Granite Telecommunications "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Granite Telecommunications Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Granite Telecommunications CEO Rob Hale Jr. (no image)
Rob Hale Jr.
392 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "15 year sales vet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RAM in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked in many south Florida sales companies, I can unequivocally say that this company is truly unmatched in this space. Please do yourselves the favor and take a serious look at working here. The opportunities you find at Granite are truly endless.

    Cons

    No cons - It's work. I see other reviews giving Granite 1 Star because you can't work from home?! What a joke!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Shout out to J.B.

    Granite Telecommunications2017-01-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Old School Work Ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working at Granite. It's a 1.5 billion dollar company where the CEO sits in a cubicle with his employees, not in an office behind closed doors. This is a company where if you're willing to work hard you will be rewarded. In 2016 most employees received $3,600 in bonus. They only thing asked is that between the hours of 8am to 5pm you stay focused. Upper management wants to provide the best customer service experience, all of our support and service is based in the U.S.A, nothing outsourced. Yes, I'm in management. I've been here 4 years, embraced the culture, have received promotions and treated well.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's not a progressive company in terms of adopting flex hours or work from home.

    Advice to Management

    We could do a much better job of internal communications.

    Granite Telecommunications2017-01-04
  3. Helpful (24)

    "If you want to make money and further your career, don't work at Granite."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time

    Pros

    - Met a ton of great people, mostly everyone who works there is very cool. Younger demographic so it was easy for me to make friends quickly. - Intramural sports were fun, bowling every Tuesday at Boston Bowl in the winter was a great time. - Charitable donations are obviously good, but half the reason why they do it for the tax write offs. "No debt" must be nice when you can chalk up a big percentage of your expenses to charity.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Upper management is incompetent. They're living in the past/ don't actually care about their employees' well being...just the bottom line. - A bottom line which I firmly believe they fudge #'s on hard. As a person who's seen how bad the service and products are within Granite, it's honestly shocking they make any money at all. If there wasn't a government regulated law that kept them in business they'd be gone in a heartbeat. - Everyone is micromanaged like it's elementary school. No freedom to express your thoughts or opinions on how to make your team more efficient and better...if you're not UM then your pretty much don't have a say. - A preposterous sales culture which makes all other employees feel expendable and inferior. Everything is catered to the salesmen, who themselves are absolute fools with no real idea of the products or how anything else in the company works besides cold calling for deals. It's a shame they make so much $ when half of the work is done by the other 85% of the company. - Pay is extremely low. I obviously knew this when I got hired. but I expected to gain an annual raise of some percentage or a significant raise when promoted. Not only did I not get the full raise when I switched from one department to another...they used that as the reason why I wouldn't get paid the same as the rest of the team...because I already worked there and made less money. Had to almost beg to get compensated just as fairly as everyone else and even after I proved myself to be a great worker it was still like pulling teeth. Crazy town to not pay someone the same as the rest of the team because you were already from the company and not off the street. - The parking/bathroom situations are awful. Two things that you would think you wouldn't have to worry about...not at Granite. If you don't get to work 10-20 early it's almost impossible to find a spot. Going to the bathroom is literally a figuratively a crap shoot. 4 stalls per floor that are always packed and most of the time you're waiting in line to do your business. There were times I would have to walk across to the other building to use a bathroom. Just miserable. - Overall vibe of the building is so abysmal and hopeless...you can tell most of the workers hate their job and are either looking to leave or just don't even care anymore. - And to go along with that, the small minority of workers who are brainwashed by the CEO and the company are almost unbearable to be around and talk to. The Monday morning meeting is a sham where the CEO goes up and reads off a power point for 45 minutes fondling the salesmen and reading promotions that could easily just be sent out in an email. - The rift between sales and the rest of the company is virtually palpable, with sales acting like the cool jocks and the rest of the employees are treated like nerds who they copy homework off of and cheat on the test to get good grades. The CEO is the Varsity QB/prom king that everyone bows down too...regardless of how absurd the request is or what the time limits are, if he says he wants it done it doesn't matter. - One of my supervisors got mad at me because I called him when he said the members or our team needed to "communicate more" and "get up and talk to people", when he sat behind his desk and sent people catty emails all day micromanaging every little thing you did. He then said to me later that if I wanted to move up in the company I would need to "not be friends with people on my team", as it would cause problems and lead to favoritism. I was flabbergasted when he said that to me...essentially saying that I need to me a snitch and be his mole for everyone on the team if they're not doing their work or whatever. Insane logic across the board. - 4 of the 5 direct sups I hqd didnt not have the employees' backs whatsoever...they were only concerned with making the CEO happy and keeping him off their own backs. Total keyboard warriors...they made sure they had everything in writing so they could always trace back to something if they needed to snitch on you. But in real life when you needed to ask them a question or deal with a situation they were always flustered and the least personable people of all time, an awful leadership example. The exact opposite of how I would manage my employees, it created a enormous divide where the employees essentially stopped caring and resented UM everyday. - The physical building itself was disgusting, don't think the carpet had been replaced or even vacuumed for over 10 years. Filthy, a 1.25 B company should have its employees is suitable working conditions. - Unless you'e in sales and suck up to the already established guys who have been there for years, there's no reason to try and get more than one promotion. Increases in pay are very low, and like I said it's like pulling teeth to even get there if you're not one of the chosen favorites. - The not being able to work from home or have schedule flexibility is terrible. Can't work through lunch, total stickler's on PTO and your punch ins and outs. Two of my former co workers were supposed to fly from Logan in Boston at 7pm on a Monday night...they asked if they could come in at 730 am so they could leave at 430 pm to make sure they caught the flight, pretty reasonable request. Instead it became this big ordeal for no reason at all because they "didn't see why it was necessary to leave before 5"...only just to go on a business trip you're sending us on during rush hour in one of the most congested and over-populated cities in the nation. Zero common sense from the sups, like robotic thoughts without one inkling of a original thought in their heads.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - You're employees aren't as stupid as you think they are, treat with respect and like adults. Stop micromanaging everything like we're in summer school. Compensate those who work well and above the average worker to reflect that work. Stop catering to sales like they are the end all be all of business...they are many other ways to make money that you're either too lazy/incompetent to see and try. In an age where everything is digitally marketed and media is so accessible...maybe give a marketing department a try and see how it goes. But I'm sure that small sign on 93 will do just fine for now though.

