Grant Thornton Reviews | Glassdoor

Grant Thornton Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 689 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton CEO Mike McGuire
Mike McGuire
202 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (20)

    "Audit Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great people to work with, everyone is inclusive and friendly. -The work/life balance is good. Hours are busy, but manageable. Our Flex Time Off policy gives us unlimited time off as long as we are maintaining certain percentage of chargeable hours, which is not hard to do. -Great culture. GT has really stressed culture in recent years. We strive for Collaboration, Leadership, Excellence, Agility, Responsibility, and...

    Show More

    Cons

    -It is public accounting, so obviously hours are long (55-70 hours during busy season, 35-50 during off-peak times) -Travel. I am fortunate and only travel about 25% or less, but I know people who are on the road a lot.

    Grant Thornton2018-09-06

    Grant Thornton Response

    September 7, 2018People & Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! So happy to hear you are able to use our flexibility policies to enjoy work life balance. Our people are awesome too, and it sounds like we are lucky to have you on our team. We will use this feedback to make Grant Thornton an even ...

    Show More
  2. "Good Culture, Better People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great exposure to Partners/Managers on a daily basis - Quicker exposure to complex audit cycles and test work - Flexible time off policy - "Family" culture (more relaxed and inclusive than other larger public accounting firms)

    Cons

    - Target clients are not "name brand" Fortune 500 companies - Lots of turnover at senior/national management level - Frequently working in other industries outside your chosen field

    Grant Thornton2019-07-16
  3. "Fantastic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Valuation Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great culture and people - good hours - decent perks

    Cons

    - type of work - salary

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Grant Thornton2019-07-12
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The medium size pairs the resources of a large company with the interpersonal relationships of a small company

    Cons

    Little federal opportunity outside of Washington

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier for employees to move from project to project

    Grant Thornton2019-07-10
  5. "Good employer, but needs to show more support to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Lead in Alexandria, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good benefits - recently enacted unlimited vacation; various projects can give you a wide range of experience but there may be high expectations to perform under pressure; knowledgeable staff, they encourage individual development and training; good compensation; they will bench you if no projects are available (but only for a limited time)

    Cons

    This pertains more to the Public Sector Division of GT, which supports the government. Like I mentioned, the benefits are very good, however, for things like unlimited PTO, there is still high utilization targets which make it nearly impossible to hit and take reasonable time off when some projects are maxed at 40 hours per week and you are not allowed to work overtime. Utilization targets are also combined with development...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and support them while still trying to negotiate a win-win situation with your clients. No when to cut ties when the costs exceed the rewards. Negotiate your overhead better so that senior staff are not priced out of projects that they can still qualify for.

    Grant Thornton2019-07-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Anything but diverse and inclusive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Quality of service most Advisory groups offer their clients Partner group (when allowed) can be very strong mentors and leaders Compensation and Benefits are very good if you work hard!

    Cons

    University Recruiting team is exclusively female and HIGHLY political. Unfortunately this team boasts about inclusion and diversity yet are ONLY interested in junior level female resources who are "YES" women. If you provide an opinion that doesn't align with the head of campus recruiting, they simply cut you, regardless of performance reviews.

    Advice to Management

    If you're gonna roll with the 22-25 year old attractive female model (and exclude everyone else) then give them the tool and training so they can be more effective. to no fault of theirs, they are NOT equip with knowledge of product offerings. FIX IT!

    Grant Thornton2019-06-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate II in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    looks good on your resume. Large enough you're bound to find some like-minded people that are pretty easy to work with.

    Cons

    Ever since they opened the location in India they have been so focused on getting work sent there in order to save $$ that there seems to be no concern about the employee satisfaction. They work/home life balance no longer exists. Sending work to India works well sometimes but upper management doesn't concern themselves about that, they insist you send it no matter how well it may work. This sometimes requires extremely...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    place more consideration on the project itself rather than how much money you can save in order to pad your pockets. Try to remember there is a human element clients continue to expect. Without that, you're going to lose many valuable clients

    Grant Thornton2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Changing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Management is very open and helpful. - Roundtables are fair; not cutthroat like some other firms I have been in. - FTO is great and reasonable, so long as you plan. - Good mix of large and medium sized clients. - Good work/life balance with management support. - Good benefits overall.

    Cons

    - Culture is changing, for the worse. - Often very reactive, not proactive. - Can become siloed if there is no one else in the office or if you are at the client site by yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that your success comes from your employees. Many people who have been with the firm for years are leaving because the culture has changed. Be transparent. If there are layoffs, then address them first with your employees instead of shoving the culture journey down our throats. No one will care about the culture if there are layoffs happening.

    Grant Thornton2019-06-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Work Needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Tax Associate in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very open staff and most managers, most of the people you work with are hard workers and very smart, dedicated people. The brand breeds a lot of GT pride in the company.

    Cons

    Been a large exodus of employees which leaves work to fall on the shoulders of current employees and seemingly no action from management to rectify the issue. Compensation for employees is blanketed and given equally regardless of work performance. There is a lack of transparency from management on firm initiative and direction.

    Advice to Management

    Take into account the very apparent opinion of employees to continue to grow happy employees who are motivated to work on all of the various accounting items.

    Grant Thornton2019-06-13
  10. "The fifth Beatle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA

      I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice folks. Growing firm

      Cons

      Desperate to be included in the big 4 but many partners don't have the skills or presence for it.

      Grant Thornton2019-06-12
    Found 689 reviews