Grant Thornton Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Consultant

Grant Thornton Consultant Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance for industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Best vacation policy in industry Better work life balance than big 4

    Cons

    401k company contribution is poor compared to industry average. There can be upwards of 50% travel

    Grant Thornton2016-02-16
  2. "All boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They had a little bit of name recognition. The clients were somewhat recognizable.

    Cons

    As a female you are not given the same opportunities. Some partners create a creepy sexually fueled environment. And the other partners are aware and do nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the talent you are losing. Evaluate your practice truthfully.

    Grant Thornton2019-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Growing pains and a few rotten eggs ruin a good firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - excellent people-focused culture - genuine collaboration between teams

    Cons

    - very immature in the advisory/consulting space - IP is often made up on the fly - bad management behaviors are tolerated by the firm if it gets money in the door - performance feedback in one-way. No review of management capability at all.

    Advice to Management

    If you are genuine about a people-focused culture, establish 360-degree feedback and start to weed out the bad players. There are open secrets about the partners who are globally abhored, so do something about it.

    Grant Thornton2019-03-06

    Grant Thornton Response

    March 15, 2019University Recruiter- People & Culture

    Thank you for sharing your perspective with Grant Thornton; we are always looking for ways to improve and encourage constructive feedback. We are interested in understanding your concerns in more detail and hope you are open to sharing more about your experience with our National ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Business Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Business Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible work environment. Ability to grow, be promoted

    Cons

    Not as prestigious as Big4, performance not heavily rewarded (low bonuses) and not much to separate great vs. okay employees

    Advice to Management

    Reward your best team members accordingly

    Grant Thornton2019-02-11

    Grant Thornton Response

    February 25, 2019University Recruiter- People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! So happy to hear you are able to use our flexibility policies to enjoy work life balance while still growing professionally in your career. Our people are awesome too, sounds like we are lucky to have you on our team. We will use ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Not a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Consultant in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    There are no pros from working here. You will only find confusion, sorrow, exhaustion, obnoxious behavior, arrogance by partners, hoarding of information by coworkers, fatigue, stress, and zero teamwork.

    Cons

    Everything about this place was a big negative experience. Partners snorting illicit powdered substances prior to meetings in order to function. Engagement managers doing shady things financially in order to make themselves look good, but to the detriment of their workers. The work is not rewarding and not complex but due to the stifling administrative bureaucracy, what should only take a day ends up taking a week....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire the substance abusers who are partners, You need to take a long hard look at how you treat your workers and start putting in reasonable limits on working hours instead of the singular obsession with billable hours which ruins work-life balance.

    Grant Thornton2018-09-06

    Grant Thornton Response

    September 13, 2018People & Culture

    While Grant Thornton disagrees with your assessment of office culture, we are truly disappointed to hear that this was your experience at Grant Thornton. We are interested in understanding your concerns in more detail and hope you are open to sharing more about your experience with ...

    Show More
  6. "senior consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Strong desired culture state - entrepreneurial spirit - growing company - very nice office spaces - FTO

    Cons

    inconsistent behaviors across service lines and leadership - a strong push toward consulting growth - sometimes too hesitant to make people decisions timely and provide genuine feedback

    Grant Thornton2018-07-16
  7. "Advisory Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good amount of FTO and employee benefits

    Cons

    Culture is different in my group and you are micromanaged.

    Advice to Management

    They should look to ask for more input before assigning people to jobs.

    Grant Thornton2018-03-10
  8. "Technology Solutions Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Solutions Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with. Company events are fun (formal holiday party, end of busy season baseball games in a suite & happy hours, etc.)

    Cons

    Heavily dependent on Oracle product implementation. Pipeline is exceedingly dry, so enjoy the bench life!

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring so many college graduates. The pipeline of projects you have call for experienced professionals!

    Grant Thornton2017-01-19
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Grant Thornton for more than a year

    Pros

    Very bright and friendly colleagues Efficient billing and payment process

    Cons

    Lengthy and cumbersome vetting process

    Grant Thornton2016-12-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Grant Thornton - Reality is very different from the sales pitch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Aware that there is a need to change the environment/culture so training is a big part of the organization.

    Cons

    People are very separated and there is a huge mindset from leaders that is very different from the training given to change the culture. The organization was misleading about the role and work done in the FS group. Doesn't seem the organization has the maturity in the industry to really grow as they want to outside of the Accounting/Audit/BAS groups.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect and develop clear expectations of roles and work you for people you hire. Remove the "we hire your friends" mentality and monitor the types of incentives that promote unfavorable behaviors that separate and devalue employees.

    Grant Thornton2016-11-17
Found 27 reviews