    Show More
    Granite Telecommunications2016-12-21
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Regional Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications

    Pros

    Fast paced company with a lot to offer those willing to work hard for it. Lots of structure to get things done

    Cons

    no work from home policy is a negative. Managers can be a bit over bearing and quota is tough to hit out of the gate

    Granite Telecommunications2016-11-28
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Understanding Granite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications

    Pros

    Coming to work at Granite was one of the best decisions I could have made in my career. I have been working at Granite for a little under a year and the skills and experience I have gained in this year are more than I have ever learned at a previous job or through both my undergraduate and graduate programs. The team I work with has been incredible in providing valuable insight and support to the projects I work on. Furthermore, the ability and trust to work independently on big projects has allowed me to really develop myself in my profession. There are always new opportunities to try something new and I feel like my feedback and contributions have always been appreciated and respected. I would definitely recommend Granite for anyone who has a passion for learning, working hard, and developing a work ethic that will benefit you for a very long time.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I was first beginning at Granite I was hesitant about the culture after reading some of the reviews online; however, I have developed a different perspective and understanding since I have begun working here. -Getting to work on time at 8:00 am--this has taught me incredible discipline that I haven't had since I was in high school. Sometimes the structure and the consistency can add a lot of productivity to your careers and your overall life. I can honestly say that my efficiency levels have gone up since I have begun working at Granite. The accountability makes me think twice about being late and letting the others in my department to pick up for my slack. -No Work from Home Policy--One may argue that this policy is unfair and does not allow the flexibility that some employees may need. Again, think about it like this. If you request the opportunity to work from home and it is granted, then changes are everyone in your department will begin making that same request. While you may believe your work ethic will allow you to be extremely productive at home; others may take advantage of this and the company will suffer. Granite is serving 1000s of customers on a daily basis. Everyone on Granite's team is essential to doing this, and opening the door to "working from home" may risk our responsibilities to our customers. If we were a self-serving start-up, or a company where we did not manage utilities to thousands of retail and corporate locations (including the government) across the world, then I would understand how this may be an issue. But we need everyone on the team to work efficiently and effectively to provide our customers with the service they choose Granite for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would advise the management to maybe explain the benefits of their cultural policies instead of just stating them. The value Granite employees may gain from these policies will not only prepare them for their future career aspirations, but will also provide them with the fundamental understanding of accountability and efficiency that may effect many real life circumstances, (e.g. punctuality, time-management, work-ethic.)

