issue, you must bring it to your supervisor or manager but what if the issue is with your supervisor or manager?? -When you start, you are only allowed 10 vacation days and 5 sicks days for the whole year. None of these roll over. If you use all your time for the year, they will terminate you. -We had to come into work during Statewide Snow Emergencies no matter what. They recently changed this rule- now we have the option to use our own vacation time if we decided to call out. Shouldn't the company be responsible to pay us if the state is saying its too dangerous for anyone to head out?? Are telephone lines more important than the safety of your staff? -The cafeteria is expensive. The cashier woman will charge for every little thing on your plate and smile in your face like its nothing. -People quit left and right. -You need a degree to become a Supervisor which is not fair at all. There are people who have been there for years and know everything about Granite however they cannot get promoted to supervisor just because they don't have a degree. They will instead promote someone who knows little about the work and has a degree. This is very insulting. Just because someone has a degree, doesn't make them any more intelligent then someone who does not. This is coming from someone who has a Bachelors Degree. -2nd Floor- A certain Accuracy must be kept or they let you go. Ex. Level 1 rep must keep a 92% or above accuracy weekly. (10 orders placed in one day, 1 is incorrect and you get a 90% for the day. An incorrect could be seen as simple as missing a letter in a word) Fall behind and you get a verbal warning, after 4 weeks, you get a written warning, after another 4 weeks they terminate you. Keeping a job should be about your work ethic, your attitude, working as a team and an individual, punching in on time, how you get along with others, etc. It should not be based on how many simple mistakes you make in a week. This causes stress. We are all humans, we all make mistakes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -A degree should not needed to advance to another level. A lot people are stuck because of this. -A yearly raise will make a lot of the employees more happy. (This is not to bash the company, just stating the facts)

    Granite Telecommunications2014-11-24
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Nothing is worth this much stress and anxiety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym Easily accessible from highway and train Company donates a lot to charity

    Cons

    CULTURE OF FEAR - upper management walks around and looks over your shoulder. We actually got an email stating that management "doesn't want to see us socializing." It disgusting. If you don't meet the unrealistic goals each week, you get reprimanded. Some people get so worried about making the goals that they make up extra things to fill the gaps (basically, they lie). Weekly quizzes - if your four week average is under 70%, it's an automatic warning. You can also get a warning if you're late, or if a customer complains about you (whether the complaint is legit or not), and the third warning gets you fired. That's only if you're a permanent employee, though. Temps can get fired for no reason at all - I've seen it happen. Management tallies up our numbers and announces them at weekly departmental meetings, which only makes those who are struggling feel worse because we're constantly being compared to one another. Those who get the best numbers, or the "extra mile" get a gift card. Big whoop. How about a raise? We are constantly being given more responsibilities, but we never get any compensation. We're expected to instantly become experts on new products and procedures, and if we do it wrong because we were improperly trained, we are reprimanded. While this isn't technically the company's fault, we often get yelled at, sworn at, and once I even had a customer tell me that I'm a "worthless piece of ****," and that I should be fired for "being useless and stupid." This job is NOT worth the low pay and minimal benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging your employees and treating them like children, and worse, like robots. Perhaps if you paid your employees a little more and intimidated them a little less, you'd get better performance and have a lower turnover rate.

    Granite Telecommunications2014-10-19
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Worst company I've worked for, out of 4 total"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premier Account Analyst in Quincy, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy access to the office from the highway or subway Free gym in the office building

    Cons

    Inconsistent management, poor pay, worst company culture I've seen, etc. I've worked for 4 companies since college and I'm a high performer in each company, including Granite. Granite was the only one to not recognize this, not compensate me adequately, and do nothing to try to keep me challenged. It's the worst company I've worked for, and it's not even close. Very glad I left when I did. I now earn more than double what Granite paid me, in my current base salary alone. If you're motivated, talented, or want to earn a lot, you'll find better success elsewhere, guaranteed. I wouldn't recommend anyone work here. I left on my own choice, so I'm not bitter. This is just an honest review because I feel the company is a waste of time and I wouldn't want anyone to spend their time there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating people like assets/resources. They're individuals.

    Granite Telecommunications2014-09-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Awful just awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications

    Pros

    free water and free gym

    Cons

    helicopter supervisors, egotistical owners, extremely strict rules, jobs require no experience, list goes on and on

    Advice to Management

    get your head out of your rear ends

    Granite Telecommunications2014-07-01
  11. Helpful (10)

    "Joke! Do not go in! It's a trap! Work if you need quick money...that's it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym. Hour lunch. Nice location

    Cons

    2 sales reps got into a fist fight...yes a fight at work. It was over one of their girlfriend's that worked in a different dept. They were told by upper management to "cool out" and they were allowed to come back to work because they are "heavy hitters." Upper management threatens and swears at you if you dare leave on your scheduled time of department. The training is the worst I have ever seen. You have to figure everything out for yourself. No wonder the turnover rate is high! Only thing that is free here is water..no coffee, tea, plates...nothing

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get separate supervisors to just train and not worry about making sales.

    Granite Telecommunications2014-04-18
Found 32 reviews