Grantham University Reviews | Glassdoor

Grantham University Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Grantham University Interim President/Provost Dr. Anthony Petroy (no image)
Dr. Anthony Petroy
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "I work with great people that care about what we do each day(in 6 reviews)

  • "Free education if you don't already have it(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The CEO of their holding company told all employees as long as he's in charge, Grantham will NOT pursue regional accreditation because of bureaucracies(in 7 reviews)

  • "Job role is all about hitting your enrollment and military metrics, even though they tell you otherwise(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "PT Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grantham University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, student interaction, enjoyable teaching coworkers and supervisors. Veteran friendly

    Cons

    I really enjoyed working with Grantham and am appreciative for my experience with the university

    Continue reading
    Grantham University2019-05-30

    Grantham University Response

    June 5, 2019Social Media Strategist

    We appreciate your comments! - Team, GU

    Continue reading
  2. "Making a difference every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Outreach in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grantham University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Grantham is a great place to work. The driving force here is to care for students and ensure their success. Employees do whatever is required to help regardless of the time of day or day of week. We are empowered to change lives and really make a difference.

    Cons

    Better communication between departments is always something that evolve.

    Grantham University2020-03-23
  3. "Great place to work and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - University Outreach Representative in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grantham University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, great benefits, awesome people to work with, and best of all, caring for students. Having a military background, I especially enjoy taking care of our Military students!

    Cons

    Grantham has no enrollment obstacles, like ACT or SAT scores, and online learning is not a methodology for every student, even though everyone can enroll. Some students decide, after they enroll, that they would rather attend an in-person classroom, and leave the University.

    Continue reading
    Grantham University2020-03-23
  4. "Great people and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 

    I worked at Grantham University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some truly talented people who care about their students

    Cons

    Interdepartmental politics cause many head aches

    Grantham University2019-10-16
  5. "Great People, Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Services in Lenexa, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grantham University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many passionate people who care about students. Benefits are okay.

    Cons

    National accreditation, for-profit. Senior leadership are disrespectful and only care about their personal interests. Driving out all of their good employees due to poor leadership.

    Continue reading
    Grantham University2019-09-26

    Grantham University Response

    October 8, 2019VP, HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree we have some of the most passionate employees in higher education and know that each day our staff and faculty strive to ensure students have the tools and support to be successful. I appreciate your comments related to the leadership team. I hope that you shared specific concerns in your exit interview so that we may address issues. Feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss. My goal is to ensure Grantham University is a place where employees love to come to work and students love to learn. Dr. Anthony R. Petroy, Interim President, CAO and Provost

    Continue reading
  6. "Lots of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Admissions Representative in Lenexa, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grantham University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company pays well and would like to grow.

    Cons

    Low advancement opportunity due to the way the company is structured.

    Continue reading
    Grantham University2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "University that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer I in Lenexa, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grantham University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They care about student success and employees. The IT team works hard but has a good focus on work life balance. Company is engaged in the community. Software team helps with extra training. Work was challenging and engaging.

    Cons

    The environment for 'for-profit' universities is hurting enrollment. Non-IT business units weren't always aware of how to provide quality technical requirements.

    Grantham University2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Changing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Grantham University full-time

    Pros

    The Ability to work with Students and help change their lives is AWESOME!

    Cons

    It's a typical corporate environment. What works for the company might not always be ethical.

    Grantham University2018-12-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Adjunct in Redding, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grantham University for more than 8 years

    Pros

    80 bucks/ student no micro management

    Cons

    Something changed. Probably admin. They simply stopped giving me courses to teach with no explanation,

    Continue reading
    Grantham University2018-12-17
  10. "Great University to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grantham University for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome marketing and communications team. Really great to work with. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    Not much time off but HR can be flexible.

    Grantham University2018-12-19
Found 89 reviews