    Show More
    Granite Telecommunications2016-05-01
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Opportunity and Challenge Is There...If You Want It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Premier Account Analyst in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Granite Telecommunications is expanding at a lightning-fast rate. This company has offered me a clear path to progress with tangible goals and unique, often difficult, challenges. If you demonstrate your competency and diligent work ethic, upper management will recognize and reward you with greater pay and promotions. This is an excellent time to work at Granite Telecommunications as the company expands into more diverse areas of the industry; Granite's bread and butter is the public switched telephone network, but the company is making its presence known in the SIP/hosted PBX arena, as well as branching out into wireless services and dedicated internet access circuits. There is a steep learning curve for everyone in the company, but that's what makes it all the more exciting. There is plenty of opportunity for growth, but you need to look for it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Granite maintains a strict schedule (8 am to 5 pm with a mandatory 12 pm to 1 pm lunch break) for better or worse. Some folks do well with the structure, others don't. I wish the company would institute a formal work from home policy for those with greater seniority. There's also no paternity/maternity leave. Men have to wear a tie from Monday to Wednesday, which is outdated if you ask anyone under 35. The parking lot is often very unsafe with workers rushing out at 5 sharp - it's fortunate that there aren't more accidents or pedestrian injuries because of this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow more people to work from home, especially during state of emergency winter storms. Be more lenient about the strict 8-5 schedule, especially during bad weather or traffic incidents.

    Granite Telecommunications2016-01-20
  7. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time

    Pros

    The company has had continued growth since it's being opened and has a lot of room for career advancement with no signs of slowing down. Individuals willing to put in work and take initiative will go far. Excellent opportunity for those who are seeking to get into the telecom industry. As the company continues to grow there is always new positions available and roles to take on for employees who may be seeking a change in their day to day work. Tuition/Certification reimbursement is a great motivation to continue to learn and build your knowledge. Granite University training offers great classes for those interested in expanding knowledge in their field. The 401K plan is great compared to most employers in the same industry Paid time off is very generous and regular quarterly bonuses are always nice ways to incentivize employees The company regularly donates to charitable organizations of the employee's choosing Granite regularly holds events for the residents of Quincy and is very active in the community The work environment is inclusive and the workers are always friendly and willing to help out. Right off the red line

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of cross departmental training leads to occasional finger pointing and attempts to discredit co-workers from other teams. This can negatively effect potential growth opportunities while leaving relations strained between departments. Luckily issues tend to be far in between. The pay is not as high as many leading tech companies, often time leading to well qualified employees leaving to companies offering more competitive rates Long work days are frequent with little to no opportunity to work from home, many team members stay late to ensure that no issues arise after the normal work hours. Minimum 9 hour work days (1 hour unpaid lunch) is becoming the norm in most tech companies - while this is not a con specifically with Granite. The bachelors requirement stops the company from taking on well qualified individuals.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    remove the bachelors requirement for candidates that are certified in the field Promote a better work life balance by encouraging employees to leave at normal times or work from home

    Granite Telecommunications2016-01-12
  8. Helpful (7)

    "I really wanted to love it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Quincy, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Granite Telecommunications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Depending on what you do, you may be able to keep your work on an 8 - 5 basis. - Free Gym & discounts for select stores & services, amongst other perks. - It's a fast growing young technology company, which guarantees those who are there now will get to experience significant transformations in the years to come. - Unless you do something stupid ( & are not in sales), job security is pretty good. - As the company is growing, new areas and positions are opening up which offer new career opportunities. - It's a good place for a newly grad to get some corporate experience as the barrier to entry is very low and the growth and turnover is high, so they're always hiring.

