Grant Thornton "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Grant Thornton Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton CEO Brad Preber
Brad Preber
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Losing the charm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Houston, TX

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Great potential to build a good culture

    Cons

    Poor pay - Way below even when compared to a mid size audit firm. Nepotism

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton2017-11-02
  2. "Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with young individuals and all who are professional and responsible.

    Cons

    Work life balance & comp

    Grant Thornton2017-10-07
  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work/life balance is a bit better than Big4. It's a fun place to work. Many offices have frozen yogurt machines, ping-pong tables and even pool tables in NYC office. Frank Kurre (NYC OMP) does a wonderful job interacting with EVERY employee. I feel like he knows everyone in the NYC office by name. The parties were great and the technical development I received from my managers was much appreciated.

    Cons

    Its hard to win work and compete against Big 4. Specially with larger engagements. Even though GT is the 5th largest public accounting firm, it lacks the resources that Big 4 firms have. There isn't enough clients to stay fully chargeable in your business line so you have to constantly seek work from other groups.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton2017-09-22

    Grant Thornton Response

    October 9, 2017People & Culture

    We’re so glad to hear the many positive things about your experience as an employee at Grant Thornton. We value your opinion and will use this feedback to help make Grant Thornton an even better place to work. Thanks again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Tax Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Tax Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton for more than a year

    Pros

    Grant Thornton has a great culture and work life balance for a large public accounting firm. As an intern I had the opportunity to gain experience working on Fortune 100 clients.

    Cons

    Longer hours during time leading up to filing deadlines.

    Grant Thornton2017-09-06
  5. "Senior Manager Audit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is flexibility in schedule with an emphasis on culture and work life balance. The clients are the right size and complexity to provide the right challenges to a growing and experienced professional

    Cons

    At the stage of Senior Manager there does not appear to be a clear path or transparency on projected path to partner. There is uncertainty on whether you will be partner or if you are being exited from the firm.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton2017-08-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    While working there I was surrounded by smart, efficient and driven people who really cared about their jobs. I also found that co-workers were really nice and very helpful. I got some really excellent experience while working there and learned so much from the performance of my co-workers.

    Cons

    The work life balance is very difficult at this firm and at times expectations are so high that they are unrealistic. It was not unusual for there to be phone conferences still happening at 10 pm or later. I often felt stressed out by trying to meet numbers set by management.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton2017-07-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay 2-3 years then get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time

    Pros

    Learning experiences. Can work from home (sometimes). Young workforce.

    Cons

    FTO policy is a scam. Client base is filled with companies that lose money or are heading for bankruptcy. I can't remember the last time I worked on client that made money. Partners fail to generate good business and build client base. Low pay. Benefits are well below market. Hours aren't as bad as Big 4 hours, but it's still not great for work life balance.

    Grant Thornton2017-07-20
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture: GT takes a very active approach to making sure the culture here is a great experience. I have worked for a few companies with horrible culture. GT goes above and beyond. We have monthly culture meetings, firm wide events, etc. It is almost too much, but it is what makes GT stand out. Work load: GT give a nice steady work load. I am rarely bored. On occasion I ask around the office for work, but I am always able to find something substantial to do. Experience: I am getting to work on a variety of different projects. I have worked on everything from a tax provision to a NFP project. People: most of my co-workers are willing to help and answer questions. There are those who are nonstop irritable but they wont last. All of my managers and partners are team players and team leaders. Client contact: I have had substantial client contact within the first 90 days. Work/Life balance: Very good. During busy season expect to work a lot. But during slow season, expect to work average hours. GT is good about letting associates with families spend time with them. During my kids baseball season, GT let me come in early so I could leave at 4 to get to my kid's game. They also let a employees work from home.

    Cons

    Pay is not ideal, but the culture and opportunity make up for it. FTO Policy: I hear a lot of complaints about the new FTO policy, I don't mind the changes because the FTO policy is still great compared to other companies. But they do make you jump through a ton of hops to get approved.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton2017-06-05

    Grant Thornton Response

    June 12, 2017People & Culture

    We’re so glad to hear the many positive things about your experience as an employee at Grant Thornton. It sounds like we are lucky to have you on our team! We value your opinion and will use this feedback to help make Grant Thornton an even better place to work. Thanks again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  9. "Senior Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auditor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and career opportunities

    Cons

    Bad work-life balance, terrible hours

    Grant Thornton2017-06-26
  10. "Advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Work/life Balance, Pay, Growth Opportunities

    Cons

    I have not come across any.

    Grant Thornton2017-05-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 222 reviews