Granular Reviews | Glassdoor

Granular Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Granular CEO Sid Gorham (no image)
Sid Gorham
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "company has very deep domain expertise in agriculture, permeating all aspects of day to day work(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great company culture - everyone shares the vision of building a great company while helping farmers feed the world(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The software is expensive to build & sell so you have to charge farmers quite a bit(in 5 reviews)

  • "Natural growing pains of a scaling company (IT systems, revamping internal processes, etc(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Great experience so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone owns what they work on. Everyone generally has a voice in the product and codebases they work on—a direct product of the trust and respect given team members. We don't hire people to simply perform tasks; we hire to add unique perspectives and skills to the team. We value the human, not the pedigree. We also have the freedom to organize our teams as we see fit, rather than specific processes being codified... for all teams. Granular is in a transitionary period, having been acquired by DowDuPont a few years ago, then recently spun out under the Corteva arm of that corporate stew. Thankfully, what could have been a chaotic, bureaucratic situation turned out not to affect our day-to-day operations very much at all. We still feel very much like a separate entity, one that is maturing into a "real" company after several years as a startup. Granular's identity was not swallowed up by the conglomerate and erased. Senior leadership is incredibly transparent. Regular all-hands meetings contain detailed financial information about the health of our company and how we're tracking budget-wise, in addition to presentations on all the cool stuff people are working on. There is a ton of effort put forth to ensure every individual is given the resources to grow in their role, career, and as a person. We have people on staff whose entire job it is to make sure we're all learning and developing. That blew my mind when I first started.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are things that I like about our office space (the garden wall, the natural light, the food!), but there isn't any space that's designated for quiet. Open office plans are a divisive topic, but pretty much every engineer I've ever worked with has hated them. They can be livable, though, if there is a place with library rules. Our space does lend itself to teamwork sometimes and that's valuable, but we need an... environment that's conducive to heads-down flow, too.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue cultivating a culture of transparency and feedback. Keep listening and encouraging servant leadership. Keep the Unreal Peanut Butter Cups.

    Granular2019-08-07
  2. "It's early days but so far, a great culture and bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People here at all levels are passionate about serving growers...company has very deep domain expertise in agriculture, permeating all aspects of day to day work - Company cares for employee's opinions and development and seems to work hard at soliciting and incorporating them - As a relatively new employee. I found the entire onboarding process very thoughtfully conceived, with many HR and Dept employees owning... specific roles and an comprehensiveness that helped me get up to speed very quickly. I found this a good indication/signal of good things to come...

    Show More

    Cons

    None as of now :-)

    Granular2019-11-06
  3. "Learning and development overall review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Granular part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, friendly, open floor space, food is provided, lunch on Mondays and Wednesdays

    Cons

    Departments could understand each others' jobs better

    Granular2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    multiple lunches catered, dog friendly workspace

    Cons

    new company has growing pains

    Granular2019-08-12
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Don’t expect anything other than a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office, central location, nice people, neat product space

    Cons

    There are huge product shifts every few months and your work will be wasted. Engineering culture produces terrible code that will make you tear your hair out. I can not stress enough how consistently bad their code has been in my time there. They will screw you on benefits, money, (theyve shortchanged everyone on their 99.9% guaranteed bonus by 70%). Make sure you get any promise they give you in writing. They... will do anything to pressure you to sign on faith. Their insurance is impossible to use. I have about 8 different insurance cards and getting anyone to cover anything takes hours and hours. It’s not worth it. Useless all hands meetings, constant shilling for chemicals and mass produced corn/soy. There is a constant battle for control between the different offices.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can’t expect your employees to be optimistic while treating them poorly.

    Granular2019-03-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Big Money, Big Egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Granular full-time

    Pros

    Excellent devops/cloud engineering practices. Really high-quality and interesting work in remote sensing. Very skilled and dedicated UX people. The company is willing to pay top-of-market for software engineers and has very nice benefits, including 12 week paid parental leave. Agtech is an interesting domain both in business and tech, with lots of potential. There are major cultural differences between the San... Francisco office and the others, but the company seems to recognize this and spends a lot of time and money to bring people together across offices.

    Show More

    Cons

    Simplicity, teamwork, and optimism are the official company values, but none of these are truly integral to the culture, at least not in my local office (Des Moines). What is deeply ingrained (and has been since before the Granular acquisition) are big egos and an alpha-male culture. Frequent layoffs and reorgs mean lots of insecure people tooting their horns as loudly as possible, watching their backs, befriending... the right insiders. If you admit mistakes or are on a less successful team or product, you will have a target on your back. Humility and servant leadership are not valued. The business always seems to be under enormous pressure to deliver as fast as possible. Every new initiative seems to have a runway of several months at the most before amazing results are expected. Overpromise -> underdeliver -> reorg/layoff -> repeat. The Iowa office has cycled through hundreds of both full-time and contract employees in just the last 2-3 years. The VP of Engineering just resigned, and some of the best devops and remote sensing people have left. The ag economy has been in a slump for the last several years, which isn't making anything easy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show some humility and servant leadership and encourage the rest of the company to follow. Promote more people with boots-on-the-ground ag experience into senior leadership.

    Granular2019-03-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Neat opportunity. Great team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazingly kind and smart people. - Neat mission, with the ability to make an impact directly to farmers. - Super close relationship with their customers. - Willing to take the time to understand what's best for the users, and invest in that.

    Cons

    - A lot changing (also a pro) from the org level. Can lead to a shaky ground at times, or uncertain outlook. - Energy & focus can be lacking at times.

    Advice to Management

    - Focus, focus, focus. There is always a cost to doing several things. Understand which things you truly want to invest in from a product side, and focus solely on those things. - Keep doing a great job being transparent and listening for feedback from employees.

    Granular2019-02-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team & benefits Wonderful work/life balance Culture is truly one of a kind! Couldn’t say better things about it.

    Cons

    None at the moment.

    Granular2019-01-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of opportunity here; yours for the taking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Ops in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great place to get to do a lot! Roles are defined but there is always the opportunity to take on more if you want; you just need to raise your hand. -L&D manager and budget in place to help you learn and grow on the job -Egalitarian culture: everyone jumps in and does what needs to be done. -Gorgeous offices: each one gets better and better. -Generous benefits including matching 401K (rare!) -Focus is... on the right things: values, product, customers -Offices in 4 locations across the country make for a great mix of people and experience

    Show More

    Cons

    - Given acquisition last year, no stock options . Flip side: financial stability - Product vision is a work in progress so you need to be ok with ambiguity in some areas

    Advice to Management

    -Continue to fine tune and communicate the product roadmap -Continue to provide lots of opportunity to people; it keeps it super interesting!

    Granular2018-12-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Such an inspiring group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Granular full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Granular is a very special place to work. The people truly make it a great company, and then in addition to that we are working on something truly meaningful. Lots of collaboration amongst a very smart, motivated group. Definitely fulfilling knowing you are having a real impact on the world.

    Cons

    Not always a clear career path, but the team is working on it. Also, would like more education around the industry.

    Granular2018-12-13
Found 63 reviews