    Show More

    Cons

    - I feel like pay is discussed so much here in Glassdoor. But no one is forcing you to work there. Everyone signs a contract detailing the exact nature of their compensation. You don't have to sign if you don't like it. That said, the pay *is* low. Although I feel this will gradually change sometime in the near future as the company matures. When is that? Don't know. - I do feel there was a culture of praise and reward that leaned towards those who consistently worked late. It was odd, because the company does not have a culture of "early shaming", but it was really "late praising". If you got everything done and kept your customers happy form 8 - 5, you would be outshined by people who would (either due to necessity or to rack up points) stay late every day to get things done. - If anything, I feel there was a track where you would progressively get more and more work until you would have to start leaving at 6, 7, 8, etc. Your stress levels would elevate pretty much and this continues until you just break. I know of people just snapping and standing up and just abandoning the job, never returning. - For a technology company, you would think there were many people who knew the technology- but there weren't. - Raises are a joke - which is worse than the low base pay, because you can gauge right then and there how low your salary will continue to be for the rest of your projected time there. - All employees required to go to work even under extremely dangerous weather conditions. You can stay, of course, but they dock a vacation day. Which means if you don't have any, you effectively lose that pay day. Unfair, especially when most things can be done using a web browser. Why not allow work from home?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Invest in high quality training for premier data team. Those folks need to be very knowledgeable about every single technology they work with. - Separate the "premier" aspect from the "project management" aspect in the data team. Dealing with customers complaining about 5 extra cents on their invoices should not be an issue a PM should have to deal with. It's distracting and just increases the workload, pulling focus away from the projects they have to complete. - Pay better. I know that affects bottom line, but there has to be something you can do about this- You need to do something about it. As the company grows and you expand the product portfolio with more high tech offerings, there will be more people skilled in subject knowledge that is transferrable to a wide variety of other business (which was not the case when this was only pots). The expense in training and experience they leave with if untended to is much greater than the cost of the decent salary you can (should) provide.

    Show More
    Granite Telecommunications2015-11-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications

    Pros

    CEO is one of the most generous people I know. He always has goals set aside with some kind of incentive. If you work hard and show people you are the best in your field you will be rewarded. I have been promoted 5 times in the last 9 years. Benefits package has improved dramatically over the years. Management that pushes you to better yourself.

    Cons

    Shirt and Tie every day No work from home policy Very old school business mentality need to grow with the times and change a bit

    Advice to Management

    Create a more friendly work life balance. Outside of that I am very pleased with Management. They have always pushed me to better myself.

    Granite Telecommunications2015-10-15
  10. "IT Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granite Telecommunications full-time

    Pros

    At a global level, its terrific to work for a company that gives so much back to the community. the Charitable contributions given by the employees is nothing less than admirable, and the added benefit of sponsoring it's employees through various sports teams and personal activities helps build strong interdepartmental relationships and strengthens communication within the company. At a personal level - Granite IT department has provided me with commending leadership and necessary tools for me to become the professional i strive to be each and every day. I'm honored to work with the people who surround me, the people who push me, and motivate me to push myself. To be able to work such hands on management and some of the smartest people i have ever met is a tremendous opportunity that I'm thankful for every day

    Show More

    Cons

    unable to work from home, lack of communication across departments (improving), goals/bonuses are basically impossible to obtain 100%

    Advice to Management

    Cater to every individual within a team. Show them why they are personally important. actually understand why they are personally important, and compensate them fairly, and you will never have to manage them.

    Granite Telecommunications2015-10-13
Found 31 reviews