Grant Thornton UK LLP "big 4" Reviews | Glassdoor

Grant Thornton UK LLP Employee Reviews about "big 4"

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance (working from home dependant on team)(in 54 reviews)

  • "A modern company with some of the latest technology and offer flexible working(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead(in 34 reviews)

  • "Work life balance difficult to maintain(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "big 4"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP

    Pros

    Great office culture where everyone looks after each other and genuinely seems to care. Good opportunities for career advancement. Paid overtime.

    Cons

    Pay not as good as big 4. Does get very demanding in busy season which can lead to bad work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    I'm not sure as i was only here for work experience so don't know too much about the ins and outs of how the company is managed

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2015-11-24
  2. "Great culture, on the way up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive direction under new leadership. Friendly and inclusive culture. Seems ahead of the curve with flexible and remote working. Ambitious.

    Cons

    Lacks firepower of the Big 4. Dealing with legacy issues from some of the decisions from previous leadership (but being resolved slowly but surely).

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-01-08
  3. "Not as slick as a big4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are real unlike the big 4 More responsibility than big 4

    Cons

    Lack of direction at the top Lack of diversity at the top, very much an insiders club at times Long hours due

    Advice to Management

    1. Invest in people and train directors and partners to understand people 2. Focus on resolving huge staff turnover 3. Focus on promoting those who are not white

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-06-13
  4. "Not the big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Agile working Friendly people Much smaller than big 4, so easier to build a network

    Cons

    Support services/ Back office not treated that well Exception culture - not a set way of doing something/ always "an exception" for doing something differently

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the talent you have. Invest in women and minorities to get more in senior roles.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-03-11
  5. "Too big, a cog in a big wheel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices, great benefits, good pay. Good perks! Good socials!

    Cons

    Unless you are in the “click” which if you join from outside you won’t be, you are not treated well. They have their favourites and nothing will stop that. Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead.

    Advice to Management

    Impartial appraisals and help needed within teams to ensure this happens.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-02-17
  6. "BRS Team - Not what is said on the tin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Largest practice after the big 4 (in UK). Opportunities to gain quite alot of exposure

    Cons

    Too much focus on how much can be billed to the client rather than what we can deliver. Unrealistic budgeting and timescales for the audits put enormous pressure on staff delivering the work. Serious micromanagement (at least in my case) issues. Very vertical in structure.

    Advice to Management

    Please reassess your budgets as staff are scared to say they need more time thats why they dont charge the full time spent on a job. Its the negative culture you need to improve upon.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-11-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - multinational company - diversity - structured career progression (an employee would know how the next 5 years will look like for him/her)

    Cons

    - Wannabe "big 4" - long working hours - poor training - focuses on quantity over quality

    Advice to Management

    A lot needs to be worked on and improved. Appropriate processes should be put in place for training in tax team. The work gone for review comes with points such as, "select box 12 not 15", but no explanation as to why. Unfortunately, the focus is primarily on the speed at which a task is done, rather than quality. Asking managers for help is usually followed by "just do the best you can, as quickly as you can". Asking co-workers gets you responses like "just select box 24, it'll come back with review points anyways". No one seems to know what they are doing apparently,

    Show More
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-09-03
  8. "Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice office location

    Cons

    Always comparing ourselves with the Big 4

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-08-08
  9. "Much happier here than I was in Big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great working culture, strong on teamworking and collaboration. Staff are encouraged to be independent, take ownership and responsibility for work and developing their careers. Most partners are very supportive and seek to resolve any issues arising constructively rather than applying a blame culture. Very happy with work:life balance.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits not as good as Big 4 but that's a trade-off for a better work:life balance. I'm not a great fan of the new branding and office structure but, that's very much personal choice.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-28
  10. "Grant Thornton employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are fantastic opportunities to grow and develop your career at Grant Thornton. The business is growing and means that as individuals we can grow to as people and advisors. We talk a lot about 'unlocking the potential for growth' in our clients but were certainly do what we say, by trusting employees to act autonomously to get the work done and enhance your career. Using our flexible working environments and allow individuals to seek out new opportunities in their chosen field or in other areas within Grant Thornton. Grant Thornton is big enough to have a large corporate feel but small enough that you can get to know people on a personal level across a number of offices.

    Show More

    Cons

    We have a large international presence - this is not as good as the big 4, and so I feel that at times to service our clients, as many will have international presence, we need to ensure we have identified the correct needs of our member firms.

    Advice to Management

    To grow the business we need to pull our internal resources and be the best at what we do and try not to compete with the big 4 on areas where we lack the experience or expertise. By trying to compete it may damage our reputation in the long term.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-25
Found 45 reviews